• 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 22, 2011
    Reviewer: Patrick in Nebraska
    This mixes pretty well for casein. I have found that the best way to avoid it sticking to everything and getting balled up is to do the following. Fill shaker cup with water and about 4 large ice cubes, then put protein in and shake violently. Just like the shake weight commercials.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 09, 2010
    Reviewer: James in Colorado
    This stuff makes a good shake before bedtime.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Cookies and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 30, 2008
    Reviewer: Amaury in Pennsylvania
    Hands down, the best tasting protein I've ever had. Just beware, this is extremely thick, one scoop turns into a pudding-like consistency in 1 cup of liquid, so you need at least 2 cups of liquid to make it 'flow' out of the glass; but then the excellent flavor will be diluted -that's why I prefer to use 1 cup of liquid and eat it with a spoon. I like to sprinkle some cinnamon to top it off. Doesn't need any extra sweetener or flavoring. It's just great as it is. 100% recommended.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Creamy Vanilla
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 January 11, 2011
    Reviewer: Morgan in Oregon
    I guess no one bothers to read ingredients. Everyone is so amazed at how thick this amazing protein gel is! Well guess what, it has xanthan gum and other gums in it. Of course it gels up, and not because of the casein.

    That said, it's quite tasty (especially for casein, which can be rather horrid, so this brand is nice) and much more satisfying than whey. The ability to just add water and have a nice pudding is such a boon. Great on the go.

    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Chocolate Supreme
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 05, 2011
    Reviewer: Robert in Louisiana
    Great protein-to-calories ratio. Optimum Nutrition casein is easily the best tasting, easiest to mix casein protein on the market. That said, it still works best to use a shaker. I buy the "chocolate peanut butter" and "chocolate supreme." Both are yummy.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 20, 2010
    Reviewer: Wesley in Michigan
    This is by far my favorite nighttime/slow-digesting protein. My favorite way to have it is in a protein shake with peanut butter. I make one almost every night before bed. Here's my recipe:

    - 1.5 servings/49g Chocolate Supreme Casein Powder (I weigh it on a scale, don't trust scoop sizes) - 4oz Milk (more if preferred, I try to slim on down on the cals) - 9oz cold water - 2 tbsp peanut butter (omit if you don't like)

    Blend that up for a few seconds, then add some ice cubes and blend again. Its such a delicious shake, reminds me of the chocolate blasts I used to buy at Baskin Robbins all the time. Delicious!

    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Chocolate Supreme
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 24, 2009
    Reviewer: Kenneth in New York
    The Chocolate Supreme flavor casein protein is delicious and has real chocolate flavor. I can drink this almost every single day, and not get tired of it. I mix it with water and add a splash of half & half to add to the creaminess. Really helps cover any cravings for chocolate and sweets, as well. Optimum Nutrition is really making good stuff when it comes to protein, IMO.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Chocolate Supreme
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 20, 2009
    Reviewer: Tom in Missouri
    Vanilla flavor is good...Banana Cream flavor is excellent...shake gets thick...a little less water and you have pudding! Excellent bedtime slow-release protein....
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 11, 2009
    Reviewer: Steve in Iowa
    YUM!! I mix with skim milk into a pudding- then freeze for 4-5 min.... Tastes AWESOME!!!!!!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 25, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Massachusetts
    This protein powder tastes great, mixes very well with milk but not too well with water. I usually take it just before bed at 11 and wake up at 7 not feeling too hungry. On days that I skip the shake, I'm starving in the morning, so it does make a difference.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Creamy Vanilla
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 18, 2008
    Reviewer: Francis in Connecticut
    One of the best tasting protein products on the market. A high quality,low fat,low carbohydrate protein product. I also use a scoop of the Banana Cream mixed with my pancake batter to make a high protein great tasting pancake.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Banana Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 22, 2007
    Reviewer: Thomas in Nebraska
    Great product - I used to use 2 scoops of the Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey protein on my breakfast cereal (1 cup rolled oats with a little granola for crunch), and I was starving by 11:00 am. Now I use one scoop of this and one scoop of Whey (both vanilla). The Casein burns slower and carries me through until lunchtime with plenty of energy and no hunger pangs. Its the perfect breakfast.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 April 18, 2007
    Reviewer: Mark in Ohio
    Too much Sodium. If you want about 40 grams of protein before bed thats about 560 mg of sodium.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 June 13, 2008
    Reviewer: Scott in Ohio
    I got the banana. It takes a lot of liquid to get this stuff into a drinkable consistency, and it has a very poor taste when you mix it with a lot of water. Mixing it with less water means it is thicker, harder to mix, and has more flavor, but just plain tastes bad... I actually gagged a few times choking this stuff down. It certainly doesn't mix well with a shaker. I usually prefer chocolate, so that may be my problem. I certainly won't be buying any banana flavored stuff again.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Banana Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 March 14, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
    I ordered the chocolate and the banana flavor in this product. I am disappointed in the taste of this product. I have prepared the chocolate two times and still cannot come up with a good flavor--even after adding splenda, cream, and 1 TB Nestle's sugar-free chocolate mix to it. Very bland taste. I added only 1 cup of liquid, so the "flavor" isn't diluted. If anyone has any suggestions as to how to make this "tasty," I would appreciate hearing them. I gave it 2 points, instead of 1, because it contains 24 Grams of protein in a serving. I haven't tried the banana flavor, yet, and hope it will be better.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Chocolate Supreme
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 03, 2016
    Reviewer: Patricia in New Hampshire
    LOVE the chocolate, doesn't mess with my blood sugar, keeps me going, I don't get hungry! I have ONE HUGE QUESTION: I'd like to order Cappuccino! When is Cappuccino coming????????????

    Editor's note: Cappuccino flavor is not available in the Casein Gold Standard protein. However, there is a Mocha Cappuccino flavor available in the Whey Gold Standard protein.

    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Chocolate Supreme
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 09, 2015
    Reviewer: doug in Georgia
    This is the first time I tried Casein protein and I LOVE it. I get bloated with whey...not with this. So happy!! I bought the chocolate peanut butter and it's quite good. Will try vanilla next. I too have a shake at night before bed.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Chocolate Peanut Butter
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 25, 2014
    Reviewer: Wolfgang in Switzerland
    Best tasting Casein Protein on the market.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Banana Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 01, 2013
    Reviewer: Eric in New York
    This has been my night top protein of choice. I followed the other reviews and mix 1 scoop of vanilla with 10oz of water, ice cubes and a tbs of peanut butter. This is such a treat every night...could drink this all day. I am severely lactose intolerant and me wife has Celiacs...we both enjoy this every night with no issues. Amazing protein.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 01, 2013
    Reviewer: Anastasios in Maryland
    Great flavor suitable for use with flavorings. I use it in the Netrition shaker half water, two tablespoons real sour cream, 1/3 tsp xanthan, two scoops of protein and crushed ice. (As a treat I may add two tablespoons tahini and a capful of rose water). Needs a good shaking, but makes a good lasting breakfast.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Creamy Vanilla
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 30, 2012
    Reviewer: ALYSSA in California
    My favorite casein. I normally have stomach issues with casein but this doesn't bother me. Also I like to mix just enough water and it turns into pudding.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Chocolate Supreme
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 15, 2011
    Reviewer: Anthony in Virginia
    I never review products, but this is the best protein supplement I have ever tasted. It doesn't taste very good with water, but it's really great with 1% milk. It makes your workout a breeze and keeps you full.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Blueberries & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 28, 2010
    Reviewer: Troy in Texas
    I call casein "protein gel" but it's the best for bedtime.

    Banana is tasty!

    Chocolate Peanut Butter is OK, and relatively true to its name.

    This protein sticks like glue to glassware if it has dried out even a little. Even my dishwasher can't get it all off. (I didn't notice this with the banana but maybe I just didn't see it.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 31, 2009
    Reviewer: Cindy in Kansas
    This stuff is fabulous!! Very filling, so much more than whey protein. I stay full for hours and I'm never full for hours! Very thick and rich, I'm buying all the flavors!
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Creamy Vanilla
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 04, 2009
    Reviewer: Steven in Armed Forces AE
    I had a smaller tub of the cookies & cream and it was delicious, even with water. I ordered a big tub of the banana cream, and yeah.. not so much. I wish I went with the C&C. Still have to try the others. Great casein protein though. Top notch!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 11, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    Good product, the chocolate flavor is the best, doesn't mix too easily though.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 11, 2008
    Reviewer: Jevan in California
    Banana flavored casein from ON is delicious. I usually blend it with ice and eat it for dessert before bed. It is also easy to mix with the shaker....nothing beats this great taste.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Banana Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 31, 2008
    Reviewer: Tanya in New York
    Yummy, yummy Vanilla milkshake!

    Creamy vanilla tastes just like a vanilla milkshake, but yet it is good for you (unlike a real vanilla milkshake). I couldn't taste any aftertaste either. This stuff's the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Creamy Vanilla
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 13, 2007
    Reviewer: Maria in Greece
    Great taste and an absolute must for those who want to protect their muscle tissues during sleeping hours.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 10, 2007
    Reviewer: Trey in Georgia
    Cheap, mixes easily, and the chocolate supreme tastes great. No other protein mix even comes close to tasting this good for the price.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Chocolate Supreme
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 30, 2007
    Reviewer: William in Ohio
    Hands down the best casein protein on the market. Taste is smooth, easy to mix, blends easily with other ingredients (peanut butter being my favorite). Use before bed, 1 scoop, every night. Oh yeah, it's cheap too!
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Creamy Vanilla
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 28, 2007
    Reviewer: Bradford in California
    Great product for making a thicker pudding type of snack or meal. I add a little stevia and Splenda and top with fat free Coolwhip instead of dessert on holidays.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Chocolate Supreme
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 21, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Nevada
    It took me a while to get used to casein but once I did I loved it. It does taste MUCH better with milk! I blend it with ice and make a little smoothie out of it. It really fills me up! I have only tried the blueberries and cream flavor, but I'm sure they all taste pretty good.
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Blueberries & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 November 07, 2010
    Reviewer: Cemre in Turkey
    Great product for bed-time. I always drink it with skim milk. "Banana Cream" doesn't taste very good but after a while you get used to it. "Chocolate Supreme" tastes a bit better. It might not mix very well if you don't have powerful blender and it is difficult to mix with a shaker.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 December 21, 2010
    Reviewer: Tammey in South Dakota
    The cookies and cream tastes nasty. It has a terrible aftertaste. I have also tried the creamy Vanilla. I guess I'm going to keep looking for a protein shake.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 June 17, 2009
    Reviewer: Ethan in Michigan
    It did what it was suppose to but I just couldn't stomach the fake banana flavor... LECH!!!
    This review is specific to 100% Casein Gold Standard Protein, Banana Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.