Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 15, 2006
    Reviewer: Carla in Massachusetts
    * I'm really happy that I can eat something so similar to Nutella. Since I was a kid I always loved putting Nutella on a piece of bread or eating a spoonfull. This comes very close, but now I might eat a spoonfull or a bit of a low carb Pita but my favorite is the GG Bran Crispbread with a little bit of the sugar free twist. I recommend this product if anyone misses the taste of the hazelnut and choclate spread but won't dare to go near the real thing.

    The jar that holds it had a few quirks though, mainly because the plastic cover doesn't seem to tighten completely if you use to much force, rather it will snap a bit and loosen and then you must tighten it all over. Just a bit odd but not a big deal. I was not concerned with the product being tampered with because it did have a protective seal when it arived.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 28, 2006
    Reviewer: Thomas in Pennsylvania
    * This tastes just like the regular product. I wouldn't eat too much at one time as with any other product with this kind of sweetener. I really like it and it's that kind of special treat you wouldn't normally have as even with the regular kind it is hard to find in some parts of the US. Thank you for selling it!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 02, 2006
    Reviewer: Brenda in Maryland
    * I was surprised that this product tastes exactly like Nutella. I remember enjoying this as a kid, and am happy to find a low-carb version of it. I would recommend this product, it's a nice treat when you just have to have something sweet.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 March 12, 2007
    Reviewer: Laura in Illinois
    * I would recommend this product for the taste, it is really rich and creamy - and is a lot like Nutella without all the sugar. However, I used it to frost a cake and all my guests who ate a piece suffered fairly volatile digestive discomfort and laxative effects from the sweetener Maltitol.

    I did read that excessive consumption can cause that, but had no idea that just the least bit over the recommended 2 tablespoon serving would have such negative effects. I know this is a not a positive review, but it has nothing to do with the excellent flavor of this product. Only the after effects.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 24, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Minnesota
    * I just ordered some more. I think it tastes just like Nutella. Not exactly low-cal, but a great treat.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 21, 2008
    Reviewer: Linda in North Carolina
    * If you love Nutella as much as I do, you'll absolutely love this DeBoer product. 1 spoon satisfies my sweet craving without all that sugar. It's great!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 01, 2008
    Reviewer: kacy in Kentucky
    * This is proof positive that you can have the sweet taste without all the guilt. I am on my second jar, eating some on a bran crispbread everynight after dinner, while my family has their fattening desserts. Love it!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 19, 2007
    Reviewer: Brooke in Georgia
    * After following a strict diet where I lost 15 pounds; I was so scared of blowing it all once I was allowed to "wander" a bit off of my menu. I knew I needed to take care of my sweet tooth ahead of time so I wouldn't just go wild. I ordered the Twist b/c I love hazelnut spread and never get it. As all of the previous reviewers said; it is wonderful. It tastes just like the regular kind and I find that I can get along with just a small bit to satisfy my sweet tooth. I've already ordered again as my daughter has been into it numerous times!! Yum!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 17, 2007
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in Florida
    * This is my favorite treat! I spread it on a piece of low carb tortilla and add a little sour cream on top. It's delicious, and I've never had any ill effects from the maltitol.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 13, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
    * Wow, this is sinfully delicious! I thought I would never stop eating this. Years ago, I fell in love with Nutella and I am so happy that there is a sugar-free product out that is similar. I actually liked this spread better than Nutella because it isn't as greasy.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 07, 2007
    Reviewer: James in New York
    * I like this a lot! Great sugar-free alternative to Nutella. Sweet enough if you've already broken your sugar habit for a while, and good nutty flavor.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 22, 2007
    Reviewer: donna in Australia
    * Oh wow! This stuff could be deadly! I noted the reviews about the side effects of this stuff, so only had a small taste. No, of course it won't be the same as Nutella, but it's pretty close, and more than good enough! Being a long term low carber, I miss the odd sweet treat, and have had enough of cake mixes made from protein powder. Frankly, few are nice. I didn't think the texture was gritty, and I thought the taste was 10/10. yum yum yum!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 17, 2007
    Reviewer: Maxine in Texas
    * I love this spread--creamy and condensed! Tastes just like Nutella and a little goes a long way. For a sweet treat, I admit to eating a spoonful or two, right from the jar!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 15, 2007
    Reviewer: Janice in Canada
    * I feel kind of silly adding to the already large selection of comments - but yes! - this product is fantastic!!! If you've been craving that old hazelnut spread (filled with sugar - yuk!), then this is the product for you! Tasty and satisfying. I going to use it to make my annual home-made, sugar-free Christmas chocolates this year for the first time - I'm sure it will be great - I'll post the results here, after the Holidays.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 09, 2007
    Reviewer: Christine in Mississippi
    * Has a strange consistency in the jar, but if you use it on cookies in the microwave it melts nicely. Tastes absolutely delicious on low carb chocolate chip cookies. I am a big chocolate fan and it really curbs the craving.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 22, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Pennsylvania
    * Love this stuff!! Very hard to tell the difference between this and Nutella - except it is much easier on my waistline!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Annette in California
    * This product tastes so good! I think it's actually better than the original chocolate spread. It has a really good chocolate flavor that anyone would love. I totally recommend that you purchase this product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 06, 2007
    Reviewer: BOBBY in California
    * Let me just put it this way: I stick a spoon in the jar and go at it... no guilt.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 05, 2007
    Reviewer: Dana in Missouri
    * I am Diabetic & one of the things I missed eating the most was Nutella. When I came across this site, I ordered and tried Twist. I was hooked! To me, it tastes almost exactly like Nutella. Both of my children love it, & I have to hide it from my husband who loves to eat it on ice cream (great in milk shakes made with sugar free vanilla ice cream). You do need to watch the servings closely though if you experience GI problems. Other than that, this is a great product. Thanks for offering it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 31, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Florida
    * This was absolutely delicious. Being a "hard core chocoholic", this makes a perfect treat on my low-carb food plan. The delicately sweet flavor of the hazelnuts is complemented perfectly by the chocolate. The texture is very creamy. I really love this product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 26, 2007
    Reviewer: Natalie in Nebraska
    * Awesome!! This has saved me a dozen times my sweet tooth tempted me to give in to a carb or sugar. I make flour-free crepes, and spread a tablespoon of this on one side before rolling up. One tablespoon is only 1/2 a serving of this spread, so it has very few carbs. Good stuff!! Not exactly the same as 'regular' sugar filled Nutella, but pretty darn close!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 16, 2007
    Reviewer: Georgiann in Texas
    * This product is very similar to Nutella, and has an excellent flavor, rich, thick and decadent. It can be used as a spread, but it's wonderfully satisfying right off a spoon. Use portion control, though, because more than a spoonful or two may cause intestinal upset in many people.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Gloria in Maryland
    * Love this stuff- very similar to Nutella!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 31, 2007
    Reviewer: Robin in Texas
    * The Sugar Free Twist Chocolate Spread is out of this world. Really satisfies that chocolate craving while still being low carb. It's rich and delicious! Spread it on a lc pita and you have a sinful dessert with a heavenly low carb count. Definitely will stock up on this product!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 13, 2007
    Reviewer: Lynn in Florida
    * This is dangerous stuff! Spreads like peanut butter and can be used just like it... love to bake with it (especially drop cookies) and of course can be used as icing. I have to stop myself from using a spoon and eating right out of the bottle...very enjoyable!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 11, 2007
    Reviewer: Joyce in New York
    * A spoonful of this satisfies my relentless sweet tooth. Sinfully good!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 29, 2007
    Reviewer: Lezlie in Missouri
    * o.k. I admit it . . . I've dipped my finger in the jar and grabbed a bit and licked it off . . . more than once. It's tastes just like Nutella. (Don't worry, no one else eats out of this jar. It's all MINE!)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 21, 2007
    Reviewer: Flemon in Virginia
    * Heaven!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Susan in Minnesota
    * My biggest guilty pleasure. A spoonful of this on a cracker. It is as good as the real thing, you would never know it is no sugar.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 08, 2007
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in Maine
    * I love this product, it tastes amazingly like Nutella and since I am the only low-carbor in the household I'm glad that it last just about forever! I love a spoonful on low-carb ice cream or on a piece of low-carb toast for a crispy sweet snack any time of day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 10, 2006
    Reviewer: Trella in Arkansas
    * Love this stuff. Melt it and pour it over ice cream.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 30, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Indiana
    * This is very good. It does have its own unique taste though, more grainy and less sweet than Nutella. Once I got used to that I liked it, and I have gotten it several times.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 15, 2007
    Reviewer: Shannon in Michigan
    * This product is GOOD!!! I had tried the other "nutella" like product and it was gritty and pretty boring on the palate. This product SINGS! Yum! Yum! Yum! So close to the real thing. If it wasn't made with maltitol, I'd give it a 5. We all know, maltitol will but a hurting on the tummy...eat sparingly and when you're home alone :-)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 January 11, 2008
    Reviewer: Katie in Ohio
    * Some of these reviews must have good imaginations, because this tastes nothing like Nutella. It might be good if you added it to ice cream, but it certainly is not good out of the jar.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.