Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.99 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Follow Us:
Join Netrition on Facebook! Netrition Twitter


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

McCann's
Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)  Buy Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)

Write an online review for
Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats) (McCann's)

16 Reviews
Average rating
(16)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)

Customer Reviews  

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
March 12, 2007
Reviewer: KATHLEEN in New Jersey
I love this oatmeal.I'm a type two diabetic and have missed my oatmeal. A small amount of any other oatmeal made my sugar sky rocket,not this. Now I can have it every morning, with no change to my med's. And I can have a WHOLE cup. I make four servings at I time and reheat a serving each morning.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 29, 2009
Reviewer: Palyne in Oklahoma
Me and the kid eat low-carb (>60/day). We make half a cup of this each brunch and split it, add a tiny bit of LC sweetener and a couple spoons of cream or half&half. (And in a perfect world, 1oz bacon [3 slices] each also.) This actually fills us up for a good 5-6 hours until it is time for our big protein-fat dinner. We've been losing fat, eating less, yet we're satiated and we just love this stuff. It doesn't spark cravings or other blood sugar or grain side effects like nearly everything else I've gradually tried.

As for cooking it, I just put 2 cups of water in a pot on high heat. When boiling I dump in 1/2 cup dry oats and I stir that off and on for about 3 minutes on high. Then I drop the flame to very-low. It needs to be stirred 2-4 times over the next 30 minutes or it will stick, but that isn't so much. Although it takes more time than most anything else I would cook, it's a special treat for us (it's the carb-iest thing we eat, by far) and really yummy.

Ordinary quick-oats is gummy gluey sugarbomb junk food with more sugar impact than a candy bar or three for most people, it's hard to believe the crap we grow up on and feed the kids when ignorant.

But these long-cooking oats are tasty and filling/satiating and, in reasonable amounts, can even be part of fairly lowcarb eating. We're crazy about them. The kid is 13 so she gets two votes. :-)

This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
May 06, 2007
Reviewer: Suzanne in Alabama
My husband's cholesterol dropped 33 points (!) after eating McCann's Irish Oatmeal 5 days a week for 6 months! Even his doctor asked for the order information so he, too, could begin to enjoy this delicious, healthy oatmeal. My husband's favorite way to enjoy his bowl is with a bit of brown sugar, raisins, and a dash of nutmeg. Thanks for a great product! Suzanne from Alabama
This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
January 31, 2007
Reviewer: Gloria in Pennsylvania
These oats are FANTASTIC. I had never heard of steel cut oats before, but decided to try them (I have Type 2 diabetes). They have a great nutty taste without adding anything to them and are wonderfully crunchy. They also give you a feeling of fullness long into the day. I have already shared some of mine with a couple of friends, and they are ordering them also. I would highly recommend these oats to anyone. Thank you for a super, super product.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 10, 2009
Reviewer: TRACY in North Carolina
I am a new convert to the Steel Cut Oats. I would never have guessed the taste difference between Quaker Oats and this product would be so drastic. I have always loved oatmeal but this is the real stuff. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 31, 2008
Reviewer: Katie in Ohio
Yum! Great taste & texture.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 11, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
I really enjoy this oatmeal- tastes great, nice consistency...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 05, 2008
Reviewer: Georgiann in Texas
I tried this oatmeal because of the reviews talking about the effects on cholesterol and blood sugar. I've always liked oatmeal, and this one is even better -- it's hearty, with a rather nutty flavor, and has a nice chewy, crunchy texture. Add a little butter or a splash of cream, and it's even tastier.
This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 14, 2007
Reviewer: Jacqueline in California
Awesome taste, great breakfast, and it sticks to your bones and keeps you from getting hungry before lunchtime. It takes a while to cook on the stove top (30 mins) but I do it in 20 mins. in the microwave using high power for 4 mins. to bring up the heat then lower power just to maintain heat and continue cooking. Use a large glass bowl to prevent overflow during microwave cooking. I also like to add some raisins before cooking. I will never eat processed oatmeal again. This is truly a step above and wonderful.
This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 07, 2007
Reviewer: Suzanne in Alabama
A suggestion for preparing on the stove top that works well for me. After bringing to a boil, set the lid on the cooking pot at a slight angle in order to let the steam & moisture out. Set stove to "Low". Then, you can set the timer and walk away! It won't boil over and cooks throughly, too.
This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 17, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Tennessee
This is the absolute best oatmeal that I've every tasted. I loved the texture (which reminded me of rice). The product is very filling. I would usually eat a bowl at 6:30 a.m. and would not want to eat again until lunch. I will add that it is necessary to keep an eye on the oatmeal when it is prepared. You can't walk away from it whether you are preparing it on the stove-top or in the microwave, because otherwise, you will have a boil-over that can be very messy. Other than that small quirk in preparation, the product is fantastic!
This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats), Quick & Easy
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 04, 2007
Reviewer: Michelle in California
Much better than the Quaker Steel Cut Oats in the grocery store. Those are much smaller and do not swell as well in water. These have a superior flavor and texture. I cook 4 days worth at a time, and they keep in the fridge beautifully for most of the week!
This review is specific to Irish Oatmeal (Steel Cut Oats)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 03, 2007
Reviewer: Joe in Oklahoma
I have been using McCann's Oatmeal for several years. When I prepare a batch of Oatmeal using McCann's, I am assured of a flavorful smooth-tasting oatmeal. By preparing my own oatmeal I know that I am getting a nutritious fiber-filled product. I highly recommend it to everyone. I use it in an oatmeal recipe from Alton Brown of the Food Network show 'Good Eats'.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 28, 2006
Reviewer: Thomas in Pennsylvania
This oatmeal is well worth the cost. I eat it anytime of the day as a meal. It is so thick and robust.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 22, 2006
Reviewer: Katie in Ohio
These take a little longer to prepare than regular oatmeal, but it is worth it in the nutrition category. This stuff fills me up and tastes great!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 06, 2006
Reviewer: Jim in Maryland
This is the best oatmeal I have tasted. These steel cut oats have a much fuller texture than the rolled oats most of us normally buy at the grocery store.

I add a little honey and butter to them, but I think they have a nice flavor all on their own. Since steel cut oatmeal takes a bit longer to cook than rolled oats, I usually cook a cup or two for the week and just microwave a bowl at a time for breakfast or a snack.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.99 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement