Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Jennifer in New York
    * I missed eating oatmeal for breakfast so much going low-carb BUT NOT ANYMORE!!! This hot cereal (although a bit finer in texture than oats) is out of this world!! I tried the butter pecan variety and embellished it for more flavor & sweetness. (a MUST, I feel) Added Walden Farms Maple Syrup, a bit of cinnamon, a few extra chopped pecans to crunch it up a notch more and then a drizzle of heavy cream. VIOLA! WAY LOW CARB breakfast is served and I long for oatmeal no more! The suggested serving of a 1/2 cup sounds small but is more than filling so I just thought I'd mention that. Happy dining!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 01, 2006
    Reviewer: MARGARET in New York
    * I thought the cereal was excellent and I especially liked the fact that I didn't have to put it in the microwave because similar cereals seem to boil all over the place. The taste was true to flavor and the consistency was good. It wasn't lumpy and it mixed up effortlessly. Now I'm going to order it in each flavor. Also the speed of delivery was outstanding... Thank you.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 June 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Deborah in Maryland
    * I have been eating this cereal for several years. I have GI inflammatory problems due to Lupus and this flax seed base cereal is my relief. Add a handful of raisins, some walnuts, some brown sugar or a small amount of stevia to taste. Then, zap it in the microwave for a few minutes.

    Yum!

    Eat this cereal every am and a hi-potency probiotic supplement and viola! Leaky gut syndrome gone, cramps and constipation gone. I have been known to take this cereal along on vacation and eat it with hot tap water and a cup in an emergency fix if there is no coffee maker to get the boiling water. That is how much I believe in this 'miracle' food for my body. I keep it in the fridge (especially in summer months) because it can go rancid if stored too long in warm spaces. Try it, add what you enjoy and your tummy will thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 13, 2006
    Reviewer: Jacob in Wisconsin
    * This is a great low carb starter, have been eating it for a while now and it helps keep me regular as you would imagine 12 grams of fiber per serving would.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 August 23, 2006
    Reviewer: A customer in Missouri
    * Be prepared to add some Splenda. Was just to bitter without it. Other than that it was OK. Will purchase again.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 29, 2007
    Reviewer: Sandy in Armed Forces AE
    * I have to laugh -- everyone advocates "killing the flavor in order to eat it." Well, if you have to add all that just to make it palatable, seems to me there is something wrong. I purchased a couple flavors and ended up pitching it. I did not like the consistency nor the flavor. The texture when mixed was like rubber cement. And yes, I experimented with adding more water and milk etc etc. I don't think this product is all that. Save your money folks!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 09, 2008
    Reviewer: kathy in Pennsylvania
    * I am so happy that I tried this product! I love hot cereal and found it off limits for the 10 years that I have been low carbing. I love this cereal and have it almost every morning for breakfast. I just add a little Walden Farms carb free marshmallow and it is out off this world!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 11, 2007
    Reviewer: Ann in Virginia
    * Love the vanilla almond -- I'm going to try butter pecan next. Note to anyone who has a problem with the texture -- texture varies a considerably depending on the ratio of water to cereal. If it's too thick, just a tablespoon or two more water will probably do the trick. Same for people complaining about the flavor -- it definitely can't stand alone, but a little Splenda and cinnamon or flavored syrup and it's great!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 24, 2007
    Reviewer: Andrea in New York
    * Many mornings begin with this belling warming treat. I typically add a Splenda pack and some cinnamon to each of the flavors, but thoroughly enjoy this cereal. You have to adjust to the fact that it likes to gel up a little when it starts to cool, but mine typically never gets the chance to do so as it's gone so quick :)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 10, 2007
    Reviewer: Terri in Texas
    * Very impressed. I had a bit of hesitation about trying this product, as I have tried to make home-made flax cereal and was totally turned off by the slimy texture. This was not like that. There was a very miniscule slime texture, but not even close to being enough to cause a gag reflex. (not trying to be gross, just honest) The smell while cooking was fabulous - just like cinnamon and spice oatmeal. The taste wasn't as strong as the smell, but it was still good. I added a small amount of cream and (2 packets of) Splenda as recommended. I think next time I will add some cinnamon and maybe use sf maple flavored syrup in place of the Splenda. One word of caution - the serving size was very large for me. I plan to only use half a serving. But that's a good thing - the package will last twice as long. I was looking for another quick breakfast fix and I have found it with this product. Thanks, Netrition!!!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 October 25, 2006
    Reviewer: Tiffany in New York
    * I never thought I would like this but it tastes great and is something I will be eating regularly. It has a buttery creamy flavor so no need to add butter. I make it with the CC milk but I am sure it would taste fine with water too. I cannot wait to try all the flavors. One note of caution. I think it is unsweetened so if you like your morning hot cereal a little sweet, you would probably need to add your own sweetener. A little Davinci's syrup goes a long way. Also, keep in mind that if this gets cold it gets that flax meal gunny texture, so you want to make sure to eat it while its hot instead of write reviews while its sitting beside you getting cold.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 December 13, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Washington
    * I rated this cereal a 3 because it was not good tasting yet it was not bad tasting. The almond vanilla is the one I tried. Slightly grainy but that didn't bother me. Just didn't have a "yum feeling" when i tasted it. Tried adding a little sweetener to see if it'd help but it didn't. I also used some half n half milk in it. Maybe another flavor might appeal to me.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 May 22, 2007
    Reviewer: Tracy in Kentucky
    * I can eat almost anything if I have to but I found it hard to choke this down. I hate to write a review like this but seriously, it was awful. I measured for one serving size and followed the directions. It was pasty and and smelled like plaster. I added bits of fruit and that kept me from throwing it away. I made an expensive mistake and wish I could get my $ back or trade it out for something else.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 07, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Washington
    * Delicious, easy to use, works great for breakfast at work!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 07, 2009
    Reviewer: Paula in Maryland
    * Flax-Z-Snax has done it again with their hot cereals. They're tasty and delicious. I have had them all and I have liked them all. I'll likely be a life-long low-carber and hope these tasty cereals are around for the duration. Flax is very healthy too. A win-win!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 24, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Colorado
    * I love this cereal, great comfort food and fast to make. Doesn't really taste like "cinnamon and spice" but that actually just makes it more versatile since it can be flavored according to preference.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 21, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * I love this stuff!!!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 07, 2009
    Reviewer: Christina in Ohio
    * I find this to be a great replacement for oatmeal. It has great flavor on it's own, but I like to add a little butter and heavy cream for a creamier texture.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 28, 2009
    Reviewer: Mary in Maryland
    * Flax-z-snax cereal is a really nice change from eating eggs each morning. It's tasty and so easy to prepare. Sometimes I add a little cream or half and half, with a pat of butter to my serving and I am off to a good healthy start each day. My very favorite is the vanilla almond...just good comfort food in the morning.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 25, 2009
    Reviewer: Chris in Missouri
    * This cereal is very good. I like it better than oatmeal. It is very filling and easy to prepare. I used soy milk and Splenda reducing the carb count as I am on a low carb diet. It is a wonderful product and I've ordered more. Thank you for making it available.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Blueberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 25, 2009
    Reviewer: Harry in Maryland
    * Great product for those trying to follow a very low carb diet. Great taste, particularly the versions with dried berries, either Strawberries or Blueberries. I did not like the Cinnamon and Spice as much.

    I put stevia or equal in the hot water to give the cereal some sweetness and then dribble some whole milk yogurt on top. Tastes wonderful.

    Help's keep my blood sugar in the normal range and produces a minimal blood sugar rise after eating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 22, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Delaware
    * I think the new chocolate cream is very good and less caloric than the old version. It does have less chocolate flavor as another review pointed out, so I sometimes sprinkle it with unsweetened cocoa. I have been a fan of these cereals for years.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Chocolate Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 11, 2009
    Reviewer: Audrey in Michigan
    * This product is sooo satisfying. After months of bacon and eggs, at last I can enjoy hot cereal again!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 04, 2009
    Reviewer: Kimberly in Indiana
    * I tried the Strawberries and Cream and I liked it. I just ordered one each of the other flavors. Doing low-carb I don't get enough fiber. This cereal helps boost my fiber intake.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 02, 2009
    Reviewer: Erin in Utah
    * Flax-Z-Snax is great! I love it. It's quick and easy and with a sprinkle of sugar-free sweetener on it, it tastes great. It is the highest fiber content cereal I have ever found and it doesn't taste like you're eating cardboard. With a touch of cream for a low-carb diet, it makes a fast and delicious breakfast
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 27, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in New Mexico
    * This is a healthy, great tasting cereal that will not only fill you up, it will help curb your craving for carbs. It is full of fiber and I would recommend this product to anyone watching their carbs. It's not only great for breakfast, it's a low carb night snack too.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 26, 2009
    Reviewer: Agnetha in Arkansas
    * I have tried the cinnamon, the vanilla, and the butter pecan. They are all really good and not some chalky cereal substitute. They're high fiber so they're super filling and it feels like a real breakfast food. I highly recommend this product!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 03, 2009
    Reviewer: Linda in Minnesota
    * I have enjoyed the cinnamon and the almond favored hot cereals. Both are very good. If I accidentally add a bit too much water I add some flax seed in to give it some more consistency. Great for any meal that is on the go. This is another reorder item.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 01, 2009
    Reviewer: Dana in Alabama
    * I make pancakes out of the Butter Pecan. 1 cup of the cereal, 1 1/2 t baking soda, 1 egg, 1 T oil or butter, enough Hood Calorie Countdown 2% milk to thin it out

    We think it is as good as IHOP. Nice for Sunday mornings.

    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 08, 2009
    Reviewer: nancy in California
    * I have been on a low carb diet for 2 years to maintain my weight and it was great to find an oatmeal type cereal that is better than regular oatmeal. I put sugar free syrup on my oatmeal and it is delicious! I couldn't ask for anything better. I love this hot cereal!

    Nancy in California!

    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Blueberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 07, 2009
    Reviewer: Diane in South Carolina
    * I love the Chocolate Cream. It is really good and it keeps me full until lunch. I add a tad Splenda or Stevia and it is so yummy. I've already ordered more.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Chocolate Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 14, 2009
    Reviewer: Dana in Alabama
    * This hot cereal is good. I got the butter pecan and someone said they eat theirs with the Walden Farms marshmallow so I got some of that too. I also added fresh blueberries to it. It was wonderful. High in protein, high in fiber, low in net carbs, all that and good for you too.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 09, 2009
    Reviewer: Jaclyn in Pennsylvania
    * I LOVE THIS OATMEAL! I have it everyday and I attribute my maintained weight to this oatmeal alone. I like to add some DaVinci Flavor syrup to it sometimes and other times I add some milk or perhaps butter but even by itself it has a nice flavor, texture and the right stuff to fill you up and keep me satisfied. I don't know what I would do without it, it's the only high-protein, low-carb oatmeal on the market! I bring it with me on every vacation!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 14, 2009
    Reviewer: Margaret in Ohio
    * These Flax-Z-Snax hot cereals are ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!! I've had the Strawberries 'n Cream and the Butter Pecan flavors. They are fast and easy to make, delicious, nutritious, and filling. It's great to find a tasty low-carb cereal that packs easily for camping, is satisfying, and holds up well (doesn't go stale or spoil too quickly.) I would highly recommend giving these cereals a try! (I'm keeping my fingers crossed that Netrition will continue to carry these!)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 06, 2009
    Reviewer: Ron in California
    * It's the bomb!!! It tastes great (m mm cinnamon) and fits into my low carb diet. This is a great way to increase your fiber and omega3 intake.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 19, 2008
    Reviewer: Sue in Arkansas
    * It wasn't until the 2nd time I had this cereal that I decided I REALLY liked it. I had to 'doctor' it a bit, but I have it every morning now. I add splenda and sugar free maple syrup and eat it with cream. YUMMY!! The best part is that it keeps me full for well over 4 hours! I have even eaten it before I went swimming and then didn't eat again for more than two hours after I swam. I swim all of the time and I usually am famished after a workout. I have eaten this at 9am for breakfast and then not even felt hungry until 3pm!! Amazing for me! I am ordering the other flavors to try them now too.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 07, 2008
    Reviewer: Andrea in Massachusetts
    * I have Type 1 diabetes so I don't eat a lot of carbs, especially in the morning. I mix some of this cereal with an egg to make a "pancake." It's a great alternative for someone who can't eat carbs at breakfast. It never spikes my blood sugar. It's tasty and filling.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 30, 2008
    Reviewer: Cheryl in Wisconsin
    * I love this cereal! It is a great alternative to eating eggs every morning, being on the Atkins diet. It not only tastes great but is filling & really helps make you regular. (This seems to be a problem being on a low carb, high protein diet.) I didn't think there would be REAL blueberries in it too! It tastes great! I would recommend it to anyone wanting high protein & high fiber.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Blueberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 21, 2008
    Reviewer: Traci in Missouri
    * When I began to follow a low carb lifestyle one of the breakfast foods that I missed was cereal and oatmeal. With Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal I have the best of both worlds. I can adhere to my carb limits and have a hot cereal for breakfast. This is a great placement for oatmeal! I add a bit of butter and half and half to my bowl and then sweeten with Splenda.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 09, 2008
    Reviewer: David in New York
    * Not quite the same as regular hot cereals, but for anyone doing low carb woe, it is great. It grows on you too. I jazz it up with a little heavy cream, butter, and fresh berries if available. Good and great for you!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 31, 2008
    Reviewer: marie in Minnesota
    * My favorite is the cinnamon spice, but I have tried them all and they are all good. I really missed oatmeal until I discovered these cereals.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 20, 2008
    Reviewer: katherine in Maryland
    * This is a terrific product! My daughter is on the Ketogenic diet and is carb restricted. This allows her to eat a hot breakfast cereal just like her brother! We sweeten it with Stevia and add more cinnamon to make it more kid friendly. She loves this!!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 17, 2008
    Reviewer: mary in Indiana
    * I TRIED THE PECAN CEREAL. VERY VERY GOOD. I USED A COUPLE TABLESPOONS OF SS SYRUP ON IT AND IT WAS JUST WONDERFUL. I AM REORDERING TODAY. TRY IT, YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 13, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Tennessee
    * A little margarine and half/half added to it satisfies my craving for hot cereal on my low carb diet!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 10, 2008
    Reviewer: karen in New York
    * After Atkins stopped making my favorite hot cereal I needed to find a comparable replacement and this is it! Complete with fruit already in it. All of the ingredients are so good for you I really enjoy these cereals mixed with some almonds and walnuts to start my day. If you have berries add them too!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Blueberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 10, 2008
    Reviewer: Lisa in Virginia
    * I have been eating the Cinnamon and Spice and Butter Pecan flavors. They taste good and stick with me for hours, so I don't feel hungry right away. I found the strawberries and cream and blueberries a bit too sweet, though. I used to like Ralston hot cereal as a kid and these remind me of that. I'm glad that with the low carb fad over, this product still exists. The calorie count is just right too.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 08, 2008
    Reviewer: Natalie in Virgin Islands
    * My husband and I love this cereal! We have tried the strawberry and it is excellent with a couple fresh berries added to it. We have also tried the cinnamon and spice! LOVE IT! Hubby likes to add a couple tbsp of chopped apple to it. I like mine just as it is.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 06, 2008
    Reviewer: Amber in Washington
    * I love, love, love this cereal! I eat it every morning and sometimes have a second serving for a late night snack. So far I've had the Strawberries and Cream (my favorite), the Blueberries and Cream (great, but not enough blueberries), and am eagerly awaiting the arrival of Cinnamon and Spice. I eat low carb/low calorie, so I don't add cream and butter, but I don't think the cereal needs it. I just throw in a splash of Da Vinci syrup and enjoy.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 02, 2008
    Reviewer: Jan in Michigan
    * My husband likes the Cinnamon and Spice and I eat the Butter Pecan and they are both very good as well as an excellent source of fiber. We add Splenda and cinnamon and nutmeg to give them more flavor and sweetness. I put Silk unsweetened soy milk in mine and he uses cream. We tried the Strawberries and Cream flavor a few years ago, but didn't care for it. We also used to eat the Vanilla Almond on occasion, and it's all right, but we seem to have gotten hooked on the other two flavors. Give them a try!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 31, 2008
    Reviewer: Rebecca S. in Oklahoma
    * This is a great breakfast item if you like hot cereal. It's easy to prepare, and the high protein and fiber content make it filling and satisfying. I add a little sweetener and maple flavoring, and it's very tasty.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 30, 2008
    Reviewer: Gary in Washington
    * I have been ordering this product for nearly two years. This cereal is a crucial part of my diet as I am a Type 2 Diabetic and normal cereal advertised as low sugar is still very high processed sugar and carbohydrates. Flax-Z Snax is not only sugar free( no processed sugar or fructose) and less than two net carbs, and the strawberry and cream or blueberry and cream are both very tasty and you can have more than one serving without worry about excessive calories. I recommend for dieting and as a health food.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 10, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Massachusetts
    * Great source of fiber in a low carb diet. I like the Butter Pecan and Strawberries and Cream varieties the best, although I haven't tried Blueberries and Cream yet - that one's next!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 06, 2008
    Reviewer: Cynthia in Texas
    * If you like oatmeal, you'll like these -- for a lot less carbs. Of all the ones I've tried, I like the Cinnamon and Spice best -- but they've all been good. I add a few more spices, Lakanto sugar substitute and cream or half and half. Make it thin and it's a little like Cream of Wheat, thicker and it's more like oatmeal. Very satisfying and curbs hunger for a long time.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 26, 2008
    Reviewer: Steven in Oregon
    * It's hard to find something quick and LC for breakfast... Enter Flax-Z-Snax. I also divide into pre-measured servings (sandwich bags) and keep at work for occasional breakfast and/or lunch.

    If I want a bit more, I might add a half-serving of the Wheat-free Decadent Chocolate. I just wish Netrition carried a PLAIN flavor, for mixing or adding my own flavors. LOL!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 06, 2008
    Reviewer: Pamela in South Dakota
    * Not only is it tasty and quick to prepare but also provides the much needed fiber to keep "me regular"
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 18, 2008
    Reviewer: Catherine in Washington
    * This cereal has a great taste, is easy to fix and has plenty of protein that fills me until the next meal. I use this cereal for breakfast or a healthy snack at work. I like the Cinnamon and Spice and the Vanilla Almond cereals and use them for baking, such as in my fruit crisp topping.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 17, 2008
    Reviewer: Connie in Ohio
    * All of the Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereals are good - but our favorite is the Strawberries and Cream. The carbs are low enough and the flavor just right for a cold winter morning - or when a protein shake just won't do for breakfast. Besides the protein, I also appreciate the fiber. It can be very helpful on an all-protein diet.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 15, 2008
    Reviewer: Cindy in Kansas
    * Love this product. To maintain the low carb profile, try the Blue Diamond unsweetened almond milk over it. 2 carbs and 40 calories and it is better than skim milk. I have to add 6 Splenda and some sugar free caramel or vanilla syrup to the Flax Z Snax but man is that a good hot cereal!!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 09, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Washington
    * Sometimes I am so hungry I can't stand it. A large bowl of this cereal, and I do not feel hungry for hours. I sometimes add cream and sweetener to it.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 25, 2008
    Reviewer: Pam in Minnesota
    * This is a wonderful hot cereal! Very flavorful and fills you up. Low carb to boot! I am sold on this brand and have now ordered a couple of other flavors. I highly recommend this product!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 24, 2008
    Reviewer: Barbara in Michigan
    * My husband and I have been eating the cinnamon and spice hot cereal for a couple of years now and love it! We enjoy the taste, the benefits of the fiber in our diets and the fact that the cereal satisfies our appetites until lunchtime.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 24, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * We are satisfied with your cereal and have been a customer for quite some time now.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 22, 2008
    Reviewer: Nona in Wisconsin
    * If you crave hot cereal and are trying to cut carbs--this is for you! It is easy to make, delicious to eat and very satisfying.

    It is naturally high in fiber and keeps you feeling "fuller" longer--a GREAT BONUS.

    I love the taste of the Cinnamon and Spice flavor, but they are ALL YUMMY!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 20, 2008
    Reviewer: Eileen in California
    * So far I've just had the Butter Pecan, and really like it. It has the benefit as oatmeal, and even though it's not the same consistency, it has a good nutty taste to help. Today, I'm ordering the rest of the flavors!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 15, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Virginia
    * Fantastic product! I often find myself on the road, and subject to the free breakfasts at hotels, unable to get myself to a grocery store for real food. These "meals" are often continental style breakfasts with nothing but refined grains, starch, and sugar. So I put this product in my suitcase and mix a high quality, high protein, high fiber breakfast with the hot water from the hotel's pot in the dining room or with the coffeepot in the room. They usually have bowls and spoons there that I can use. Be sure to drink enough water with this high fiber product!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 07, 2008
    Reviewer: Gary in Indiana
    * I eat this every morning at home with some ground golden flax and liquid stevia added. This and the vanilla almond are great!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 05, 2008
    Reviewer: Stephanie in Washington
    * I love hot cereal on cold morning, but it took forever to find a low-carb version. This is a great alternative if you like cream of wheat or oatmeal. Add a little brown Diabetisweet and butter and YUM!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 21, 2008
    Reviewer: Linda in North Carolina
    * This hot cereal is wonderful! It's very hard to find a delicious hot cereal that is also low in carbs, but this one definitely delivers!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 15, 2008
    Reviewer: Linda in New York
    * I just tried the Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal (Cinnamon and Spice) and really liked the scent and the texture -- reminded me of a hot cereal I used to enjoy called Wheateana. To enhance the flavor and make for a creamier texture (just as I used to do to the Wheateana) I added some salt and low carb sweetener to taste as well as a splash of heavy cream. Delicious! An added benefit that I really appreciate is the healthy dose of fiber. I'll be eating this often and came back to Netrition to order more (will try the Vanilla Almond too).
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 21, 2007
    Reviewer: Marilyn in Tennessee
    * This stuff is delicious, super low-carb, and even low calorie. One bowl for breakfast holds me and is very filling. I've missed hot cereals on my low-carb way of eating and this delicious stuff fills the void. Thank you Flax-Z-Snaz! My favorite flavors are the Butter Pecan and Vanilla Almond.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 21, 2007
    Reviewer: Hilary in New York
    * With only 1 net carb, this cereal is wonderful for low carb dieters. It has a pleasant flavor and texture and is easy to prepare. I add chopped nuts or peanut butter, and then top it with a little heavy cream. Delicious for breakfast or a snack!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 16, 2007
    Reviewer: alison in New Jersey
    * I would highly recommend this cereal to anyone who has problems with constipation. I had gastric bypass surgery and now have chronic problems with rock hard stools. After eating one 1/2 cup serving the problem is gone, with no harsh laxatives or cramping. It actually feels soothing to my poor GI tract. I bought the butter pecan and the taste is okay- but the benefits are definitely worth it. Two thumbs up!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 08, 2007
    Reviewer: Joanne in Ohio
    * Great product! I liked the Cinnamon and Spice and now ordering other flavors to try. Tastes best with a little butter and splenda. Great on cold mornings!!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 08, 2007
    Reviewer: Susan in Texas
    * This product is an excellent and low-sugar breakfast alternative to oatmeal and other hot cereals. The taste is so good, it never leaves my "diet" rotation even when I'm not watching my carbs!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 05, 2007
    Reviewer: Dale in Washington
    * Flax meal is a great low carb cereal. I have used it for over 2 years with good results. Many health benefits including regularity, enough protein to hold you over until lunch. No glycemic impact.

    I use Soy Milk (unsweetened vanilla) and Splenda with cereal.

    Buttermilk pancake mix is really good. I add blueberries or apples and use sugar-free syrup.

    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 16, 2007
    Reviewer: Amber in Missouri
    * LOVE IT SOOOO MUCH! I will continue to buy! Tastes much like regular oatmeal!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Jacqui in Wisconsin
    * I highly recommend this product (especially the Strawberries and Cream) for anyone who has gone lo carb and misses hot oatmeal in the morning.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 25, 2007
    Reviewer: Steven in Florida
    * I've tried the Strawberries and Cream - it's a tiny bit gritty, but the taste is excellent! I add a dash of cream and a little butter or Smart Balance. This is a perfect low carb substitute if you're craving oatmeal or cream of wheat this winter.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 03, 2007
    Reviewer: MARION in Illinois
    * Mix in some Walden Farms sugar free pancake syrup and it is a GREAT replacement for oatmeal in the morning... I now have it almost everyday.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 25, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Florida
    * I love this cereal. I am not a big hot cereal fan but I loved the flavor and texture of this product. I am planning a trip and am going to take a bag of this with me. It will provide me with a healthier breakfast option than the normal hotel offerings.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 20, 2007
    Reviewer: Claire in Florida
    * This cereal has dropped my mom's cholesterol from over 258 to 126 in less than eight weeks. And this is after taking her off the Lipitor. The statin drugs crippled my mother as she is a diabetic. I HIGHLY recommend this for lowering cholesterol! In my book it's a 10!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Charlene in California
    * For the past 3 years I have been having Flax-z-hot cereal. I have it EVERY morning. I sweeten it with Equal or Splenda, then add a small amount of (powdered) coffee creamer. I also add a small amount of Fibre One cereal. Flax cereal keeps me feeling full for several hours. I can not start my day without this. In the past 3 years I have had 3 of my friends hooked on this. I have tried all the flavors, but I tend to order the ones with the lower calorie content, Cinnamon and Spice.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 22, 2007
    Reviewer: Elaine in Michigan
    * I love this! Was really bummed when I ran out for a week... reordered the Butter Pecan and the Cinnamon Spice, two of each. I liked the Vanilla Almond too.

    I add one packet of Splenda and a bit of Erythritol for sweetener and use unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze for "milk". Will be sure to not run out again... it is a morning must around here!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 20, 2007
    Reviewer: syreeta in Ohio
    * This does a have a bit of an after taste but was still good with fruit and butter... don't forget to add a bit of Splenda. I have been missing hot cereal and this was great. I just ordered 2 more boxes in different flavors. Just add hot water and the serving size a was pretty good size, so it didn't take much of this to fill me up.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 10, 2007
    Reviewer: Michael in New Jersey
    * I have tried two of the Flax-Z-Snax cereals and settled on butter pecan as a regular (three times a week). It's very tasteful and a breeze to prepare. Of course the healthy aspect is the primary motivator for me and it all works out nicely.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 09, 2007
    Reviewer: Steve in South Carolina
    * My wife and I love Cinnamon and spice product. Low carb and great taste. We have been eating it every day for a year, and we have yet to grow tired of it.

    If you are on a low carb diet, this is the best!!

    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 06, 2007
    Reviewer: Mara in Connecticut
    * This is absolutely delicious. It keeps you full and satisfied. When I am not training for a show I eat 1/2c with two Splenda's before going to the gym. Enjoy!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 02, 2007
    Reviewer: April in Pennsylvania
    * Oh this stuff is better than any hot cereal out there.. it has made me forget about oatmeal. Just put some butter and some Splenda in it and add the hot water... it's the best way to get the full benefits of flaxseed without having to worry about a horrible powder. - and it tastes great.... two bags last for under a week.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 30, 2007
    Reviewer: Daniel in New York
    * High Fiber, High Protein, Low Carb. An ideal breakfast. And some (Butter Pecan and Vanilla Almond) have no artificial sweeteners, and no super sweet taste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 28, 2007
    Reviewer: rodney in Minnesota
    * I've been doing a low carb diet and was getting bored with eggs and ham each morning. This product is a great alternative. I love the hot cereal with a little Splenda and a little half and half (only two total carbs). The consistency, quality, and ease of preparing has made this product the main stay of my morning routine.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 18, 2007
    Reviewer: Corrine in Massachusetts
    * For low carb dieter's seeking a hot cereal, this is a great product. Not only does it hit the spot on a cool morning, but it tastes good as well. Extra cinnamon works wonders as well.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 09, 2007
    Reviewer: Patty in New York
    * Hot cereal is one of the things I missed the most on a low-carb diet, this product is delicious. I have tried different brands and this one is the best.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 19, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Ohio
    * This is a great lo-carb breakfast cereal. I haven't found a cold cereal I like, so I eat this one, with a little Splenda and some milk or lo-fat half-and-half almost every day, year-round! I seem to be mildly allergic to some soy products, but this one doesn't bother me. It is tasty, filling, and instant. What more could you want? With only a couple of net carbs, its a wonderful, low-fat, cholesterol free alternative to eggs and such for folks on Atkins. Butter Pecan is my favorite, but I haven't tried them all.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 09, 2007
    Reviewer: James in Connecticut
    * I travel the country, and it's hard to find a good low-carb breakfast everywhere. The Cinnamon and Spice hot cereal is excellent and fills you up, and, all you do is add hot water, so it's easy to prepare.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 30, 2007
    Reviewer: Linda in Israel
    * These cereals have become the staple of my low carb diet. I use them for breakfast every day. They are about the lowest carb cereal available in the world, and are filling and quite delicious. Recommendation: I add a teaspoon of Splenda granules, a splash of low carb syrup (maple syrup to the Cinnamon & Spice or Vanilla Almond and raspberry syrup to the Strawberries & Cream) and a dash of cream. Yummy!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 23, 2007
    Reviewer: Rebecca in Massachusetts
    * Very good! Very filling. I add 2 spoonfuls of Splenda and it's awesome. Would recommend. My toddlers love it too. I feel good about giving them this for breakfast.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 18, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Colorado
    * Definitely a great substitute for higher carb hot cereals. A little Splenda and cream, and it's delicious! I've tried the vanilla almond and butter pecan flavors--both are great.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Mitchell in Oregon
    * Great source of protein and fiber. Tastes good too. I take it everywhere with me.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 13, 2007
    Reviewer: CAROL in California
    * This breakfast is easy to take to work or travel with. I love this on a cool morning. It's a nice change.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 05, 2007
    Reviewer: Tony in Nevada
    * Very good!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Charmaine in Colorado
    * The only negative is a slight, odd aftertaste that seems related to the flax seed -- probably just a rather stale batch. I overcame it with a small capful of vanilla extract.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Charmaine in Colorado
    * Excellent answer to the dilemma of a low-carb hot cereal. I add a bit of sweetener and it's perfect.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 31, 2007
    Reviewer: Judith in Oregon
    * I love this stuff. I've been eating it nearly every morning for four years. I found it initially because of its low-carb feature, but then I quickly realized that for the first time in my (rather long) life, I've found something that makes me healthily, happily regular. It's absolutely dependable for me. Suggestion: Put fresh fruit on this cereal. That makes it enormously more appealing than just eating it straight.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 13, 2007
    Reviewer: Sean in Iowa
    * My family and I love these hot cereal products. Our favorites are the Butter Pecan and the Cinnamon and Spice. We were not especially fond of the Chocolate as it was a little slimy and not very chocolaty, but it did get eaten. We have found a Splenda brown sugar product that is excellent. We use the splenda brown sugar, along with some cream, to make this hot cereal more closely resemble oatmeal and brown sugar. In a pinch, my wife will eat it in place of dinner on the nights she has school. It is very filling, easy to make and quite tasty.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Lindsey in Tennessee
    * I love these cereals. I eat really healthy already and enjoy the taste of flax as is, so maybe thats why I don't need to add any sugar to them or anything. They are very healthy, filling and are great all around. I would highly recommend them to anyone who likes oatmeal/hot cereal, that is trying to stick to a low carb lifestyle.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 31, 2007
    Reviewer: Jason in New York
    * I just finished a bowl of the Vanilla Almond. No, it's not as good as a bowl of Ben & Jerry's. But it does taste good. It's filling for breakfast or a snack, and it packs a huge nutritional wallop with 10 - 12 grams of fiber. Good luck getting that in any other cereal without the carbs. I make mine with hot water, Splenda, and some added flaxmeal (to get even MORE fiber and the omega-3 ALA). Of the flavors I've tried, the Butter Pecan tastes best but they're all good. Incredibly easy to make, tastes good, packed with fiber - what more can you ask for?
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 30, 2007
    Reviewer: Juan Carlos in Puerto Rico
    * I love this product. It is high on fiber, low on calories and it tastes great when you add syrup. It even has some dried strawberries in it. Just be sure to use Da Vinci's Strawberry syrup with it or you may not like the flavor of it alone.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 22, 2007
    Reviewer: Donna in Florida
    * I bought all four flavors. As with any regular hot cereal I put a bit of sweetener on it. Hot cereal was one of the things I missed most on low carb and this more than fills the bill. LOVE all four. I put the maple syrup on some and a few berries on some. I have it for breakfast and often for a bedtime snack. We love to cruise and I bring this on the ship along with the rest of my low carb staples. I have the waiter bring me a bowl and pot of hot water. As there is no CC milk on the ships I use 1/2 and 1/2. This makes low carb a lot more livable. If you don't care for the consistency, CHANGE it. Make it more firm with less water.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 17, 2007
    Reviewer: Bettina in California
    * I bought this cereal in every flavor having read the reviews. I am so glad I did. I am tired of the icky taste that low carb products often have. Not the case here. It's great to have low carb, hot cereal for breakfast, get a BIG boatload of fiber in your diet, and have something so hearty and tasty. I just had the Strawberries N Cream and added some Splenda Vanilla flavored powder, some almond milk and I Can't Believe It's not Butter. Topped it with a small bit of chopped almonds. AWESOME. Oh yeah, and unlike some low carb cereals that are small portions, when you mix this up it's very substantial.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 10, 2007
    Reviewer: merrie in Oregon
    * I have tried all the hot cereals except strawberries and cream. I add butter and Davincis eggnog or praline syrup to the cereal, it is truly wonderful on these cold winter mornings. I like having hot cereal again, I think you will too.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 01, 2007
    Reviewer: merrie in Oregon
    * I have tried all flavors except strawberries amd cream. They taste great. I missed hot cereal low carbing, but I have this every morning with Davinci's eggnog or praline sugar free syrup with half and half or cream. It's wonderful.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 29, 2006
    Reviewer: Megan in Maryland
    * I really like this. Try it with about 3 teaspoons of sugar free maple syrup!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 26, 2009
    Reviewer: Jamie in New Jersey
    * The Strawberries and Cream is very good. It has pieces of Strawberries in the cereal and is very filling and satisfying. I would recommend this along with the Blueberries and Cream, also very good.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 14, 2009
    Reviewer: beatrice in New York
    * As far as low carb cereals go, I thought this was rather good. I have ordered it again.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 05, 2009
    Reviewer: Melinda in Ohio
    * This is a great low carb morning hot cereal. It does have a slimy feel to it, much like okra, but is equally delicious if made w/ almond milk or water. The fiber really helps those on low carb diets w/bathroom issues.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 31, 2008
    Reviewer: Donald in California
    * Just love this hot cereal. Takes a while to get used to the taste, but adding a little sugar-free maple syrup helps a lot. Haven't tried the Cinnamon and Spice yet, but so far, I think the strawberries and cream is the best tasting.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 01, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Mississippi
    * I was given my first sample of the Strawberries and Cream cereal. I was just happy not to have to eat eggs and bacon again. It truly was a welcomed addition to my small collection of foods. It is very filling... satisfying. I tried the Cinnamon and Spice; because, the Strawberries and Cream was out of stock when I ordered before. I didn't like it as much. However, I am never hungry and the carb count is wonderfully low. Strawberries and Cream is the best to me, so far.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 17, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in New Jersey
    * Overall, I'm very satisfied with this product. Often low-carbers are deprived of good breakfast items to choose from, but this product helps to make a low carb diet more enjoyable -- and a low carb lifestyle more appealing.

    I've tried the cinnamon and spice and plan on ordering the vanilla almond next. The cereal provides a good base, add flavor with spices and/or nuts, and a packet or two of Splenda sweetener. I've also been adding a touch of heavy cream which helps to give the cereal a creamier consistency. Don't be afraid to play around with the ratio of fluid to cereal mix depending on individual preferences.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 31, 2008
    Reviewer: Kim in North Carolina
    * This cereal is a great stick to your ribs breakfast; although I thought the Divine Pecan Praline tasted better but had more net carbs. I have just ordered the Butter Pecan, Cinnamon & Spice, and Vanilla Almond and am looking forward to trying each.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 29, 2007
    Reviewer: Christy in Oregon
    * Good alternative to hot cereal..I personally missed it. The flavor is ok...I did add a bit of cream, vanilla and splenda to enhance it. The texture is a bit odd at first but I got used to it quickly and have enjoyed it.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 19, 2007
    Reviewer: Susan in New York
    * I'm not crazy about its basic texture, but this is still an excellent alternative for low-carbers. Butter Pecan's my favorite. For a better result, ignore directions on package. Heat in microwave about 3/4 cup of 1/2 water, 1/2 favorite milk. (I use Blue Diamond unsweetened original almond milk or Carb/Calorie Countdown.) When milk is nice and hot, add to cereal in a pot. For creaminess, try adding some "neufchatel" cream cheese or some sour cream to the mixture. If you're on an Atkins-type regime, butter's OK too. Heat to desired temperature.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 12, 2007
    Reviewer: bruce in Missouri
    * These products are great. We really like Strawberries and Cream and Butter Pecan. They are an excellent source of fiber in our low carb diet and also very low in carbs. They are quick to prepare, maybe about 5 minutes if you count the time to heat the water in the microwave and then stir it up. My wife really prefers the Strawberry version. It's a little sweet for me but still quite good. I'm a Butter Pecan man. We have tried all of these products and find that Cinnamon & Vanilla don't really appeal to us. Also, the more expensive versions of these products, the premium ones, seem to be much sweeter and have a less appealing mouth feel. Anyway, we've been eating these cereals for over 4 years straight, nearly every morning. If you're looking for a low carb hot cereal option, this is it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 03, 2007
    Reviewer: April in Pennsylvania
    * Being on a low-carb diet leaves you with few options for breakfast. This hot cereal is delicious, easy to make, and fills you up! A nice alternative to eggs!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 15, 2007
    Reviewer: LaTresia in California
    * This is a wonderful product! When I was doing Atkins I missed hot cereal so much! This was the perfect alternative, and even though I'm now on the GI diet and can have oatmeal, I STILL eat this product almost every day for breakfast. The consistency is a cross between oatmeal and cream of wheat. It's so easy to do, just microwave a cup of water, add the cereal and stir! PERFECT to keep at work so that you don't skip breakfast! I usually put in a dash of salt, a pat of Smart Balance, splenda and cinnamon and YUM! It's also GREAT for keeping me "regular" as it is FULL of fiber and I'm SURE I don't have to get into all of the SUPERIOR benefits of Flax on this site!
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 10, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Florida
    * This is pretty good for such a low-carb and high fiber cereal. Great to have an alternative for breakfast. I like the Strawberries and Cream the best. Even though I like nuts, I am not crazy about the nut-type ones - too blah and mucky. I have not tried the Cinnamon and Spice.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 10, 2007
    Reviewer: Heidi in Colorado
    * I love hot cereal. I had gastric bypass about a year ago and must adhere to a low carb diet. The Flax z Snax is a dream come true. It tastes pretty good and has helped with constipation, a problem I've had ever since the surgery. It has a nutty wholesome flavor and is filling. It's easy to prepare and I like to top it with berries. I would recommend this to GBPS patients or any one following a low carb life style.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 16, 2006
    Reviewer: Ellie Mae in Pennsylvania
    * Cereal was very good. Need to add some Splenda. I will buy again and I will try other flavors. Delivery was very fast.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Cinnamon and Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 April 19, 2009
    Reviewer: Yaira in Virginia
    * It tastes ok, not great flavor, but the texture kills it. It's very flaky, dry tasting and not like hot cereal at all. If you want an amazing low-carb very nutritious oatmeal substitute, go for the Dixie Diner's Carb Counters Hot Cereal in any flavor, they're amazing and I definitely think I'll stick with those from now on.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 January 26, 2009
    Reviewer: Mary in Texas
    * I eat the Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereals almost every morning so I was very pleased to see the new flavor offering, Blueberries and Cream. But I was very disappointed when I began to eat this product because there are so few blueberries in the package. In order to actually taste blueberries, I have to supplement the cereal with either fresh or frozen blueberries. The Butter Pecan and Vanilla Almond cereals have much more flavor than the new Blueberries and Cream.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Blueberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 June 11, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Wisconsin
    * I previously purchased the Chocolate Cream and thought it was quite good. However, I recently bought another package and it had no chocolate flavor whatsoever. My thought was that it was mis-labeled or they missed an ingredient, but the manufacturer claims they reformulated it this way. Why you'd reformulate a chocolate cereal to have no chocolate flavor is a mystery to me.

    It's not that it tastes bad (thus the 2 stars, instead of 1), but it's not chocolate. I can easily recreate this cereal in about 2 minutes with wheat bran, ground flax, whey protein and splenda for less than 1/4 what I paid for this cereal.

    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Chocolate Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 January 14, 2007
    Reviewer: cindy in Missouri
    * I purchased the strawberries and cream and couldn't finish the first bowl. I did not care for the texture or taste. It did not really have any taste to it.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 October 06, 2009
    Reviewer: Jeffrey in Louisiana
    * I don't see what everyone is raving about, this stuff was horrible! Totally disgusting and far from edible. Me and the wife just couldn't do it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 August 24, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Tennessee
    * Okay, where do I start...? My experience with the Pecan flavor was really bad. The texture was like slime. And, the taste was so bland. I added the recommended butter and even additional sweetener. No change. So, I thought that if I put the mixture in muffin tins and bake it, that would improve the outcome. No such luck...the product didn't work for me. Baking it only improved its outward appearance but not the flavor.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 March 12, 2007
    Reviewer: Sonja in Illinois
    * This tasted terrible!...and I'm someone who is willing to sacrifice taste for a healthier option. I NEVER throw out food, but I threw this out! Ugh! I did love the Flax-Z-Snax granola, try that. Not the same as regular granola, of course, but good. I'd rather splurge on the carbs in old-fashioned oatmeal than eat this.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Butter Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 February 04, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * The strawberries and cream flavor is disgusting.
    This review is specific to Flax-Z-Snax Hot Cereal, Strawberries and Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.