Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 05, 2007
    Reviewer: Stephanie in Maryland
    * Oh, Erythritol. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

    1. I love that non-dieters have no idea that you are not sugar. 2. I love that you maintain bulk in my baking recipes 3. I love that you mask the taste of other artificial sweeteners when I mix you with them 4. I love that you caramelize on the top of creme brulee 5. I love that you protect my teeth and gums 6. I love that you mix with chocolate in a way that Splenda never could 7. I love that you have almost no calories 8. I love that you don't cause gastric distress 9. I love the full bodied flavor you give to simple things like kool-aid 10. I love that you even look just like Sugar

    Only two things I do not love:

    1. Your price tag! 2. The cooling effect that occurs in some baked goods unless I mix you with some other sweetener.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Laura in Virginia
    * Baking with granulated erythritol has really made a huge difference in the taste and texture of my desserts. I've found that to mitigate the 'cooling' effect of the sugar alcohol, you can use a 50/50 mix of erythritol and Splenda, and nobody will every know it's not made with real sugar. By mixing the two sugar substitutes you get the best of both without the aftertaste of Splenda or the cooling effect of the erythritol.

    Something else I love about erythritol: it doesn't have the gastrointestinal effects that other sugar alcohols do. I can eat this stuff all day long and never have a bit of gas or bloating.

    Great stuff -- now that I've tried it I can't live without it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 16, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
    * EUREKA!

    Tastes exactly like sugar, contains ZERO calories and doesn't give you gas or cramps or the trots like all the other sugar alcohols.

    True, it's considerably more expensive than Xylitol, which is what I used previously.

    But ... xylitol has 70 percent of the calories of sugar, this one has zero percent (so it's really diabetic safe -- be careful with xylitol if you're diabetic, it sent my brother's blood sugar through the roof).

    Plus, erythritol doesn't have as much of that 'cold' feeling on your tongue. And the not-passing-gas thing -- I can tell you from personal experience, your friends and family will thank you (even my dog has turned his back on me and stalked away, following copious consumption of Xylitol).

    The only thing you may notice in terms of difference between this and sugar is that the crystals are slightly larger and thus a bit 'grittier,' but not in a bad way, more like a sugar-cookie. (and you could always whir it in the blender for a sec to make it superfine).

    The price here is pretty good too.

    (Plus I love how quickly Netrition ships -- I'm on the East Coast and it almost always arrives overnight!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 18, 2015
    Reviewer: A customer in Washington
    * This is my go-to sweetener. This product does NOT raise your blood sugar at all and it does not create bowel issues like maltitol or sorbitol. It has a "cooling" effect in the mouth, which is not noticeable when it is mixed with other ingredients. If you like mint, you'll love it. Whiz it in the blender before prior to use if you need it to dissolve for jello, baking or candy making. My favorite use for this is to make sugar-free chocolates. All it takes is erythritol, coconut oil, and unsweetened baking chocolate to make a healthy chocolate substitute. So simple. Why ruin your health with sugar?
    This review is specific to Erythritol Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 03, 2011
    Reviewer: Cara in Missouri
    * Wonderful product! Gives a slight cool mouth feeling, so be prepared for that.

    Can be ground in a food processor to "powder" it for baking as it does not melt well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 28, 2009
    Reviewer: Val in Maine
    * I went low carb a few years ago and found several products to make it easy...except sweeteners. I can deal with the aftertaste, but there is one with Splenda. I was thrilled to try this this time around. I read the other reviews, and jumped in both feet. They are right, it has a literal cool feeling. But when used in conjunction with Splenda..woohoo..sweet, no aftertaste(surprised my family)and no coolness if you don't over do. I made PB cookies today and found I can back off on both sweeteners. I love it, and ordered two bags this time.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 17, 2007
    Reviewer: Donna in North Carolina
    * This is a bit pricey, but worth the cost compared to Splenda or sugar alcohols. My blood sugar levels don't go up with this product. When mixed with Stevia, this is a great substitute in all my recipes--my high-carb kids gobble up treats made with this stuff.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 June 07, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
    * There was a terrible aftertaste associated with this product. Even when mixed with Splenda the odd taste was still there. I do not recommend.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 19, 2016
    Reviewer: KATHLEEN in Arizona
    * I have been using this along with Xylitol Sweetener and Splenda for about two years now. I mix them 4 parts Erythritol/2 parts Xylitol and 2 parts Splenda, then blend in my Magic Bullet. Best blend for baked items or anything you need to sweeten. NOT for coffee, don't know why but for me it's not sweet enough in coffee. If a recipe calls for 1 cup sugar, I use 3/4 cup of my blend. I use in my cheese cake, apple pie, cinnamon buns, etc. no one knows it's sugar free.
    This review is specific to Erythritol Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 27, 2015
    Reviewer: James in North Carolina
    * Use it like sugar - no digestive issues like other sugar alcohols. I use it in every recipe - it's a 3rd less sweet than sugar. Mechanically like sugar in baking. If a recipe calls for 2 cups of sugar, I add 1 cup of Erythritol and 1.1 to 1.2 cups of sucralose. The mixture of sweeteners give a good simulation of sugar.

    I recommend it.

    This review is specific to Erythritol Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 16, 2015
    Reviewer: Jeffrey in Indiana
    * This stuff is awesome! I've made sooo many desserts with it. Chocolate pie, pudding, orange chicken, pumpkin cake roll, chocolate bars, even a double tiered red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting that I managed to make low carb/sugar free and low calorie.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 29, 2014
    Reviewer: michelle in Illinois
    * I love this stuff. I made a pecan crust cheese cake and a pecan chocolate cake. I did mix a little bit of Splenda with it. I might taste a slight cooling effect but I read that it could cause it so I may just think I taste it because I know of it. I wish it wasn't so expensive. I picked up the bag upside down and spilled most of it. I will be buying this again.
    This review is specific to Erythritol Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 18, 2014
    Reviewer: Sharon in Pennsylvania
    * Great for baking.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 17, 2014
    Reviewer: Sarah in Pennsylvania
    * No bitter taste as compared to Stevia (which I have sensitivity too). It is not as fine of a crystal, but I love the taste. I use this and monk fruit for my no cal sweeteners.
    This review is specific to Erythritol Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 14, 2012
    Reviewer: laurel in Alabama
    * This is a great product, tastes great, not as sweet as other sweeteners but no aftertaste! I will buy this again. Works great for baking.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 05, 2012
    Reviewer: Jesseca in South Carolina
    * Zero calories, great sugar substitute!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 27, 2010
    Reviewer: Fives in Illinois
    * Very tasty stuff. I like it best on top of my cottage cheese snack and on top of pancakes, or anywhere else you would use table sugar. It's granular, so it's best to use it when you want to get that grainy texture of sugar on your foods - otherwise I use splenda and nutrasweet to do the bulk of my sweetening, which are both sweeter and tend to have less aftertaste. The aftertaste for erythritol isn't noticeable unless you're eating it straight up - I can't detect it with my cottage cheese and pancakes.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 19, 2010
    Reviewer: Lori in Indiana
    * Just like sugar in texture and taste to me. Highly recommend! I am purchasing more today and I only wish it weren't so doggone expensive!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 26, 2009
    Reviewer: Laurie in New York
    * I use a lot of different sugar substitutes when baking, as I follow the South Beach Diet. Erythritol is one of my favorites because it has the weight and texture of sugar. When creaming butter with sugar in baking, the texture of the sugar crystals is very important. If you use a sugar substitute such as Splenda in recipes that call for creaming, it doesn't work nearly as well as with the real thing, but with erythritol, you get great results. Because it has a laxative effect, I only use a small amount in my recipes, combining it with other substitutes, such as Splenda, Stevia (especially NuStevia's More Fiber), and agave nectar. It's an indispensable part of my pantry.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 31, 2009
    Reviewer: James in North Carolina
    * Erythritol is great! Looks, tastes, and behaves just like sugar and does not cause gas as other sugar alcohols can do.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 03, 2008
    Reviewer: eliza in Florida
    * This is my first time using Erythritol, so I have no other brand to compare it to. I think this is sweeter than Splenda granules or sugar. When I first used it I had a cool feeling in mouth (literally).
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 06, 2008
    Reviewer: Cathy in Indiana
    * This really helps take out "the bite" of splenda. NO aftertaste! I mix a little Erythritol with Splenda and the results are fantastic.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 01, 2008
    Reviewer: Kristi in California
    * Great stuff. No aftertaste at all, even in large quantities. Tastes sweet, almost as sweet as sugar by volume. It has a nice taste and less gas/bloating than xylitol.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 13, 2007
    Reviewer: Karin in Washington
    * This is, simply put, the best sugar substitute EVER. I love it. No aftertaste. I feel safe using it. Great! I wish it came in bigger sizes.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 22, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * Great stuff! Just a tablespoon or two added to your recipe makes it taste like you used sugar! (Use equal parts of Splenda of sweetener for sugar called for in recipe)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 08, 2007
    Reviewer: L in Oregon
    * I love erythritol because it doesn't raise my blood sugar, give me gassy bloating, and other issues with my digestion like other sugar alcohols do. It cooks the same as sugar, and takes care of the sugary needs. It's not as sweet as xylitol, but I choose erythritol because there are no side effects. A healthy choice, and it works!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 25, 2007
    Reviewer: Vicki in Texas
    * I love this product! You can't use it alone as a sweetener in baked goods and other things because it has a cooling effect on the tongue, but if you use it 1/2 to 1/2 with Splenda it works wonderfully. It has more "body" than Splenda so it gives baked goods more of the natural taste and texture.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Dorlene in New York
    * As a sugar addict who does not like the aftertaste of artificial sweeteners or the laxative effect of Xylitol and Maltitol, I'm thrilled to have found this product and use it primarily in fruit smoothies, which I make a couple of times a day during the summer. Here's my recipe:

    12 oz pineapple juice, 12 oz Dannon Fat Free Light & Fit Strawberry Yogurt, 1/2 cup blueberries, 1 banana, 4 heaping tablespoons Erythritol, 15 ice cubes.

    Blend all in Vitamix or Vitaprep or other powerful blender until desired consistency. Drink and enjoy without worrying about calories!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 18, 2007
    Reviewer: Megan in Texas
    * Our family loves this product. My husband refused to dump sugar because he hated the taste of stevia and will not eat artificial sweeteners. The extent of his "sweet tooth" made it difficult to use Xylitol or Maltitol. It was too easy to fall into the laxative effects.

    Erythritol saved the day - and his energy levels. He easily and happily kicked the sugar habit. We've all been sugar free for 10 weeks thanks to the substitution of this product. I've substituted it in cake recipes, and it tastes great, though it makes a heavier, pound-cake like texture. Works beautifully in liquids and creams,and we no longer suffer the frustrations of sugar-induced tantrums in our son!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 24, 2015
    Reviewer: Thomas in Michigan
    * Erythritol is one of the best low carb sweetners from what I read. I wish it was not so hard to dissolve.
    This review is specific to Erythritol Granular
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 27, 2015
    Reviewer: SYLVIA in California
    * My favorite sweetener. I don't find it to have a cooling effect like other people seem to. It is extremely sweet and tastes almost like regular sugar but with virtually no calories. It has the bulk of regular sugar and while I haven't used it to bake too much, the baked gods came out well. I did grind the crystals in the food processor to make it more of a powder which I find blends in better. I use it to sweeten my coffee and it is delicious with none of the stevia aftertaste and a better taste than splenda. I only wish it wasn't so pricey!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 21, 2014
    Reviewer: Phillip in Mississippi
    * As others have noted, Erythritol, while closer to sugar than other non-sugar sweeteners, takes more than a 1:1 ratio and has a slightly menthol type of tongue feel. Better to powderize in a coffee-been grinder before adding to cooking items like cheesecake. Once in powder form, makes a terrific addition to your non-sugar cooking. Perhaps may be better to powderize before adding to liquid drinks like coffee and tea. Slightly pricey, but thanks to Netrition for keeping affordable.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 27, 2007
    Reviewer: Debra in Mississippi
    * At first, I wasn't sure I liked erythritol. It's grainy, but the taste is really good, and your candies, etc. will taste a whole lot more like real sugar. It also has weight. I'm ordering more, because even though you have to decide what grainy matters on and what it doesn't, it really is nice. Even grainy is not bad. I've settled on a compromise of half & half (1/2 Splenda, 1/3 erythritol) for most things.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 19, 2007
    Reviewer: Lori in New Jersey
    * This is a great product for people who want to use a truly natural sweetener and get away from splenda and aspartame. It's a little more granular and gritty than those but it serves the purpose.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.