Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.99 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Tova
Carbquik Bake Mix  Buy Carbquik Bake Mix

Write an online review for
Carbquik Bake Mix (Tova)

625 Reviews
Average rating
(552)
(53)
(7)
(2)
(11)

Customer Reviews  
< Previous     |  1 2  |     Next >

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
July 28, 2012
Reviewer: Debra in Texas
This mix has a very slight aftertaste, but it doesn't bother us that much. Since my hubby is diabetic and I have a severe soy allergy, this mix is our number one choice!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
April 19, 2011
Reviewer: Kevin in Maryland
The biggest drawback to this product is that the recipes on the box are... poor. Still, if you know what you're doing without using those directions, the product is quite useful.

For biscuits, there's plenty of salt already in the mix, so adding more is a bad idea. Cut in a little butter (about 1 1/2 T. per cup of CarbQuick) and add just enough "milk" (50/50 cream and water) to hold it together.

And... well, that's really all I use it for. I prefer a mix of carbalose flour, coconut flour, and flax seed meal for other baking, but it just doesn't work well for biscuits. This does, and I like it just for that purpose. A tad expensive, but mostly worth it.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
January 15, 2011
Reviewer: Petra in New York
So far, I've only made pancakes and used it as breading, but both tasted really good! My husband really liked the way the pancakes tasted, but I had an issue with the consistency. I didn't want to use a WHOLE stick of butter for pancakes, so I used half a stick and added more water. I should have added a little more than I did, but most of them came out fine...I had 2 pancakes that didn't cook all the way through. However, despite this issue, the pancakes tasted comparable to Bisquick and were delish!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
August 12, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Utah
I greatly appreciate that there is a low-carb baking mix that I can use to make very many things. The only thing that I would change would be to decrease the amount of salt in it -- I needed to add some extra sweetener when making pancakes to offset some of the saltiness.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
May 31, 2007
Reviewer: Lisa in California
I'd only used it for the coffee cake recipe, until I found the microwave sponge bread recipe, which I make several times a week--whoever invented that is brilliant, so easy and very bread like. I was missing bread, now that most of the low carb ready made breads are no longer available, at least in my area. Does anyone have any other recipes for it they recommend?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 24, 2014
Reviewer: Christopher in Maine
Have purchased this item multiple times and we use it as a general flour substitute. Overall very pleased with the taste, low carb value, etc. Yet another good product that the low-carb crowd can depend on. Only other comment is that it seems a bit salty, take that into account when using it in recipes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 17, 2014
Reviewer: becky in Kansas
Great product for the low carber. Some recipes have to be tweaked for certain things but it's great to have when you're craving bread or biscuits!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 31, 2014
Reviewer: Patsy in Texas
So far I am very pleased with Carbquick. I have made several batches of muffins with fresh blueberries and batches with Smuckers sugar free raspberry preserves. I have also experimented and made some soft coconut cookies, which a fellow co-worker liked..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 24, 2013
Reviewer: Geneva in Texas
Made my own recipes for pound cake, chocolate cake and brownies. Pretty good!! I love sweets. Have ordered this several times. Has a somewhat different texture. The pancakes and waffles are very good. I plan on posting my recipes. If you are a sweet-a-holic, you need them!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 13, 2013
Reviewer: Joanne in Georgia
You have to try the pizza recipe with this mix. It is great! Try pre-baking the crust for 5 minutes and letting it cool slightly before putting on the ricotta cheese; then sprinkle on a generous amount of mozzarella cheese, then some Rotel tomatoes, pepperoni, olives, etc. Be sure to cover the edges of the crust with foil to prevent over-browning, and bake at 425 degrees for 20 minutes. You'll be in low-carb heaven!! I went 2 1/2 years without eating pizza, so I am loving this!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 19, 2012
Reviewer: Tamara in Missouri
This is a great alternative for people who are on a plan to reduce their total carb intake. The only complaint I have with the product is the aftertaste. I have made biscuits twice and honestly put the mix in my freezer as I was kinda turned off by the taste. I will break it out and give it a try once again and see if my taste have changed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 13, 2012
Reviewer: Lisa in Colorado
Best low-carb invention yet. This stuff is fabulous. The only problem I have with it is that it gives me heartburn. I will put up with heartburn to have a pizza crust or a real loaf of homemade bread. Prilosec, here I come!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 29, 2012
Reviewer: Jo in Alabama
We loved this product as far as the taste ,but my son has type 1 diabetes and even when taking the amount of insulin needed for a biscuit his sugar was high after a 1 hour check and also a 2 hour check . People on low carb lifestyles may need to check their Blood sugar also because I had a slight raise also ,but for diabetics it can be dangerous.

So diabetics need to be aware of this ,maybe it will not effect everyone like it did us . They are very tasty and he is very sad that he is not able to eat them maybe the fiber count is wrong . If we counted them at 5 carbs per biscuit maybe it would have worked out better but we will not be buying them again unless they fix the carb count.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 08, 2012
Reviewer: Michael in Tennessee
I've only used this for breading when pan frying things like fish, pork chops, and chicken. It works pretty well for that. I give it a 4 instead of a 5 because I can't seem to get that really crisp breading I like (and do fry on lower temp as it'll burn quicker at higher temps than regular flour) - but for a low carb substitute it's more than adequate.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 17, 2012
Reviewer: Barbara in Texas
It is a good product, has a bit of an after taste, but not bad. It can be iffy to cook biscuits with..sometimes it works...sometimes it doesn't. I use it for breading and in sauces pretty much. You have to be willing to work with it. I use it in place of bisquick to make Impossible cheese burger pie, use biskquick recipe but I double the about of Carbquik, makes a great almost there burger pie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 27, 2012
Reviewer: Serena in Georgia
Love this product! It is the best of both worlds. I can have my pancakes and eat them too! I have also used it to make blueberry muffins. They turned out great. They don't puff up quite as much as they would using other baking mixes. But that did not affect the taste at all.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 29, 2012
Reviewer: randal in Minnesota
This is a very good product to help those coping with diabetes. I bought it specifically for making pancakes. While it did taste a little bland, by using 1/3 bisquick in the mix it perked up the taste and kept the carbs down. It's a winner for me whenever I crave pancakes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 01, 2011
Reviewer: Sandra in South Carolina
i have enjoyed adding carbquick to my low carb diet. It has added so much variety to our meals . Even my husband has enjoyed most of the recipes I've used it in. I'm having lot's of fun experimenting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 04, 2010
Reviewer: Alice in Alabama
Made the pancakes according to package directions and they were too soft, mushy and pretty tasteless. Tweaked the recipe as follows: added no milk or water to the Carbquick mix, but added 2 eggs and 1/4 cup olive oil per cup of mix. Also mixed in cooked sausage (if wanting savory pancake) or blueberries (if wanting sweet.) Very nice and very filling.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 30, 2010
Reviewer: Teresa in Texas
I love biscuits, pancakes, pot pie, and cookies. Being on a low carb diet I thought those days were long gone. Guess what!!! I can have my cake and eat it too!!! I have tried all those recipes and more with the CarbQuick mix. Our favorites are the cheddar biscuits, biscuits and gravy, and the Chicken Parmesan is to die for. The chocolate chip cookies are a good fix when you are desperate for something sweet. I have got to say I am amazed that we can eat what we want and have a way to do it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 15, 2010
Reviewer: Johnny in Florida
I've used this to make biscuits and waffles. No complaints. It is a little pricey but nice to be able to have low carb options for foods you enjoy. I find when making waffles that I don't get as many servings as listed so be prepared to add a little to the net carbs per serving. I'd give it a 5 if it were a little cheaper.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 13, 2010
Reviewer: Melinda in Mississippi
Little salty in some dishes but over all great!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 06, 2010
Reviewer: Cameron in New York
Some of the recipes are better than others. Most recipes don't make as much as stated,
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 13, 2010
Reviewer: Karen in California
I really liked this bake mix. Compared with the Atkins Bake Mix (I tried a few years ago), Carbquik has a much better flavor and is more versatile. I read TONS of online reviews first and went to the Low Carb Discussion by following Netrition's link...very helpful with many Carbquik recipes! Knowing in advance what to "tweak" when first using this mix was a great thing.

My husband couldn't believe the drop biscuits I made as my first experiment!! I am now re-ordering Carbquik, and am about to try the wonderful sounding Carbolose Flour.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
February 05, 2010
Reviewer: Nancy B in Utah
I have used this product for several years but mainly for biscuits. I haven't had much luck with the "Simple Drop Biscuits" rising but the "Cheddar Cheese Biscuits" recipe always rises well. The dumplings were a disaster. I have substituted Carbquik directly for Bisquick in several recipes with good results.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 23, 2010
Reviewer: Linda in Maryland
Really bakes very much like Bisquick. Dough rises quite a bit. It is not exactly the same taste, but close. Very good and useful product.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 09, 2009
Reviewer: sandra in New Hampshire
This is an excellent product if you are really serious about getting variety in your low carb regime. I would rate this product a five but I find that the directions are a little off, you need to play with this, add and tweak here and there but if you are used to baking from scratch and can figure out by adding ingredients slowly to get the consistency of regular baking mixes you will have a great time with this. I have also found recipes using this product at carbquik sites.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 30, 2009
Reviewer: Christy in Missouri
Great product. I used it to make Betty Crockers snicker noodle cookies with powder erythritol sugar sub and everyone loved them. I use Carbquik for all of my baking now. I use a lot of Jiffy mix recipes with Carbquik and they turn out great. I use it with chocolate cookie and cake recipes and they turned out really good. Love it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 28, 2009
Reviewer: Debra in Mississippi
Our favorite recipe using Carbquik is waffles. I found it necessary to adapt the recipe on the box a little bit. The recipe needed more liquid, so I increase the 1/4 c. heavy cream to 1/2 c. I also added 1/2 t. baking powder and a pinch of salt. I use 1/4 c. Splenda granules. To make the waffles a little more "hearty" (and to add more fiber) I grind up 2 T. of flax seed and add it to the batter. This makes two whole waffles. We have blueberry bushes, so our favorite accompaniment is blueberry syrup. For two waffles, I mix 2 c. blueberries with 1/3 c. sugar free (0 carb) syrup (we like Log Cabin) and simmer while I'm preparing the waffles. I also use Carbquik as a breading for fried foods, it fries up very crisp.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 17, 2009
Reviewer: Rosilyn in New York
I haven't tried a lot of recipes with CarbQuik yet, but the biscuits were fine. Like Bisquik biscuits, they were more the powdery kind than the elastic ones that come in cans. I also made shortcake using the recipe on the Bisquik box, substituting Carbquik and using Splenda instead of sugar. That worked very well, and with fresh raspberries and real whipped cream sweetened with Splenda, made a terrific treat. I will write another review when I have experimented some more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 15, 2009
Reviewer: Lynette in Florida
Our favorite way of using this mix is to bread pork chops and for fried chicken. The pizza crust was not that great but the chicken pot pie was OK. It is best for breading for frying for us because it has a strong baking powder or soda taste.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 27, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
Had problems with the pancakes, but makes great waffles!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 19, 2009
Reviewer: Richard in New Jersey
Figured I would get another strange tasting mix, but was greatly surprised at the good taste of this mix. I tried the muffins, pancakes & biscuits. All light & flavorful. I don't eat a lot, but it is nice to know that I can have some more choices for breakfast. Just as good as Bisquik.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 09, 2009
Reviewer: Kimberly in Maryland
I love it! I have read reviews elsewhere that their recipes turned out salty. I'm guessing it's b/c there is salt and baking soda already in the mix, maybe try leaving the extras out. Anyway I have made pancakes twice and they were delicious with SF syrup.

I love low carbing but was disappointed in thinking I might never have bread or baked goods again, but with this I can without the guilt or added carbs. Can't wait to try other recipes.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 08, 2009
Reviewer: Jason in District of Columbia
Not as good as the other "quik" but pretty tasty! We go through a box quickly in our home.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 03, 2009
Reviewer: Deb in Illinois
Compared to other low carb substitutes, this is the best product I have tried. It is a bit too pricey.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 25, 2008
Reviewer: Dana in Virginia
Ok this stuff has an odd taste - however I make the "microwave cookie" listed on the site as a treat and it makes my day and curbs cravings. I use it as a coating as well on meats when I make my own shake and bake.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 16, 2008
Reviewer: Suzan in Connecticut
My only complaint is that it is sweetened, which I don't care for. Otherwise a good replacement for flour.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 22, 2008
Reviewer: Heather in Oklahoma
I was pleased and surprised by the taste and performance of this product. I have already ordered 2 of the 5lb bags. I really enjoyed the cheese biscuit recipe and it was wonderful used as a breading.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 21, 2008
Reviewer: diane in New Jersey
We loved the Carbquick biscuit mix. We stick to a VERY low carb diet so the biscuits were a real treat.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 07, 2008
Reviewer: Theresa in Washington
After all the other low carb bake mix failures, this one seems to be here to stay. My only gripe is that it is too salty. So taste before you salt, and use only unsalted butter. I made great shortcakes for berries with it, and the cheese biscuits are good as well. I have served these to non-dieters.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 28, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in Texas
I've purchased this a few times and I think it's worth buying but sometimes I have different outcomes while making a recipe more than once. One time it tastes really good and then other times you can taste the "Carbquik" flavor.

I know some people swear by this product. I always buy the big bag and find some way to use it.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 05, 2008
Reviewer: Stephanie in Washington
I was doubtful, but desperate so I tried it. The box doesn't go very far but it was so wonderful to have good pizza crust and even biscuits and gravy. Finally a low-carb bread product without that soy aftertaste!
This review is specific to Carbquik Bake Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 01, 2008
Reviewer: Natalie in California
Made great fried chicken! Next I am going to try the pancakes....
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 25, 2008
Reviewer: Rosalie in Georgia
This product is a God sent. Easy to use, there is a little getting used to the taste, a little like clay, but worth it. Thanks
This review is specific to Carbquik Bake Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 24, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in Minnesota
I think this stuff is as close to the real thing as you can get. The results are a little airy and fluffy but if it means I can have waffles, hey, I'm there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 11, 2007
Reviewer: Dawn in Minnesota
Very good baking mix. Easy to use, great to take camping because you can make pancakes and biscuits by just adding water. Back of the 1 lb box and the companies website offers many wonderful recipes for using Carbquik, I'd recommend taking a look. I've found that adding a 1/2 tsp of fresh baking powder helps make muffins raise better, but works ok without too. If you have leftover biscuits, try cutting them in 1/2 to fit your toaster and making a toasted sandwich with them.
This review is specific to Carbquik Bake Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 26, 2007
Reviewer: Jennifer in Michigan
Very good for low-carb! I didn't care for the pancakes I made or the drop biscuits, but I use it in place of flour in many baked goods and it turns out quite well, although the texture can tend to be very crumbly. You will find white flakes present in this mix. I'm not sure what they are, but they don't affect the flavor in any way.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 24, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in California
It won't fool anyone who's used to similar full carb products, but once I heard about the low carb microwave sponge bread recipe, I'll never be without it, I make the bread several times a week!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 04, 2007
Reviewer: Barbara Ann in California
Made peanut butter cookies, turned out good but will use 1/2 macadamia butter and 1/2 peanut butter next time. Made some cinnamon pecan rolls that turned out very good. Next time I shall make a cream cheese 'frosting' for them. So far I bought a box and then a 5 lb. Bag. Now I am buying the Carbalose flour to play with.
This review is specific to Carbquik Bake Mix
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

< Previous     |  1 2  |     Next >

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.99 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement