Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 27, 2010
    Reviewer: Donna in North Carolina
    * Use this for my flax meal buns--loads of fiber, very filling & sturdy little buns. RECIPE Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare 2 muffin top pans with oil and lethicin. Beat together: 5 jumbo eggs, 1/2 c water, 1/4 c olive oil. In another bowl, mix: 1-3/4 c golden flax meal, 3 T oat bran, 3 T almond meal, 1 T non-aluminum baking powder, 1 T xylitol, 1/2 t sea salt. Combine two mixtures, then divide into twelve muffin top wells. Bake 14-15 minutes. Remove and cool completely. These are the BOMB--even my girlfriends at work (who eschew low carb) like these.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 26, 2007
    Reviewer: Sheryl in Oregon
    * Excellent product, I mix some with my Provision 6 Chocolate whey for my before bed meal....a little water and freeze for a superb "fudgesicle". Sometimes I add a little Cool Whip Free. I also add it to my whey shakes, it really smooths them out, also in my oatmeal. I plan on using it in our body building meal routines, great find!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 08, 2014
    Reviewer: Adam in California
    * For those looking for the actual serving size: it is 3.1g/serving, NOT 5.2g/sv. This I verified from the extremely helpful Tova corporate office who verified with their lab the true macros. The carbs are 3g/serving. So for every gram of oat fiber 500 you're getting about~1g of carbs. You can do the whole net carbs thing but to be honest, the calories are real, the body does use it as energy. So it's about 3*4=12 calories/serving.

    Otherwise you have here a terrific product. What I do is replace flour in my pizza dough recipe with oat fiber, combine with wheat protein isolate, and smooth out on a cookie sheet with a spatula. Just pat out your batter and it'll cover a lot of surface area. Put it in the oven on a lower rack at 450 for a few minutes to dehydrate the water and you're left with a nice Cakey crust. It works quite well! Overall 5 stars-does exactly what it's supposed to do and does so well. I Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 21, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in North Carolina
    * I love this stuff! I use it in all of my recipes calling for flour. I just substitute half with the oat fiber and half with a nut flour or flax meal and it turns out great! Just remember to add a little more liquid to your recipes when using the oat fiber.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 07, 2010
    Reviewer: amy in California
    * Amazing! The consistency of this is just like flour. Bakes up the same. I made a cake using this and protein powder, egg whites and stevia and it came out just like cake - no carbs.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 22, 2015
    Reviewer: Debbie in Louisiana
    * I used this as a coating for frying chicken. Added salt pepper and garlic powder to the chicken directly, put the oat fiber in a ziplock bag, and shook the chicken to coat. Fried it in some grape-seed oil til browned. I've tried several different coatings for fried meats, this is the absolute best! Glad I ordered 2 bags and can't wait to try it in other recipes!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 12, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in Maryland
    * Well, hello. This is the nicest tasting faux flour I've ever stumbled across. It has a nicer taste than either Wheat Protein Isolate or Resistant Wheat Starch. I just made a microwave cake with it, combining it with glucomannan powder (which does not taste fishy and gross like the shirataki noodles) and my cake had the best starchy mouth feel of anything I've baked in almost 10 years of low carb eating.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 05, 2010
    Reviewer: julia in Oklahoma
    * I love this product along with Wheat Protein Isolate 5000 and 8000. It is a great flour substitute.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 19, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Pennsylvania
    * I originally ordered this to use in baking, and it does help with flavor mixed in with other low carb flours. You have to be careful not to add too much or your baked goods will be soggy in the middle. What I have found this works great for is low carb hot cereal. I really missed oatmeal and even oat bran has too many carbs for me. I don't like the flavor of most of the packaged low carb hot cereals so I make my own. I mix it with flax seed meal and ground almonds and it just takes a couple minutes to thicken up with water on the stove top - or if you're at work you can just add hot water and stir it until it thickens. I like to add Capella banana flavor drops too - makes a nice quick hot breakfast.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 20, 2012
    Reviewer: Cathy in Washington
    * This is a very high quality product. I've found it to be very useful in baking low-carb recipes. You can replace up to 1/4 of the flour in a recipe with oat fiber and it will make baked goods fluffier than those baked using only nut flours. It is drying, however, so you may need to adjust your recipe some.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 19, 2011
    Reviewer: Pat in Virginia
    * Oat Fiber is the greatest find! I use it to replace flour, flax seed meal, almond meal. Combined with glucomannan powder, it produces the most filling and tasty muffins and bread! I use it for OMM all the time. Zero calories and fiber? How can you miss?
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 30, 2010
    Reviewer: Barbara J in Florida
    * I LOVE this product! It looks exactly like regular high carb flour. I use it in combination with other low carb flours for baking.

    Substitute some of it for flax meal in a recipe for a better texture and taste than flax meal alone. Yum.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 08, 2009
    Reviewer: Zee in Illinois
    * Fantastic ~!Tastes great and mixes with all baking products well ! Great Low price for FIBER!!!BEST !!! Even tastes great with stevia and cinnamon - mixed - for High fiber Drink!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 08, 2008
    Reviewer: Mr. & Mrs. in Illinois
    * Oat Fiber 500 is a Good "fiber." Oat Fiber 500 (made by LifeSource Foods) from Netrition is good, & it's much better than other brands of oat fiber I've tried from other websites. I stir one to two tablespoons of Oat Fiber 500 in a big glass of water & Stevia & a healthy brand of liquid vanilla flavor (alcohol-free) (SweetLeaf and Frontier are good brands of vanilla). Oat Fiber 500, and Stevia, and vanilla flavor can all be ordered here at Netrition all on one order. The oat fiber I tried from somewhere else was just Not drinkable when I put it in my mixture. This Oat Fiber 500 (from LifeSource Foods) is my very favorite oat fiber. This mixture is very bland; however, it is something that I can do, it is drinkable although bland, and it is a good "fiber." This mixture really does not interfere with my diet while being a good "nutritional fiber. I like the soothing feeling to my stomach sometimes. (This mixture also has eased a fussy, 'acidic' stomach for me.) I haven't cooked much with Oat Fiber 500 yet. When I tried to cook it in with my scrambled egg whites, it just would not get cooked enough. I like my scrambled eggs to be very cooked and Not still moist. (Corn bran or a low carb substitute for flour is better in the scrambled egg whites.) Oat Fiber 500 seems to stay good for a longer while than I've ever kept any around. I keep Oat Fiber 500 (from LifeSource Foods) in the kitchen, & I do keep ordering more.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 31, 2008
    Reviewer: Kelly in Massachusetts
    * I love this stuff! It is the cheapest & easiest way to add fiber to your diet. I add it to everything from my protein shakes to my protein muffins. It adds lots of fiber without the calories. Because it absorbs so much moisture it results in bigger muffins for the same calories. I don't think I could live without it now! A must have for anyone watching their weight or trying to incorporate more fiber into their diet!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 February 27, 2015
    Reviewer: SYLVIA in California
    * This is a wonderful product! Its a great, low calorie and low carb way to add extra fiber to your diet and bulk to your baked goods (a great flour substitute). You can find several great recipes online and in these reviews, so I won't bother repeating those. it is very economical. the only downfall is too much of it causes quite a bit of malodorous gas.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 10, 2016
    Reviewer: Darrin in Pennsylvania
    * Great as a thickener. 0 carbs, neutral flavor so add it to anything. Didn't try it in gravy, but is good in smoothies.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 16, 2016
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * When I ordered this brand and used it for the first time, I legitimately thought I had gotten cake flour by mistake and was trying to figure out whether there was some switch-up with my order. The texture is much more forgiving than the NuNaturals oat fiber and even is easier on the stomach. It is an amazing bulking ingredient, and if I combine it with glucomannan or vital wheat gluten, I can entirely replace flour with this versatile, 0-calorie substitute. Just be sure to drink a lot of water with it!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2016
    Reviewer: Melanie in Michigan
    * This is the best Oat fiber out there.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 07, 2015
    Reviewer: Kelly in California
    * When I first tasted the product out of the bag it didn't taste very sweet. At first glance it is powder but when I used it to make ice cream it clumped together and became crystallized like sugar but it was sweet like sugar! I made the best low carb ice cream with heavy whipping cream, lorAnn Oil chocolate flavoring, one crushed up sugar free dark chocolate square and this sugar (I probably added 2 tablespoons to 1 cup). I would suggest melting the sugar in warm water a little at a time so it doesn't clump together. I made in a plastic bag ice/salt method. Tons of recipes on line. So I would recommend this sugar, I am excited to try more recipes with it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 07, 2014
    Reviewer: Sherry in North Carolina
    * Great product, having not cooked w/ oat fiber until just recently, I'm amazed at the texture it helps to give low carb items. Reasonably priced and a great source of fiber.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 08, 2014
    Reviewer: Aerin in Washington
    * This really is a wonderful and integral part of the flour mix I use for low carb baking. It seems to help things to hold together without changing tastes or adding carbs.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 06, 2014
    Reviewer: Tanya in Missouri
    * This is some of the best stuff ever. I have just started using it and I love it! Definitely will be purchasing more!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 11, 2013
    Reviewer: Mary in New Jersey
    * I love the Oat Fiber 500. I use it in my flax wraps and pancakes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 06, 2013
    Reviewer: Kelly in Massachusetts
    * LOVE THIS STUFF! I add this to everything I bake to boost the fiber content. Just be sure to increase the liquid as well. I don't recommend adding this to nonbaked items like protein shakes - it's pretty nasty that way. It will give it the aftertaste of cardboard. Other than that, awesome product and cheap! I always have a bag on hand.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 15, 2012
    Reviewer: John in Texas
    * Really like this fiber. I add one tablespoon to my oatmeal and I add a tablespoon along with my whey protein when I go get fat free frozen yogurts. Doesn't really change the taste for that amount and doesn't really change the thickness all that much like psyllium does. I prefer Oat Fiber over ALL other soluble fiber powders. This is my second order and I purchased four bags.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 20, 2012
    Reviewer: June in Alabama
    * This Oat Fiber is priced fair. It is also very light and wonderful in baking low carb products. Very light. Only thing I need to consider is how much liquid to use regularly. LOVE THIS PRODUCT.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 24, 2012
    Reviewer: Monique in Virginia
    * Great stuff. Really helps my low carb baked goods!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 19, 2012
    Reviewer: Mary in Ohio
    * Wonderful product--very satisfied with baking results. It does absorb a lot of liquid so add a little bit more to recipe. Tried using it as a shake thickener but tasted too much like raw flour so I only use it cooked. Going to try it as a cooked sauce thickener; should work well.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 12, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Maine
    * I use this product to add to different kinds of flours and grains to make whole grain bread and it effectively helps lower the carb count. This is a great product and will be buying more. a Happy Customer in Maine
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 01, 2009
    Reviewer: Alanna in California
    * I LOVE this product. It is a wonderful way to make low-calorie bread products at home. I use it to replace some (or in some cases, all) of the flour in my recipes. On top of that it can be added effortlessly to things like smoothies and oatmeal, yogurt, etc.. as a way to boost the fiber.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 February 22, 2015
    Reviewer: Jessica in Ohio
    * Why the low review? Because it was not good for what I wanted it for. They say use it like flour.. only I use flour in my gravy as a thickener. It doesn't thicken. May be great for other uses I will experiment, I just can't give it a good review based on my reason for buying it originally.

    Did not affect taste of gravy - so so it does get procs for that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.