Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 May 23, 2014
    Reviewer: Joy in New York
    * First of all, my main reason for giving a "3" is because although some of the mixes are good, the statements on the product are deceptive/incorrect. My husband is borderline diabetic, so I have been cooking low carb for him. However, we do not eat artificial sweeteners. The online description for these muffins says "ALL NATURAL, NO ARTIFICIAL INGREDIENTS" (BIG reason I bought them!) and the actual package says "NO ARTIFICIAL INGREDIENTS"...yet after making a batch of the carrot muffins, I noticed a horrid smell from them (I have severe chemical sensitivity). I tore off a small piece to try it and was overwhelmed by the horrible taste! Even my husband, who eats anything, thought they were awful and had a BAD taste. He hurried to rinse his mouth out, and I ended up getting ill from the chemicals. Well, I read the ingredients and there it is...SUCRALOSE, aka Splenda. In no way is sucralose NATURAL. It's a lab made chemical,and therefore ARTIFICIAL, so how can they claim no artificial ingredients??? I will now read each and every package before buying...I had only read the first two bags before ordering and they had NO sucralose. On to our reviews of flavors:

    All of the muffins ARE bland and have little sweetness and are lacking much flavor (just hints), but he likes them as a change up from the usual eggs & meat.

    Bannana Nut: So far his favorite and mine. Not much banana flavor, but still good. In the future, I may add a 1/4 of a banana and small amount of additional nuts to offset additional sugar.

    Blueberry Creme: Again, no blueberry flavor or much sweetness...like barely sweetened cake. Will add a handful of blueberries in the future.

    Cinnamon Streusel: Barely sweet & bland. Will add more cinnamon (good for diabetes) and maybe some other spices (nutmeg, ginger), pecans and maybe a little chopped apple.

    Carrot: See First part of review. JUST AWFUL & INEDIBLE.

    In summary, these are pretty good muffins in general, especially if you can "doctor" them up per your taste & allowances.

    *****The company (if they read this) needs to change their wording on here and some packages. Sucralose is NOT NATURAL...it is a lab created, artificial sweetener. These false statements ended up costing us wasted money and gave me a rough few of hours recovery.*****

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 August 06, 2014
    Reviewer: Karen in Washington
    * Hmmm, there is a slight corn taste...which probably comes from the corn. Go Figure! But, you need to add a helluva lot more oil or something to make it moist. I followed the instructions to the letter and it was like eating dry grits! I suppose it has some potential, but it will take a lot of doctoring. A LOT! For you bakers, it's a good challenge. The flavor isn't bad...it's just so dryyyyyy. Just thinking about it makes me want a big glass of water.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Corn
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 March 11, 2013
    Reviewer: Jessica in New York
    * The taste of this mix (Golden Vanilla Almond) is really good because the vanilla is just right. The texture was spongy, like a dish sponge that's been in the water. The appearance was...shiny. Be sure to actually follow the directions and grease your muffin pan; I used papers and a lot of the muffin came off when I peeled the paper. On the other hand, I might have lost at least half a carb per serving that way.

    It's a great treat if you judge it on its own merits. Just remember this isn't a Starbucks or bakery muffin, and you won't be disappointed.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix Select, Golden Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 October 25, 2014
    Reviewer: A customer in Maryland
    * The corn muffins were only fair; some of the other flavor are much better. I thought the texture was good, but the flavor fell flat. I only used 1/3 of the mix (which made 5 muffins). Next time I might add a little sweetener to see if it kicks up the flavor.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Corn
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 December 21, 2012
    Reviewer: Allene in Pennsylvania
    * The muffins taste like air - a little too light for me. I do like something heartier. But the taste is okay and I mix in slivered almonds to give the muffins some substance. I buy them for three reasons 1) they are low-carb; 2) they are fast to make; 3) I can grab two for breakfast and it is a nice break from eggs.

    If you like a very light muffin, these are fine. If you like something with more substance, these are not for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 July 25, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in Florida
    * I tried the banana nut muffin mix. I had no sour cream, so I used some cottage cheese. It came out bland tasting, maybe it was the cottage cheese?

    So I improvised and cut up little 2-3" banana nut squares that were in the fridge and cool, dipped them in room temp. coconut oil, then pressed the squares in flaked coconut, then put a slice of banana on the square which gave it the moistness it was missing, then drizzled it with the Madhava Hazelnut Agave Nectar...yumarino! The hazelnut nectar is wicked good. This is a pretty good combo, give it a try.

    I gave the muffin mix a 3, because of the bland taste, but maybe it would have been 4-5 if I used the sour cream? But adding the above ingredients kicked it up to a 5 for me.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 July 25, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in Florida
    * I tried the banana nut muffin mix. I had no sour cream, so I used some cottage cheese. It came out bland tasting, maybe it was the cottage cheese?

    So I improvised and cut up little 2-3" banana nut squares that were in the fridge and cool, dipped them in room temp. coconut oil, then pressed the squares in flaked coconut, then put a slice of banana on the square which gave it the moistness it was missing, then drizzled it with the Madhava Hazelnut Agave Nectar...yumarino! The hazelnut nectar is wicked good. This is a pretty good combo, give it a try.

    I gave the muffin mix a 3, because of the bland taste, but maybe it would have been 4-5 if I used the sour cream? But adding the above ingredients kicked it up to a 5 for me.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Banana Nut
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 April 19, 2011
    Reviewer: Kathy A in Connecticut
    * I would only rate this product if you cannot follow a recipe to make your own. Tried the banana & the cran/orange and OK but nothing I would chose to eat again. I have a standard sweet muffin recipe that I make with the carbalose flour & artificial sweeteners and I add whatever add-ins I want for flavor. So much tastier & inexpensive.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Cranberry Orange
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 August 05, 2010
    Reviewer: Carrie in North Carolina
    * These muffins baked up nice with a great moist texture and a fabulous smell but to me they had a weird taste to them that I can't place other than to say it tasted a bit like dish soap. I really do not like coconut though and these have nice big coconut flakes and so that could be what I am tasting and it's just my dislike for it that is tainting my opinion! I am going to try another flavor next time based on the great moistness and texture. I topped these with cream cheese frosting and it did make it so I could eat them.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 April 28, 2010
    Reviewer: jenni in Texas
    * These are okay. A bit salty so if you want to use butter, I would suggest using unsalted butter.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 March 18, 2009
    Reviewer: Nicole in New Jersey
    * Well...the mix did produce muffins...and the texture wasn't a big problem, but the coconut taste was VERY strong in the carrot muffins (and I added fresh carrot and nuts to my batch).

    It was almost overwhelming.

    I'm trying two other flavors that don't have coconut in them and I'll see how that works out...

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 March 13, 2009
    Reviewer: Benita in Arizona
    * I have only tried the cranberry orange, apple cinnamon, banana nut, and blueberry cream. They were each good in their own right. The only thing I would change is that they were a little more moist, but that is typical of low carb baked items.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 September 08, 2008
    Reviewer: Natalie in Virgin Islands
    * Made the blueberry cream muffins and were just so-so. There was almost no taste. Couldn't get my 7 year old to eat them. They are okay if you are desperate for a muffin like something.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Blueberry Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 January 20, 2008
    Reviewer: Jeannine in Wisconsin
    * I had high hopes for this - my first try for a mix - after reading so many reviews. But the 3 of us here who are LCing can't recommend these. I thought they were WAY too strong of coconut(which I like) & I see it's the first ingredient! My husband said "too sweet", and my daughter said "too much nutmeg flavor" (& I agree). Maybe there's another flavor that we'd like better...?
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 December 21, 2007
    Reviewer: Brian in Oregon
    * Not bad, but hardly delicious. It's nice to be able to find anything like this that is low carb, and they offer a nice variety of flavors. But honestly they don't taste very good. At least the coconut ones have a really bitter aftertaste. It's the only flavor I've tried.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Coconut Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 August 21, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Colorado
    * I have to disagree with most of the reviews. I made the muffins and could hardly eat them. They had a artificial sweetener taste that was hard for me to get over. I would not buy again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 July 30, 2007
    Reviewer: Tricia in California
    * For 1 net carb it wasn't bad. It curbed the craving for something baked. The texture was bit off very spongy not fluffy. I would still buy it again though.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Classic Carrot
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 July 05, 2007
    Reviewer: Dean in New York
    * I was really disappointed with the corn muffins. They didn't really taste like corn muffins and lacked any type of flavor. They are low carb so I knew they wouldn't be as good as the real thing but these didn't even come close to a regular corn muffin. I have a few other types that I am eager to try based on reviews but I have to give the corn muffin mix the thumbs down!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Corn
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 June 08, 2007
    Reviewer: Kristine in California
    * These are not bad, I used to make muffins with a product called Hennmann's (I believe that was the brand) that were delicious but I can no longer find that brand. These are "cakelike" rather than "muffinlike".
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Cranberry Orange
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 May 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Gladys in North Carolina
    * I did not like the Muffin Mix. It has no flavor to them. I think I could add something to help them out. They may taste better.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Muffin Mix, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.