Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie Diner
Carb Counters Instant Mashers

 
Write an online review for
Carb Counters Instant Mashers (Dixie Diner)

136 Reviews
Average rating
(82)
(20)
(4)
(3)
(27)

Customer Reviews  
< Previous     |  1 2 3  |     Next >

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful.
December 20, 2006
Reviewer: Marguerite in Pennsylvania
OH... MY... GOODNESS. No words. This product is THAT good. Almost exactly like the real thing, even without any doctoring at all. Or for an extra boost, try adding mashed cauliflower. Even my husband couldn't tell the difference! Word of warning, though: do not prepare this product in the microwave, despite what the package says. It seems to change the flavor, so follow the stove-top directions instead.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful.
September 30, 2006
Reviewer: Darlene in Virginia
Although these don't have a strong potato flavor, I found the Classic flavor light and delicious. The texture was good and they made great potato patties. Best of all, the effect on my BGL was so minimal, I ate an entire pouch (there are 2 in a package) in one sitting and stayed under 100.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
August 20, 2007
Reviewer: syreeta in Ohio
I loved this product. It was just like regular mashed potatoes. I ate this on induction and had no gains... I actually lost 4 pounds after I had been stalled for about a week. I added crushed garlic and cheddar cheese to add more flavor to this dish. Make sure you eat as soon as you finish cooking. They cook up quick and taste great with just butter. The texture is smooth. It can be gritty if you don't mix it well. Also, don't forget to add the heavy whipped cream it goes to help with the texture. This has been a saving grace on Atkins.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
June 07, 2007
Reviewer: debra in Wisconsin
I have lost over 100# and am an advocate of the low carb diet. I have maintained weight loss easily for apprx 10 yrs. by watching carbs. These mashed potatoes don't taste like mom's homemade BUT if you are on a low carb diet and crave mashed pots, these are addicting!!!! I love the original flavor but find I need to add a little water.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
January 08, 2007
Reviewer: Lee in Arizona
Delicious. After going without mashed potatoes for 4 years, this was a real treat. I added butter and sour cream, just as I used to do with regular mashed potatoes - yum!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
May 10, 2013
Reviewer: Jennifer in Texas
I am a Type 1 diabetic and I take very good care of myself. For those of you that are diabetic or anyone watching their carb intake, take note of Dixie Diner! Their products are some of the ONLY ones I can eat without seeing a rise in my blood sugars. (I do try to avoid any sugar substitutes other than Stevia and a few of theirs use sucralose so check the nutrition facts before ordering) However, these are AMAZING! I will say that you need more water for a creamy consistency (calls for 1 cup; I use 1 3/4c to 2 cups), otherwise they are a bit chalky. But as a healthy option (add a little Smart Balance and fat free sour cream) this is truly one of a kind!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
April 17, 2012
Reviewer: Barbara in Texas
So happy we tried this product. We miss mashed potatoes so much, but not so much now! I use a cup and half of cauliflower hot from the micro & into the food processor, add some butter or cream cheese with cream and hot H2O from the cauliflower water, process it with spices in the food processor and make it as creamy or thick as I like. Reheats easy and you can make mock potato pancakes with the leftovers by adding egg, cream and flour sub. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
May 15, 2009
Reviewer: Annamarie in Tennessee
WOW! What a surprise!!! I AM the biggest non-believer in the world so you can take this review to the "bank". My husband and I have been trying to get back into shape and have been on the low carb track. I have used this method far ahead of Dr. Atkins and such. I'm 65 and I did this with great success when I was a teenager actually. I called it my "no white stuff" diet. I'm just one of those types that do better on protein I guess. However, our daughter is haunted by the desire for carbs. (she has been diagnosed as Pre-diabetic) I have been trying to find meals that would be enjoyable for all three of us. Enter the Instant Mashers! We all three really liked the flavor and look of this product. The taste is unbelievably "potato". The only non-plus is there is a little "graininess" texture after taste/feel in your mouth. I made them too early before serving so they were already a little dry. I can add a little more H2* next time and that may take care of the after taste texture but I have to say this product is just amazing! I ordered the Classic Flavor 5.9 oz. only just to give it a try, thinking the plain had to be the best test as all the other flavored choices had to be a step up. (I figured I could use my own cheese or sour cream etc.) If you have a little carb craver at your table, don't say a word and serve these. I'm guessing had we not know these were "fake" we would have just thought they were a little dry! A Cannon, TN
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
January 07, 2009
Reviewer: Rolf in Virginia
On its own, not so good, could not eat it...BUT... used with one mashed, whole cauliflower(including leaves and all), and mixed together, it's the best thing ever. Use one pouch per one medium sized cauliflower. If head is very large,use less of the head or use two pouches. The perfect low carb mashed "potatoes".
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 17, 2014
Reviewer: Carla in Maryland
Great taste! My family didn't even know it was low carb!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 14, 2014
Reviewer: Jeanette in Illinois
I eat these regularly and can't recommend them enough for low carb dieters! They are as close to mashed potatoes as you can get and the flavor is pretty close...just the consistency is a little off and more like instant mashed potatoes. I add butter, salt, chicken chunks and cheese and it's just like a KFC bowl. It's products like these that make a low carb diet possible to maintain long term. Forget the negative reviews and try it. I am very fussy and I LOVE this product!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 12, 2013
Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
Yum! These are great! I boiled 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk in a pot and then added 1/2 cup of the mashers and seasoned with pepper. Sound weird? It was delicious! Butter and cream is unhealthy and I do not allow it in my healthy lifestyle, therefore I can't review based on their recommended cooking technique. But if you want to be even healthier and still low carb then try using unsweetened almond milk. I'm going to add nutritional yeast next time. Mmmmm can't wait! You could add Mrs Dash seasonings too. You can keep the calories low without sacrificing the taste and your health.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 08, 2013
Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
These are good when you need a potato fix. I mix in some chives to step it up a bit, I am having them for Thanksgiving with the Dixie Diner stuffing mix. Yum
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 22, 2013
Reviewer: Melissa in Florida
We have tried all flavors except for the classic and they are great! They are perfect for meals that just cry out for mashed potatoes and very convenient.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 23, 2013
Reviewer: Bryan in Connecticut
Close enough to the taste of mashed potatoes. The flavored ones are better.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 11, 2013
Reviewer: Deidre in Texas
I have been very pleased with this product. I have prepared it according to the directions, and it was good; but I usually add a couple of tablespoons to my cauliflower when making fauxtatoes. The Instant Mashers improved the texture immensely.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 09, 2012
Reviewer: Marilyn in Ohio
We love these, especially the Classic, because you can naturally flavor them any way you want. We had roasted garlic this week. Bake a whole clove of garlic in foil till soft and snip off tops and squeeze soft garlic in the potatoes. I also added sour cream. Fantastic! You can also add cheese, chives, crumbled bacon, use your imagination. Didn't really care for the flavored ones as much. Also leftovers are great fried the next morning for breakfast.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 15, 2011
Reviewer: Mary in Wisconsin
At first they seemed a bit dry, but once I added a little bit of heavy cream at the end they were perfect. To me, they taste awesome for fake potatoes. I would gladly serve these as a side dish for any meal.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 04, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in Texas
I love mashers! Me and the hubby use mashers as a side dish or even to make Shepherds pie. This is the best low carb product ever!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 30, 2011
Reviewer: Michele in Vermont
With the low carb diet, what I miss most is mashed potatoes. I was thrilled to find these and they are really tasty. Easy to make too. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 22, 2010
Reviewer: Paul in Colorado
The cheese-bacon version is tasty enough to be used in place of either rice or pasta when looking for something to accompany your roast chicken or turkey. The consistency is very potato-like and, like real potatoes, benefits from a tad of butter on top.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 02, 2010
Reviewer: Chris in Missouri
These Instant Mashers are SO good. My husband is diabetic and I cook low-carb for him. We have eliminated potatoes as they are so high in carbs. These Instant Mashers are the best substitute we have EVER found. They are so good and truly do fulfill his cravings for potatoes without sacrificing his diet. By using them it has helped lower my husband's blood sugar and we keep it in check with low-carb eating. Thank you ~ thank you.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 12, 2010
Reviewer: Kathy in Florida
I love these mashers! My husband even likes them... He doesn't like anything that tastes fake or chemically... He loves mashed potatoes and I thought he might not go for these, even though I thought they were really good... He loves them too! We do add some butter and black pepper... I've only tried the classic flavor.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 14, 2010
Reviewer: Judy in Florida
This truly tastes like real potatoes and on a low carb diet, I miss eating the real potatoes. I served it when I had company over, not telling them it was not real and they didn't know the difference especially when you put butter on the top when serving. Love it!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 01, 2010
Reviewer: Linda in Washington
This is an excellent side dish. The perfect substitution for real mashed potatoes. I substitute chicken broth for the water and add a dollop of sour cream. So good!!!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 22, 2010
Reviewer: Candice in Florida
This product tastes just like mashed potatoes but without all the carbs. Had it with meatloaf and low carb gravy the other night and enjoyed it so much! I am hooked!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 29, 2010
Reviewer: Suzanne in California
I do like these mashers but I chop up and roast cauliflower with just a bit of olive oil and then put it in the Cuisinart for southbeach mashers. I then add the prepared instant mashers and a little bit of cheese and cream and let it go. It makes a delicious mashed potato mixed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 02, 2010
Reviewer: Lisa in Massachusetts
I made these with the suggested prep method of using chicken broth instead of plain water. They were really good. Definitely would not be confused for my mom's mashed potatoes by any means, but they taste better than the typical instant mashed potatoes!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 25, 2010
Reviewer: Linda in Rhode Island
Pleasantly surprised! While they are not a homemade mashed potato by any means, they stack up very well to boxed mashed potatoes. I add these to mashed cauliflower for taste, and consistency.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 12, 2010
Reviewer: Maudine in Arkansas
I have had these two times and am ordering more. Second time I made them I added a little more butter, and put low carb gravy on them and they tasted like the real thing.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 28, 2010
Reviewer: Karen in Nebraska
These mashers have good flavor and are a great substitute for the real thing which is off the menu for me being on the Atkins diet. I will be buying these on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 05, 2010
Reviewer: Patrick in Missouri
Do not expect creamy, airy whipped potatoes. With that said, these are delicious. Just enough flavor and the texture is great.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 03, 2010
Reviewer: Lisa in Michigan
These instant potatoes are one of the best low carb foods that I have found over the years! They taste so good, my ten year old son likes them better than real or regular carb instant potatoes. (and anyone that has children knows that they are some of the toughest critics) My husband, who is a true and true "meat and potatoes" guy, loves them too. I have been eating a low carb diet for more than ten years now (to maintain stable blood sugar levels), and between my husband and I, we have tried ALOT of low carb alternative foods. We have also watched them evolve a great deal in flavor and texture...Dixie Diner products (instant mashers, etc.) know how to do it right. These potatoes are a must have when you just must have potatoes!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 02, 2010
Reviewer: joanne in Arizona
Wonderful product. The taste of potatoes without the guilt.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 16, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in New York
They're delicioso!! A must have staple in the pantry.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 23, 2009
Reviewer: Rebecca in Alabama
I haven't made these by themselves. I have however, used them to give my mashed cauliflower a better taste. Steam your cauliflower with salt, pepper. Drain, put it back on the stove in the hot pot to dry out a little. Add heavy cream, butter and 1/8 -1/4 cup of the Instant Mashers. OMG!! It completely changes the taste of the cauliflower and makes it so close to real homemade mashed potatoes. I've done the same thing using instant mashed potato flakes and you will not believe the difference it makes. Everyone tries to make it seem that mashed cauliflower is "just like mashed potatoes", but believe me, it is not. When you add the small amount of either instant flakes or Instant Mashers, it really does taste almost the same. So delicious, and so good for you too!! Using either, I can eat all I want and not feel I'm eating carbs.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 27, 2009
Reviewer: Tracey in Ohio
Love, love, love the original mashers! They are as close to mashed potatoes as you can get and I just can't stop buying them!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 05, 2009
Reviewer: Robert in Georgia
I like this stuff. I am a genuine low-carber, but I like having mashed potatoes now and again. Instant Mashers do a pretty good job of handling my potato cravings, without going crazy on excessive carbs. I will admit instant mashed potatoes of any type, aren't as good as freshly mashed real potatoes, but Instant Mashers is as good as any other type of boxed instant mashed potatoes. These are the only mashed potato alternative that have an acceptable carb count. All the other instant potatoes are carb-humongous. The taste is fine, the consistency is fine. Sometimes I mix them with mashed cauliflower. With some salt, and lots of butter, they are quite tasty, methinks.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 05, 2009
Reviewer: Kathy in Louisiana
I keep a package of the Instant Mashers in my pantry. My husband and I enjoy the ease of use and the taste of the Mashers. I will occasionally add sour cream, paprika and/or other spices, but enjoy them as prepared.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 13, 2009
Reviewer: Susan in New Jersey
Fabulous! Very easy, and best instant potatoes I've ever had!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 08, 2009
Reviewer: nancy in California
I have this with steak or chicken. I am on a low carb diet life style to maintain my weight and until now I have never been able to have mashed potatoes. These are wonderful. Add extra butter and you are set. I love this product!! I will always have these in my home now!

Great product!

This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 15, 2009
Reviewer: Denise in Oregon
Just like the real thing!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 30, 2008
Reviewer: Chad in Texas
OMG...Tastes just like the real deal. I read the label several times while enjoying them with my steak just to make sure I didn't misread it. 5 stars!!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 05, 2008
Reviewer: Debra in Maine
I missed potatoes so much and these are so delicious. They really satisfied my potato craving.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 19, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in New York
These have been a lifesaver! I've never been able to get into the mashed cauliflower thing, and sometimes you just need a quick side. These don't taste like real mashed potatoes, but they do taste like real instant mashed potatoes. A huge hit at my house and great as an occasional side dish.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 07, 2008
Reviewer: Stephanie in New York
If you've been missing mashed pot's ... this is the answer. Tastes a little different of course, but amazingly similar and such a comfort food! Original is yummmm-o
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 22, 2008
Reviewer: Craig in Florida
Almost as good as the real thing. With some bacon and cheese I will take these any day.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 28, 2008
Reviewer: Mayra in Florida
Mashed potatoes are my downfall when it comes to a low carb way of eating. These instant mashers keep me on track. I love this stuff and it's also good for thickening things like soup or as a binder for meatloaf. So happy I found this product. I can't do without it.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 30, 2008
Reviewer: Kenneth in South Carolina
Unbelievable. Cannot believe they are low carb. Tastes like the real thing. I just ordered my second batch. (Tried 1 box first and now am ordering 5). I highly recommend anyone who loves mashed potatoes but is on a low carb diet to try these. I use the classic and doctor them up.(1st time with garlic, 2nd time with horseradish and sour creme.)
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 19, 2008
Reviewer: Rena in Indiana
These Instant Mashers are a great substitute for mashed potatoes. The trick is to make them with chicken broth instead of water. Very good. Rena
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

< Previous     |  1 2 3  |     Next >

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement