Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 20, 2006
    Reviewer: Marguerite in Pennsylvania
    * OH... MY... GOODNESS. No words. This product is THAT good. Almost exactly like the real thing, even without any doctoring at all. Or for an extra boost, try adding mashed cauliflower. Even my husband couldn't tell the difference! Word of warning, though: do not prepare this product in the microwave, despite what the package says. It seems to change the flavor, so follow the stove-top directions instead.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 28, 2006
    Reviewer: Paula in North Carolina
    * I am a regular Netrition customer and have been 100% satisfied with all the low carb foods I have purchased with the exception of this product. These Instant Mashers are the worst low carb food I have ever tasted. Just the smell while preparing is enough to make you loose your appetite. They smell and taste like joint compound. Not a hint of sour creme and chive flavor. Save your money for the hundreds of other delicious low carb options available.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 June 07, 2007
    Reviewer: debra in Wisconsin
    * I have lost over 100# and am an advocate of the low carb diet. I have maintained weight loss easily for apprx 10 yrs. by watching carbs. These mashed potatoes don't taste like mom's homemade BUT if you are on a low carb diet and crave mashed pots, these are addicting!!!! I love the original flavor but find I need to add a little water.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 30, 2006
    Reviewer: Darlene in California
    * Although these don't have a strong potato flavor, I found the Classic flavor light and delicious. The texture was good and they made great potato patties. Best of all, the effect on my BGL was so minimal, I ate an entire pouch (there are 2 in a package) in one sitting and stayed under 100.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 August 20, 2007
    Reviewer: syreeta in Ohio
    * I loved this product. It was just like regular mashed potatoes. I ate this on induction and had no gains... I actually lost 4 pounds after I had been stalled for about a week. I added crushed garlic and cheddar cheese to add more flavor to this dish. Make sure you eat as soon as you finish cooking. They cook up quick and taste great with just butter. The texture is smooth. It can be gritty if you don't mix it well. Also, don't forget to add the heavy whipped cream it goes to help with the texture. This has been a saving grace on Atkins.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 December 29, 2006
    Reviewer: Elisabeth in Virginia
    * Well they're not the "real" thing obviously, and I did used to like the Ketatoes better (more flavor and firmer texture), but I so miss mashed potatoes that I am grateful the Mashers exist and I enjoy them very much. I find that the garlicky parmesan flavor is by far the best and really very good and full of flavor (if you happen to like garlic that is. I do.)

    The regular flavor is kind of bland but can be greatly enhanced by either adding some mayo (not mixed in but a dollop on top so you can get a little with every bite), or a few drops of truffle oil (ditto). Okay, so the truffle oil is kind of pricey (about $10 for a smallish bottle) but a little goes a long way so it lasts a long time. Oh, and adding butter (or butter flavor) helps too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 15, 2009
    Reviewer: Annamarie in Tennessee
    * WOW! What a surprise!!! I AM the biggest non-believer in the world so you can take this review to the "bank". My husband and I have been trying to get back into shape and have been on the low carb track. I have used this method far ahead of Dr. Atkins and such. I'm 65 and I did this with great success when I was a teenager actually. I called it my "no white stuff" diet. I'm just one of those types that do better on protein I guess. However, our daughter is haunted by the desire for carbs. (she has been diagnosed as Pre-diabetic) I have been trying to find meals that would be enjoyable for all three of us. Enter the Instant Mashers! We all three really liked the flavor and look of this product. The taste is unbelievably "potato". The only non-plus is there is a little "graininess" texture after taste/feel in your mouth. I made them too early before serving so they were already a little dry. I can add a little more H2* next time and that may take care of the after taste texture but I have to say this product is just amazing! I ordered the Classic Flavor 5.9 oz. only just to give it a try, thinking the plain had to be the best test as all the other flavored choices had to be a step up. (I figured I could use my own cheese or sour cream etc.) If you have a little carb craver at your table, don't say a word and serve these. I'm guessing had we not know these were "fake" we would have just thought they were a little dry! A Cannon, TN
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 08, 2007
    Reviewer: Lee in Arizona
    * Delicious. After going without mashed potatoes for 4 years, this was a real treat. I added butter and sour cream, just as I used to do with regular mashed potatoes - yum!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 December 08, 2006
    Reviewer: edwin in New York
    * Ok... I am one of those people that has an iron stomach and can basically eat anything (i love food). I was very disappointed in the carb mashers. The taste was awful, very powdery tasting... Cheese mixed in couldnt mask the taste. I agree with another reviewer, stick to cauliflower and buy other great tasting stuff on the site.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 November 03, 2006
    Reviewer: Amy in Minnesota
    * This was the worst tasting product. We ate 2 bites and that was about it - you are better off eating cauliflower mock mashed potatoes.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 29, 2006
    Reviewer: A customer in Iowa
    * These are absolutely awful and a waste of money.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 22, 2014
    Reviewer: Chelsea in Massachusetts
    * Medium head of cauliflower steamed in chicken broth- puree with one bag of this mix and a little cheese and who ever even cares about mashed potatoes. This really helps the texture of pureed cauliflower to mimic mashed potatoes and the flavor is super duper. We have this with roasted chicken. Welcome home to comfort food without all the stupid high glycemic garbage. Stuck on the cost? Get over it because it is WORTH IT!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 14, 2014
    Reviewer: Jeanette in Illinois
    * I eat these regularly and can't recommend them enough for low carb dieters! They are as close to mashed potatoes as you can get and the flavor is pretty close...just the consistency is a little off and more like instant mashed potatoes. I add butter, salt, chicken chunks and cheese and it's just like a KFC bowl. It's products like these that make a low carb diet possible to maintain long term. Forget the negative reviews and try it. I am very fussy and I LOVE this product!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 10, 2013
    Reviewer: Jennifer in Texas
    * I am a Type 1 diabetic and I take very good care of myself. For those of you that are diabetic or anyone watching their carb intake, take note of Dixie Diner! Their products are some of the ONLY ones I can eat without seeing a rise in my blood sugars. (I do try to avoid any sugar substitutes other than Stevia and a few of theirs use sucralose so check the nutrition facts before ordering) However, these are AMAZING! I will say that you need more water for a creamy consistency (calls for 1 cup; I use 1 3/4c to 2 cups), otherwise they are a bit chalky. But as a healthy option (add a little Smart Balance and fat free sour cream) this is truly one of a kind!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 17, 2012
    Reviewer: Barbara in Texas
    * So happy we tried this product. We miss mashed potatoes so much, but not so much now! I use a cup and half of cauliflower hot from the micro & into the food processor, add some butter or cream cheese with cream and hot H2O from the cauliflower water, process it with spices in the food processor and make it as creamy or thick as I like. Reheats easy and you can make mock potato pancakes with the leftovers by adding egg, cream and flour sub. Highly recommend!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 02, 2010
    Reviewer: Lisa in Massachusetts
    * I made these with the suggested prep method of using chicken broth instead of plain water. They were really good. Definitely would not be confused for my mom's mashed potatoes by any means, but they taste better than the typical instant mashed potatoes!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 07, 2009
    Reviewer: Rolf in Virginia
    * On its own, not so good, could not eat it...BUT... used with one mashed, whole cauliflower(including leaves and all), and mixed together, it's the best thing ever. Use one pouch per one medium sized cauliflower. If head is very large,use less of the head or use two pouches. The perfect low carb mashed "potatoes".
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 01, 2013
    Reviewer: Katie in North Carolina
    * I was really hopeful these would be a nice substitute for instant taters. I knew going in that it would not taste the same as the real stuff, but I was so terribly disappointed that it wasn't even edible. Maybe I followed the instructions wrong? I got the cheddar and bacon flavored kind and you could taste that...it was 'good', but the texture was like flour. It tasted to me like I was eating flavored flour mixed with liquid. I ended up throwing away everything. I will not try these again. I'm completely turned off.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 October 09, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in Texas
    * I have NO idea what everyone else is doing to their mashers, but mine tasted like fake, gross mashed plastic-y cotton. It was digusting. I would much rather puree some cauliflower. Yuck!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 June 02, 2010
    Reviewer: Susan in Texas
    * I have liked most of the low carb products I have tried, but to be honest, these were disgusting. I made one pouch, tried adding a ton of butter, even sour cream. The consistency actually turned my stomach. I agree with other reviewers that it had the smell and consistency of paste. Glad I only bought one package to try.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 August 07, 2008
    Reviewer: Lisa in New Mexico
    * Absolutely horrible!!! Extremely salty, smelt and tasted like paste. Never again!!!! Eeek - I still can't get that taste or smell out of my mind.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 July 04, 2008
    Reviewer: Sue in Arkansas
    * One word..........YUCK!!! I was really looking forward to these as a side dish. I am NOT a picky eater by any means. Usually I will go ahead and eat something. These were horrible! They were grainy in texture and the flavor was really bad! I threw them out and didn't even eat the helping on my plate (and I am NOT one to waste food!). I made them as directed on the stove top. I did not add any additional ingredients other than what was called for. I am not sure what potatoes the other reviewers ate, but I don't think they could have been these!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 14, 2007
    Reviewer: David in New Jersey
    * We've been low carbing for 4 years. We have tried hundreds of LC products, and this one ranks near the bottom. Though edible, it had the texture and taste of wallpaper paste. If you’re looking for a mashed potato substitute, my advice would be to stick with mashed cauliflower.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 07, 2016
    Reviewer: Jimmy L. in Texas
    * The are the best low-carb mashed potatoes I have eaten. Low carb is NOT optional in my diet and these are GREAT!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 27, 2016
    Reviewer: Betty in Florida
    * I liked them. I am reordering. I added sour cream.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 16, 2016
    Reviewer: Stacie in Pennsylvania
    * I am addicted to these mashed potatoes. They really taste like real mashed potatoes, or at least real instant mashed potatoes. I only tried the classic flavor but don't need to try any other, as this wins!! Oh my gosh, these are absolutely fabulous. Give them a chance, you won't be sorry.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 06, 2015
    Reviewer: Ronald in Pennsylvania
    * I love mashed potatoes, but being diabetic doesn't allow for much of them. Now I can!! still working on the consistency. they do taste good
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 26, 2015
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in Georgia
    * After first trying the mushroom soup mix and being less than thrilled I wasn't really too sure about this product but I'd already gotten it. I was very pleasantly surprised! While not tasting exactly like "regular" high carb instant mashed potatoes it is really close. We've been low carb for about a year and the pasta and potatoes are what I miss the most. I just wish they weren't so expensive.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 17, 2014
    Reviewer: Carla in Florida
    * Great taste! My family didn't even know it was low carb!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 12, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
    * Yum! These are great! I boiled 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk in a pot and then added 1/2 cup of the mashers and seasoned with pepper. Sound weird? It was delicious! Butter and cream is unhealthy and I do not allow it in my healthy lifestyle, therefore I can't review based on their recommended cooking technique. But if you want to be even healthier and still low carb then try using unsweetened almond milk. I'm going to add nutritional yeast next time. Mmmmm can't wait! You could add Mrs Dash seasonings too. You can keep the calories low without sacrificing the taste and your health.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 08, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
    * These are good when you need a potato fix. I mix in some chives to step it up a bit, I am having them for Thanksgiving with the Dixie Diner stuffing mix. Yum
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 22, 2013
    Reviewer: Melissa in Florida
    * We have tried all flavors except for the classic and they are great! They are perfect for meals that just cry out for mashed potatoes and very convenient.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 23, 2013
    Reviewer: Bryan in Connecticut
    * Close enough to the taste of mashed potatoes. The flavored ones are better.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 11, 2013
    Reviewer: Deidre in Texas
    * I have been very pleased with this product. I have prepared it according to the directions, and it was good; but I usually add a couple of tablespoons to my cauliflower when making fauxtatoes. The Instant Mashers improved the texture immensely.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 09, 2012
    Reviewer: Marilyn in Ohio
    * We love these, especially the Classic, because you can naturally flavor them any way you want. We had roasted garlic this week. Bake a whole clove of garlic in foil till soft and snip off tops and squeeze soft garlic in the potatoes. I also added sour cream. Fantastic! You can also add cheese, chives, crumbled bacon, use your imagination. Didn't really care for the flavored ones as much. Also leftovers are great fried the next morning for breakfast.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 15, 2011
    Reviewer: Mary in Wisconsin
    * At first they seemed a bit dry, but once I added a little bit of heavy cream at the end they were perfect. To me, they taste awesome for fake potatoes. I would gladly serve these as a side dish for any meal.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 04, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in Texas
    * I love mashers! Me and the hubby use mashers as a side dish or even to make Shepherds pie. This is the best low carb product ever!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 30, 2011
    Reviewer: Michele in Vermont
    * With the low carb diet, what I miss most is mashed potatoes. I was thrilled to find these and they are really tasty. Easy to make too. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 22, 2010
    Reviewer: Paul in Colorado
    * The cheese-bacon version is tasty enough to be used in place of either rice or pasta when looking for something to accompany your roast chicken or turkey. The consistency is very potato-like and, like real potatoes, benefits from a tad of butter on top.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 02, 2010
    Reviewer: Chris in Missouri
    * These Instant Mashers are SO good. My husband is diabetic and I cook low-carb for him. We have eliminated potatoes as they are so high in carbs. These Instant Mashers are the best substitute we have EVER found. They are so good and truly do fulfill his cravings for potatoes without sacrificing his diet. By using them it has helped lower my husband's blood sugar and we keep it in check with low-carb eating. Thank you ~ thank you.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 12, 2010
    Reviewer: Kathy in Florida
    * I love these mashers! My husband even likes them... He doesn't like anything that tastes fake or chemically... He loves mashed potatoes and I thought he might not go for these, even though I thought they were really good... He loves them too! We do add some butter and black pepper... I've only tried the classic flavor.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 14, 2010
    Reviewer: Judy in Florida
    * This truly tastes like real potatoes and on a low carb diet, I miss eating the real potatoes. I served it when I had company over, not telling them it was not real and they didn't know the difference especially when you put butter on the top when serving. Love it!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 01, 2010
    Reviewer: Linda in Washington
    * This is an excellent side dish. The perfect substitution for real mashed potatoes. I substitute chicken broth for the water and add a dollop of sour cream. So good!!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 22, 2010
    Reviewer: Candice in Florida
    * This product tastes just like mashed potatoes but without all the carbs. Had it with meatloaf and low carb gravy the other night and enjoyed it so much! I am hooked!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 29, 2010
    Reviewer: Suzanne in California
    * I do like these mashers but I chop up and roast cauliflower with just a bit of olive oil and then put it in the Cuisinart for southbeach mashers. I then add the prepared instant mashers and a little bit of cheese and cream and let it go. It makes a delicious mashed potato mixed.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 25, 2010
    Reviewer: Linda in Rhode Island
    * Pleasantly surprised! While they are not a homemade mashed potato by any means, they stack up very well to boxed mashed potatoes. I add these to mashed cauliflower for taste, and consistency.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 12, 2010
    Reviewer: Maudine in Arkansas
    * I have had these two times and am ordering more. Second time I made them I added a little more butter, and put low carb gravy on them and they tasted like the real thing.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 28, 2010
    Reviewer: Karen in Nebraska
    * These mashers have good flavor and are a great substitute for the real thing which is off the menu for me being on the Atkins diet. I will be buying these on a regular basis.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 05, 2010
    Reviewer: Patrick in Missouri
    * Do not expect creamy, airy whipped potatoes. With that said, these are delicious. Just enough flavor and the texture is great.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 03, 2010
    Reviewer: Lisa in Michigan
    * These instant potatoes are one of the best low carb foods that I have found over the years! They taste so good, my ten year old son likes them better than real or regular carb instant potatoes. (and anyone that has children knows that they are some of the toughest critics) My husband, who is a true and true "meat and potatoes" guy, loves them too. I have been eating a low carb diet for more than ten years now (to maintain stable blood sugar levels), and between my husband and I, we have tried ALOT of low carb alternative foods. We have also watched them evolve a great deal in flavor and texture...Dixie Diner products (instant mashers, etc.) know how to do it right. These potatoes are a must have when you just must have potatoes!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 02, 2010
    Reviewer: joanne in Arizona
    * Wonderful product. The taste of potatoes without the guilt.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 16, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * They're delicioso!! A must have staple in the pantry.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 23, 2009
    Reviewer: Rebecca in Alabama
    * I haven't made these by themselves. I have however, used them to give my mashed cauliflower a better taste. Steam your cauliflower with salt, pepper. Drain, put it back on the stove in the hot pot to dry out a little. Add heavy cream, butter and 1/8 -1/4 cup of the Instant Mashers. OMG!! It completely changes the taste of the cauliflower and makes it so close to real homemade mashed potatoes. I've done the same thing using instant mashed potato flakes and you will not believe the difference it makes. Everyone tries to make it seem that mashed cauliflower is "just like mashed potatoes", but believe me, it is not. When you add the small amount of either instant flakes or Instant Mashers, it really does taste almost the same. So delicious, and so good for you too!! Using either, I can eat all I want and not feel I'm eating carbs.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 27, 2009
    Reviewer: Tracey in Ohio
    * Love, love, love the original mashers! They are as close to mashed potatoes as you can get and I just can't stop buying them!!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 05, 2009
    Reviewer: Robert in Georgia
    * I like this stuff. I am a genuine low-carber, but I like having mashed potatoes now and again. Instant Mashers do a pretty good job of handling my potato cravings, without going crazy on excessive carbs. I will admit instant mashed potatoes of any type, aren't as good as freshly mashed real potatoes, but Instant Mashers is as good as any other type of boxed instant mashed potatoes. These are the only mashed potato alternative that have an acceptable carb count. All the other instant potatoes are carb-humongous. The taste is fine, the consistency is fine. Sometimes I mix them with mashed cauliflower. With some salt, and lots of butter, they are quite tasty, methinks.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 05, 2009
    Reviewer: Kathy in Louisiana
    * I keep a package of the Instant Mashers in my pantry. My husband and I enjoy the ease of use and the taste of the Mashers. I will occasionally add sour cream, paprika and/or other spices, but enjoy them as prepared.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 13, 2009
    Reviewer: Susan in New Jersey
    * Fabulous! Very easy, and best instant potatoes I've ever had!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 08, 2009
    Reviewer: nancy in California
    * I have this with steak or chicken. I am on a low carb diet life style to maintain my weight and until now I have never been able to have mashed potatoes. These are wonderful. Add extra butter and you are set. I love this product!! I will always have these in my home now!

    Great product!

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 15, 2009
    Reviewer: Denise in Oregon
    * Just like the real thing!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 30, 2008
    Reviewer: Chad in Texas
    * OMG...Tastes just like the real deal. I read the label several times while enjoying them with my steak just to make sure I didn't misread it. 5 stars!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 05, 2008
    Reviewer: Debra in Maine
    * I missed potatoes so much and these are so delicious. They really satisfied my potato craving.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 19, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * These have been a lifesaver! I've never been able to get into the mashed cauliflower thing, and sometimes you just need a quick side. These don't taste like real mashed potatoes, but they do taste like real instant mashed potatoes. A huge hit at my house and great as an occasional side dish.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 07, 2008
    Reviewer: Stephanie in New York
    * If you've been missing mashed pot's ... this is the answer. Tastes a little different of course, but amazingly similar and such a comfort food! Original is yummmm-o
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 22, 2008
    Reviewer: Craig in Florida
    * Almost as good as the real thing. With some bacon and cheese I will take these any day.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 28, 2008
    Reviewer: Mayra in Florida
    * Mashed potatoes are my downfall when it comes to a low carb way of eating. These instant mashers keep me on track. I love this stuff and it's also good for thickening things like soup or as a binder for meatloaf. So happy I found this product. I can't do without it.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 30, 2008
    Reviewer: Kenneth in South Carolina
    * Unbelievable. Cannot believe they are low carb. Tastes like the real thing. I just ordered my second batch. (Tried 1 box first and now am ordering 5). I highly recommend anyone who loves mashed potatoes but is on a low carb diet to try these. I use the classic and doctor them up.(1st time with garlic, 2nd time with horseradish and sour creme.)
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 19, 2008
    Reviewer: Rena in Indiana
    * These Instant Mashers are a great substitute for mashed potatoes. The trick is to make them with chicken broth instead of water. Very good. Rena
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 08, 2008
    Reviewer: Denise in Arizona
    * Excellent!!! Very tasty as I add chicken broth and other essentials to make it even more tastier. I would recommend you try all the flavors.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 03, 2008
    Reviewer: Howard in Pennsylvania
    * Not quite the same as regular potatoes, but tastes good and are a lower carb alternative.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 05, 2008
    Reviewer: Nancy in Pennsylvania
    * Great low carb option.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 14, 2008
    Reviewer: susan in Alabama
    * Just like the real thing. I don't miss potatoes at all. Made with a little half and half and butter, these are delicious.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 13, 2008
    Reviewer: WANDA in Indiana
    * Tried the plain Instant Mashers and was pleasantly surprised to find that they tasted just like regular mashed potatoes and the carb count was so much lower than real potatoes we didn't feel guilty. We will be trying the other flavors next.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 29, 2008
    Reviewer: Gary in Pennsylvania
    * Excellent - prepared properly and served with butter is a substitute for regular potatoes.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 22, 2008
    Reviewer: Larry in Pennsylvania
    * These are really good. I like them, since I can't have real thing.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 18, 2008
    Reviewer: Laura in Missouri
    * I fully expected to be disappointed by the taste of these potatoes, but I LOVED them!!! I've ordered the Garlic, and the Sour Cream flavors to try also. I would have ordered more Classic Flavor, but they are out of stock :(
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 15, 2008
    Reviewer: Esther in New Jersey
    * I love this product. It tastes and feels like it was made from fresh potatoes. The taste is great.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 02, 2008
    Reviewer: Amelia in Florida
    * I ordered the plain instant mashers and they have made low carbing much easier at dinner time. I can still have my protein (meat, chicken, fish), green veggies, and ... mashers! They are great plain, but they are also very good with parmesian or cheddar cheese added to them. They have made my life easier.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 01, 2008
    Reviewer: BF in Hawaii
    * Great potato taste. Aside from the very slight mealy texture afterwards, this is a great dish. I cannot believe the protein it has and the Low Carbs--forget the mashed/mock potatoes using cauliflower!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 09, 2008
    Reviewer: H. Christopher in Washington
    * We like the garlicky Parmesan and sour cream and chives versions the best. They all make a good side dish with all of the foods we have tried. They are also easy to make. To further cut down on cholesterol and saturated fat we use smart balance instead of the butter called out. Works just fine.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 31, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Illinois
    * I have ordered these a few times.. They are good.. I dr. them up a tad with some cheese, serve them to the guys with gravy, and they like them.. I eat them minus the gravy.. I always put them on my order.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 29, 2007
    Reviewer: Heather in Alabama
    * I really like all of the Instant Mashers. I sometimes add in a little cheese or some spices, but they are great just plain also. One of my favorite comfort foods is mashed potatoes so I'm so thankful to have these!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 19, 2007
    Reviewer: Brooke in Georgia
    * I ordered this product b/c I knew it would be a long time (and has been a long time) 'till I ate white mashed potatoes again. I had ordered a bunch of things for my sweet tooth but decided I needed something savory as well. I fully expected these to have a very off taste even though they got good reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. I made them with 1/2 and 1/2 and added some light sour cream and seasoned salt and they are very good! I also make a meal by making a Shepherd's Pie type dish with veggies and beef. Really a very good product.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Barbara in Ohio
    * Best low carb potatoes I've had so far.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 29, 2007
    Reviewer: Ruth in Virginia
    * I could not tell the difference from regular mash potato mix, neither could my unsuspecting friend after I told him of the switch.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 05, 2007
    Reviewer: MARY in Florida
    * I've missed real mashed potatoes so much and the mashed cauliflower is good but the consistency just isn't there. This product has the perfect consistency and tastes great especially after adding sour cream, butter and salt. Thank you Dixie Diner and thank you Netrition.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 16, 2007
    Reviewer: Sandy in North Carolina
    * My whole family had these for the first time tonight and even the ones who are not low carbing liked these. They were smooth and creamy. Very tasty. And I'm so glad we found them. Will order again. A+++++
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 16, 2007
    Reviewer: Linda in Florida
    * These are great! I've found that using the butter and cream variation of the recipe tastes the best. It is so nice to have an alternative for potatoes!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 24, 2007
    Reviewer: Darrell in Florida
    * I tried these potato substitutes in hopes of being able to eat mashed potatoes once again,instead of the little "teaser" portions of real mashed potatoes. I thought they were great! My wife's real potatoes are still the best hands down, but Since I've been a diabetic for the last 1 1/2 years, I can't eat hardly any potatoes. These were a welcome treat for me. Some people may not like them, but if you can't have the real thing, these are great. Did I mention that even a double helping doesn't raise my BG?, and that's important to any Diabetic.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 22, 2007
    Reviewer: Jay in Connecticut
    * I was using mashed cauliflower as a substitute for mashed potatoes but this product tastes like the real thing. I mix it with Calorie Count-Down Milk instead of Water and Cream per the directions and I thing it's great. I will, on occasion, mix in Cauliflower to add a bit of texture but it's not really necessary. I didn't care as much for the Garlic Parmesan and Sour Cream variations, but that's just a personal taste thing.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 17, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Wisconsin
    * This is an excellent replacement for mashed potatoes. Rather than using gravy, I discovered that blending in freshly pressed garlic and shredded parmesan, along with a bit of heavy cream or sour cream and topped with a pat of butter is a wonderful dinnertime treat. I like the Classic Flavor since I can experiment with different cheeses and spices.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 01, 2007
    Reviewer: Rebecca in California
    * I like to mix the mix into steamed cauliflower and it is delicious!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 02, 2007
    Reviewer: melanie in California
    * I was a little leery about ordering these because of some of the negative reviews. I am so glad I went ahead and ordered some. They are very good! Of course they are not the real thing — but they sure come close. I am going to order more- the whole family loved them!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 17, 2007
    Reviewer: Roni in Florida
    * You can add all kinds of spices and they taste awesome.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 15, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
    * Carb Counter Instant Mashers are one of the best tasting low carb items I have ordered. They really do taste like regular instant mashed potatoes.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 20, 2007
    Reviewer: Jean in Tennessee
    * Love these. By far the best low carb "potatoes" on the market. Our favorite is classic but they are all good
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Carrie in Texas
    * Potatoes have always been a daily food for me. But when I started Atkins, no more potatoes. I was doubtful and pessimistic when I first purchased these Instant Mashers. Wow! They are VERY good! I am thrilled to be able to have my potatoes again!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Barbara in Texas
    * Finally! A REAL comfort food! After nine years on a low carb diet, didn't realize how much I had missed something so simple. Great texture and taste and my husband was even impressed with the flavor.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Isabel in New Jersey
    * I have bought this product numerous times and I love it. It's a great substitute for mashed potatoes. I don't feel like I'm missing the starch anymore when I have my steak!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 30, 2007
    Reviewer: Juan Carlos in Puerto Rico
    * Many people complain about the flavor, but after being three months without eating any potatoes at all, they tasted great to me. I tried the classic flavor and ordered them again. They are great to me! Thanks Dixie Diner for such a wonderful product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 24, 2016
    Reviewer: Mara in Arizona
    * Okay first, these are sort of close to mashed potatoes although the texture is highly dependent on how it is prepared. I have so far made these using the microwave method and have enjoyed the sour cream and chive flavor and cheddar bacon. I will eventually get to the classic and garlic but for now, I realized a very good whisk is needed along with some slight modifications for a better texture. I used heavy cream, almond milk and about 2 tablespoons of full fat mayo. That made these smooth and creamy. Without the heavy cream and a good whisk the texture can be more like cream of wheat so just be aware of how its prepared. Adding cream cheese and/or sour cream may also be good. These are really good and will be using these as the replacement for mashed potatoes during holidays and more. There is only a slight blood sugar impact which makes these perfect for us Type 1 Diabetics.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 04, 2015
    Reviewer: James in Tennessee
    * Okay. If you want low carb mashed potatoes, your really out of luck. There's no such thing. But if you want something to use in place of mashed potatoes, and you think of them as replacements, not low-carb versions of the real thing (our strategy with almost all such foods), these are great! Their biggest problem is texture. They are dry, floury, and pasty. That's the only reason they aren't rated 5.

    But it gets better. They grow on you. I'm used to them now and eat them when my wife wants the real thing. I sometimes will have a little of the "real thing" mixed in with them, which raises the carbs a bit but raises the flavor/texture quality even more, and it only takes a little of the other to make a great compromise. I have them mixed with mashed cauliflower, which is great.

    I also find that some cheese or something that serves in place of gravy makes them much better and have topped them with BBQ, chili, sloppy Joe-type stuff, ground turkey/beef in low-carb spaghetti sauce or Walden Farms BBQ sauce, to create a much better meal. This is the best way!!! Put some grilled veggies around it all and you have a meal. Open-face roast beef (traditionally served over mashed potatoes)? Yeah baby!

    I do think the flavor of the sour cream-chive best (I haven't tried the bacon-cheddar yet but just ordered some) but it does have a slight green color. Not a problem for me, but worth noting. If you are willing to get used to them, as we usually have to with low-carb foods, and be creative if you have a problem with them you can't get used to, they are definitely worth it, in my view.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 06, 2014
    Reviewer: Brandy in Texas
    * These definitely saved me over the Thanksgiving holiday! They do have a "powdery" after taste (not sure how else to describe this) but still yummy!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 25, 2014
    Reviewer: Amanda in Minnesota
    * Real potatoes are better, these stand up to all the other instant/flake brands though. I tried the garlic, made it with butter flavoring instead of butter and plain almond milk instead of cream. Came out maybe a little on the gritty side? But the taste is good. Not sure it is worth the price to purchase again...
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 06, 2013
    Reviewer: Jennifer in Maryland
    * These have been great! We used them to help keep Thanksgiving low carb and they were a hit. I've also used them to make shepherds pie and other such dishes. My husband actually liked the shepherds pie better with this then with normal instant mashed potatoes.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 14, 2013
    Reviewer: Maureen in Alabama
    * Okay, these were pretty good. I ate them with an Atkins chopped steak and gravy. Good comfort food :) I love reading reviews here for the creative suggestions and recipes for using some of the products. So I made the mashers with chicken broth, the butter spray pumps BUT added some FF cream cheese and a bit of greek yogurt instead of heavy cream and butter. I sauteed chopped garlic and stirred that in. Turned out creamy and like others say good for "instant potatoes". I THINK I liked these better than the Carb Counters but only had them once. I'd like to try the garlicky parmesean next!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 13, 2012
    Reviewer: Lisa in Colorado
    * I love this product. It fulfills my craving for potatoes in my low carb world. It never impacts my weight-loss or maintenance.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 09, 2012
    Reviewer: Lisa in Georgia
    * These mashers are a PERFECT substitute for the real thing. They keep me from craving or giving in to temptation by providing a good l/c alternative that satisfies! They can taste a wee bit dry or chalky, for lack of a better term, but a little tweaking usually takes care of that. Add a little more liquid, or butter, sour cream, cheese...whatever your personal taste desires. After the usual prep I usually just add a little smart balance to mine, and they're great.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 19, 2012
    Reviewer: Marty in California
    * We're doing the Dukan Diet, and though the preparation instructions called for heavy cream (no-no) and butter (double no-no), we were able to substitute with pretty excellent results. We sauteed some minced garlic, and added a third of a cup of fat-free sour cream and about 6 I-Can't-Believe-It's-Not-Butter spray pumps. Stirred in a cup of boiling water and a masher packet, mixing until smooth. Then we mixed in some shredded soy cheddar cheese, and a handful of diced green onion, and served immediately. It was actually a pretty decent baked potato mash, though it did dry out as the meal progressed. It's definitely the best Dukan-friendly (if not explicitly Dukan-approved) carb-replacement we've found so far.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 28, 2011
    Reviewer: Timothy in New York
    * The texture is just like other instant mashed potatoes. The flavor, as expected, is different. There definitely is the potato taste in these, but there is a bit of a different flavor that was a bit like cornmeal to me. They were still good and I would definitely order them again. I totally expected them to be bad and was very happy they were not.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 12, 2009
    Reviewer: Tammy in North Carolina
    * I tried the Garlicky Parmesan before and really didn't like it. Then I tried the Classic flavor and I used a little garlic salt in the mix.. I loved it!!! A little pasty, but since I can't have regular potatoes, this is the next best thing.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 15, 2008
    Reviewer: John in Wisconsin
    * This is a very tasty product and similar to real mashed potatoes. I spice mine up using some garlic, bacon, and cheddar and it is delicious.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 29, 2008
    Reviewer: Janet in Ohio
    * I really do enjoy these. They do have a slight graininess to them, however they are an excellent substitute for the real thing.

    The regular mashers are my faves because I make low carb gravy with them. Yummy!

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 30, 2008
    Reviewer: Emily in California
    * OK, so they're not real mashed potatoes but my husband and I always say you can get used to anything. And, really, these are pretty good, especially if you add some butter, a few fresh herbs... This is my "go to" potato substitute.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 09, 2008
    Reviewer: Rhonda in Georgia
    * This is pretty decent. I buy the plain ones and add my own seasonings.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 07, 2008
    Reviewer: Garry in Michigan
    * A nice low carb alternative substitute for mashed potatoes. Good taste, acceptable texture. My favorite is the garlic parmesan but all flavors are top shelf. Reheats well in the microwave too.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 09, 2007
    Reviewer: Carolyn in Tennessee
    * Very similar in texture and flavor of real mashed potatoes. It does satisfy the craving for potatoes. I give it a thumbs up.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Tina in Ohio
    * Have only tried the classic, and would highly recommend. You need to play with the consistency because they can sometimes come out too runny. I use this for special meals like Thanksgiving dinner. Gravy makes a nice addition. If you ever tried the old Ketatoes, you'd definitely give these a 5! If you are comparing to regular, instant potatoes, you would give them a 4.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Teresa in California
    * My husband loves mashed potatoes/gravy but we considered them off limits on a low carb diet. Not any more! I am very happy that I found this product. It is very tasty and an excellent low carb substitute for the "real thing". Hint - I found that adding a little extra whipping cream and or butter results in a creamier texture.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 01, 2007
    Reviewer: Richard in Illinois
    * I have eaten the original flavor, and it is the best low carb mashed potato product I've tried. It is made from potatoes. How do they strip the starch (carbs) from the potatoes?
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 04, 2007
    Reviewer: cristy in Florida
    * I rate this product a 4 out of 5. I believe Dixie Diner's "Instant Mashers" to be the best tasting product, compared to the real thing.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 13, 2007
    Reviewer: Valerie in Kansas
    * As a dedicated low-carber who lost 70 lbs and kept it off for almost two years, I can tell you that these are great! The taste and texture were good and even my husband thought they would be a nice treat once in a while. For people who remember what potatoes actually taste like(!), these might not cut it, however. I will order them again, just for something different.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 30, 2007
    Reviewer: LeAnn in Oklahoma
    * My husband is a potato lover and hates any substitutes. But this one, he actually said it "wasn't that bad". He would eat it again. I, on the other hand can take or leave a real potato. As for me, this is the best low carb potato substitute I have tried in the past 4 years. I will buy this product again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 July 29, 2016
    Reviewer: Gloria in Washington
    * Because the "flavored" ones have a strong flavor, I usually mix a flavored bag with a "Classic". I don't use it often, but you can't beat it, when you have a good pot roast gravy and nothing to put it on. The flavored ones are good when making soup from scratch. Since they contain so much flavor, and at the same time, act as a thickener, I use them more that way than alone.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 November 16, 2014
    Reviewer: Derry in Nevada
    * A lot of people seem to love this product, but for me the texture is like paste. The flavor is good, but the texture not so much.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 January 08, 2014
    Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
    * These are great as a filler to enhance a "pota-to-y " texture in my cauliflower mashed potatoes (using 1 package of fresh or frozen cauliflower boiled, drained, and mashed with a little butter and milk). I only add maybe 1/3 of one packet of CC instant mashers to achieve the texture I want. I also add about two tablespoons of instant potato flakes to enhance the flavor. Overall I end up with a much lower carb "mashed potatoes" that taste almost exact to the real thing. Much better than eating the mashed cauliflower alone. But I must warn you, this product by itself tastes horrible (hence the three star). It tastes like boiled flour. The texture is there, the flavor is not.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 October 09, 2012
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in California
    * They had a weird texture to them. Did not taste all that great either.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 October 04, 2012
    Reviewer: Marcy in Texas
    * I guess Instant Mashers are an acquired taste. Some reviewers love this product, others don't. Instant Mashers are easy to make and have the "look and feel" of real mashed potatoes, but I think the flavor is strange with an after-taste. I was actually unable to finish what was on my plate. (Trust me, I never had any trouble eating REAL mashed potatoes.) I still have two more pouches in the pantry, so next time I'll take another reviewer's suggestion and try adding cooked cauliflower. A lot of gravy might help, too.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 July 27, 2009
    Reviewer: Yaira in Virginia
    * A bit disappointed by this product. The taste is OK, nothing like potatoes, doesn't take seasoning flavor very well and the texture is quite a bit powdery, which is a major downfall for me. Mashed cauliflower beats this concoction in many ways, you can make it with a bit of chicken stock and the texture is great, the taste is better. As for the Instant Mashers, they're something I can eat if I sprinkle quite a bit of salt to make it bearable. :/ I've been trying other Dixie Diner products because I love their Hot Cereal so much, but nothing else seems up to par.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 November 16, 2015
    Reviewer: Eboni in Maryland
    * Well, these were pretty underwhelming and just not at all like potatoes. I guess that I just haven't been low carb long enough to be fooled by these and think that they are a suitable replacement for potatoes. And I suspect I may never be because these will never come even close to the real thing. I mixed this with mashed rutabaga and this gave it a slightly better "mashed potato" texture, but I can accomplish the same thing with a bit of cream cheese and resistant starch.

    I bought two packages so I will try these in a low carb bread recipe, but I just can't eat them as potatoes.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 August 06, 2014
    Reviewer: Karen in Washington
    * Well, an "A" for making them look similar to mashed potatoes, but...a "D-" for taste. I'm fully convinced, they will never be able to make a potato replacement that is similar to a real potato. It just isn't possible. I'd rather have two bites of the real deal than a whole plate of these...it's just, so weird. It's not the worst thing ever, but by no means is it something I would eat more than a bite. It's fibery-dusty tasting. That probably won't make sense until you've tried them. God bless those that like them. I'm truly jealous. I wanted to so much! Nevertheless, I just can't give them a positive review. It's just too damn weird.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 November 30, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
    * They look like potatoes and smell like potatoes....but they certainly don't taste like potatoes. Maybe I did something wrong but they came out with a horrible texture. The taste wasn't bad but I couldn't bare the gritty-ness. I used calorie countdown milk instead of cream, that may have had something to do with it. Overall I would not attempt to make these again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 June 23, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in Kentucky
    * Ack, these were horrible. I will stick to mashed cauliflower.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 March 24, 2008
    Reviewer: Lee Ann in Wisconsin
    * I found this product to have a strange consistency and texture. It was really mushy and almost gritty. The sour cream and chive option was similar to a bowl of green Cream of Wheat. We were not able to eat them, and I discarded the other package.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 June 05, 2014
    Reviewer: John in Minnesota
    * Terrible. These are very expensive and I can best describe them as flour and water gravy with sand in it. I would rather go without potatoes or cheat once in a while rather than use this. Too bad I was stupid and ordered a bunch of them all at once. Maybe I can add them to the Carbquick and patch my driveway.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 May 07, 2014
    Reviewer: Dale in South Dakota
    * These are awful, I ordered them to eat with a roast from the crock pot because i was tired of cauliflower mashed. The cauliflower is a dream compared to these. They are quick and easy to make but that's all the good I can say about them.There is an overwhelming salty taste (nothing resembling garlic) to these and I couldn't finish them even after they were drenched in gravy. I don't recommend them, buyer beware.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 August 18, 2013
    Reviewer: Deirdre in Massachusetts
    * I ordered these with the highest of hopes, I have really liked the other Dixie Diner products. These were horrible! I wondered if I got a bad batch, they were pumpkin colored, grainy, and tasted terrible. I got 2 bites in, and gave up!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 June 06, 2013
    Reviewer: CHRISTINE in Illinois
    * I really really wanted to like this since I am a major mashed potatoes lover, but I have to be honest. It was gross! It was so dry and tasted awful. I ended up adding instant potato flakes which I didnt want to do since the reason I bought this was to get that "real" potato taste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 November 13, 2012
    Reviewer: Tanya in Colorado
    * Nasty. Could not even finish one serving of the classic flavor.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 November 01, 2012
    Reviewer: Raquel in Ohio
    * Disapointed. I ordered this product hoping I could use it for my thanksgiving dinner. Good thing I tried it before I did, I didn't find it to taste like mashed potatoes at all. It taste more like mashed turnips or califlower. Which I do like, but rather have them fresh. The texture is also weird.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 July 11, 2010
    Reviewer: Kendra in Arkansas
    * I only tried the parmesan garlic ones, and I ordered several packs because of all the rave reviews. I have tried everything to make them better. The disgusting flavor or the potatoes overpowers whatever or however much you put on them. I eat anything. I wasn't allowed to be picky as a child. These are the most disgusting thing I have tasted to date on low carb. I could get by with whatever consistency and texture they had, but the taste will keep these out of my pantry forever! I threw away my last two packets. Me and my partner have tried them several times. Highly unrecommended!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 March 11, 2010
    Reviewer: Dwayne E. in Tennessee
    * I have been pleased with the other Dixie Diner products I've tried so far and had high hopes for this one. However I have to say I can simply do without potatoes easier than I can stomach these. And I have no sense of smell from birth so my taste is not as strong as that of most people. These have a gritty texture that gives the impression of what it is like to eat ground up chalk. My wife agreed on this and she can smell. We each ate about 3 small bites and threw the rest out. I'm amazed at the good reviews and sympathize with the bad ones. We won't be cooking the second of the 2 pouches.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 January 28, 2010
    Reviewer: Lindsey in Florida
    * I don't understand all the rave reviews, these tasted terrible to me! The texture was pasty and thin at the same time. The taste was horrible, I bought the classic and tried to save it by adding cheese, butter, and herbs but even that didn't help much. I only took a few bites and threw the rest out.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 October 09, 2009
    Reviewer: kathleen in North Carolina
    * Sorry but it was terrible, It was extremely salty, and tasted nothing like mashed potato. I followed the instructions for the microwave. I'll stick to the mashed cauliflower,as an alternative, It is a better choice for me.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 May 17, 2009
    Reviewer: Randy in New York
    * I thought these instant mashers tasted like sawdust. What I miss most on this low carb diet is potatoes. This product doesn't even resemble them. We buy many low carb products and most are as good as their high carb counterparts, but this is not one of them.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 21, 2008
    Reviewer: Joan in California
    * I am sorry to disagree, but I thought they were terrible. I only purchased them because of the great reviews, but I strongly disagree that they are good.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 04, 2008
    Reviewer: Amber in Illinois
    * Oh, I was so disappointed! The taste is horrible. It has a cardboard/chemical after taste. URG!!! I wish I didn't buy 2 packs!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 March 10, 2008
    Reviewer: karen in California
    * I was sooooo excited when I ordered these. The reviews sounded so good! But this was awful! It was worse than the very cheapest tv dinner mashed potatoes, plus the chive flavor was a sickly green color, maybe would be fun for St. Patty's day! Even covered in gravy, no one could eat them. Very disappointed!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 February 02, 2008
    Reviewer: Kenneth in Florida
    * After trying some of their low carb baking mixes I was looking forward to a pile of mashed potatoes. It was like there was a party in my mouth, and nobody wiped their feet. If you were the kid in school that ate paste, then you might like this nasty goo. I had not tried the flavored mashers but do not think I will risk it now.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 December 29, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Idaho
    * So nasty I wanted to poke my eyes out! Too bad I purchased so many.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 December 26, 2007
    Reviewer: Lois in Nevada
    * This product looks good. When I tasted them I had to spit the bite out...that is how awful they tasted to me. Just had a horrible texture and flavor to me.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 June 05, 2007
    Reviewer: Lisa in Ohio
    * GROSS! I thought it tasted like paste. My husband can eat just about anything and he couldn't eat this stuff.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 June 04, 2007
    Reviewer: Denise in Nebraska
    * I have to admit, these were pretty bad. I got the Classic flavor, figuring I could add my own seasonings. I tried chives, sour cream, parmesan, butter, salt and pepper. Nothing could make this product taste good. The texture was strange too. I definitely didn't feel like I was eating mashed potatoes and I'm sorry I wasted my money trying this one out, as it was pretty pricey for what you get.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.