Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 19, 2010
    Reviewer: Betsy in North Carolina
    * The Best. Honestly. Even with the maltitol. THICK. Full of flavor. Have tried LOTS of other s-f/low-carb pancake syrups, and this, hands down, unquestionably, is tops. ..... We've been on Atkins diet 6 years and found this ~3 years ago. GREAT cooking additive as well, i.e. to add to room temperature or hot foods, whether drizzled over fruit compotes, french toast, pancakes, La Nouba waffles, fried apples w. cinnamon, sweet potatoes (all these foods are treats we have in smaller quantities). Would be fine with chilled foods as well, but because the syrup is SO thick, it becomes even thicker at cold temps. If I need a thinner pouring consistency, I put some in a MW-safe condiment cup or bowl and warm it in the microwave 10-20 seconds.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 October 27, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
    * Oh Gosh! I fell in love with this syrup immediately upon tasting it! I poured some on my pancakes (approx 1/4 cup),and it was the most delightful treat! However, after 10 minutes of eating it, my stomach has been rumbling violently for hours now. I mean people in the room I am sitting in can actually hear my stomach literally rumbling. I am very sad about this because while the syrup taste superfantastic, the chemical sweetener in it (i.e. maltitol) is disastrous for my digestion system :-( ...I really really regret that I won't be able to buy this again. I am jealous of those of you who can tolerate the sweetener.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 09, 2012
    Reviewer: John in Texas
    * I have tried nearly every sugar-free pancake syrup product on the market. Most are either too runny or taste awful. Joseph's is perfect. It is thick and tastes just like maple syrup. Don't overeat too much of this though. Excessive consumption can be unfortunate.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 27, 2012
    Reviewer: Lizeth in California
    * This is great , even better than the regular stuff!! Nice and thick and sweet , plain awesome !
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 28, 2011
    Reviewer: Catherine in Taiwan
    * FABULOUS......... thick and sweet, no aftertaste at all, the best I have tasted so far... just like the real thing.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 28, 2011
    Reviewer: Petra in New York
    * This is THE BEST sugar free syrup I have ever tried!!! It tastes like real syrup, has a thick consistency and no funny aftertaste. LOVE this stuff!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 July 12, 2012
    Reviewer: Ezekiel in Illinois
    * Darkest, thickest, and best tasting SF syrup. Must refrigerate after opening. Unfortunately, the maltitol causes severe gastric distress for me, so I use an alternative.

    However, Joesph's is your best tasting choice if you can stomach it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 June 24, 2013
    Reviewer: Gail in New York
    * If you enjoy painful gas and diarrhea, you will love this product. I don't know how this was rated so high. It is sweetened with maltitol which has the above stated side effects like other sugar alcohols. I didn't know this until I got sick from it. I checked the label and searched maltitol and that is what I discovered. I tried another brand and I am going to see what it was. It tasted good and didn't give me any side effects.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 08, 2016
    Reviewer: KAREN in Texas
    * If no one told you,you would never know you were not eating full sugar maple syrup. This is delicious.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 04, 2016
    Reviewer: Pamela in New York
    * By far THE best tasting sugar-free maple syrup out there. Rich, sweet and a little goes a long way.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 29, 2016
    Reviewer: Vickie in Alabama
    * When I read the other reviews I thought they had to be fake because I really didn't think a sugar free syrup could be that good but I was happily wrong. This syrup is sooo good. I honestly can't taste the difference from "regular" syrup. Beware of the gas after consuming it though. It contains Maltitol which is a sugar alcohol and because your body isn't able to fully absorb it all, it passes through your system quickly which causes some digestive upset (especially if your body isn't use to it). So I gave it 5 stars because it really does taste great but just wanted you to be aware that it might cause some really horrible smelly gas (really).
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 06, 2016
    Reviewer: Ron in California
    * This is the best tasting sugar free pancake syrup by far!!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 04, 2016
    Reviewer: michael in Massachusetts
    * I enjoyed my pancakes with this syrup. It's not thin like most sugar-free syrups.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 04, 2015
    Reviewer: Demetra in California
    * I cannot tell the difference between this syrup and Log Cabin syrup. Much lower in carbs so I can eat my low-carb pancakes without guilt!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 28, 2015
    Reviewer: Cynthia in New Jersey
    * Delicious, thick and sweet. True "maple" flavor and no after taste. I use it in recipes, on my Greek yogurt (add toasted sliced almonds and ground flax seed & it compliments it beautifully) as well as on my waffles. Thicker than any other sugar free brand I have tried and definitely my favorite!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 01, 2015
    Reviewer: Cherie in Pennsylvania
    * This is stunningly good syrup. Thick with no aftertaste. You won't miss the high calorie, high carb syrup one little bit if you switch over to Joseph's!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 15, 2015
    Reviewer: LACEY in Texas
    * We are sugar free and this syrup is very low on the glycemic index. It's very tasty and my whole family loves in. I've also baked with it with no issues. I keep it refrigerated as directly which makes it a tad thick. Set out on counter fifteen minutes before pouring for a easier to pour syrup.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 03, 2015
    Reviewer: Jean in Maine
    * ABSOLUTELY delicious. I'm a New Englander and grew up on real maple syrup. This the next best thing to the real; can barely tell the difference!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2015
    Reviewer: Kimberly in Idaho
    * The syrup is thick and without the strange after taste you get from some sugar free products. I have ordered this brand multiple times and I share with my friends about this great syrup!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 16, 2014
    Reviewer: Tish in California
    * THE BEST EVERRR. Seriously, this stuff is AWESOME. I like this better than regular sugar syrups.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 07, 2014
    Reviewer: Barbara in Massachusetts
    * THE absolute BEST tasting maple syrup!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 24, 2014
    Reviewer: Kathy in California
    * My diabetic husband and I both agree that this syrup beats ANY other syrup we've tried. It is thick and has a rich maple flavor. So good!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 01, 2013
    Reviewer: Jennifer in Washington
    * Very good taste without a lot of preservatives.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 24, 2013
    Reviewer: PAMELA C in Georgia
    * Great rich maple taste was thick, not runny. I love to cook for others and I use flavorful healthy products. Everyone liked that it was sugar free and tasted good.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 28, 2013
    Reviewer: Julie in Washington
    * WOW! What fabulous flavor! Tastes like the real thing.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 07, 2013
    Reviewer: Mary in Louisiana
    * Tastes like "real" maple syrup. Can give those not used to it digestive issues, but since I started taking probiotics I have had no issues at all.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 15, 2013
    Reviewer: Nancy S in Alabama
    * This syrup is awesome! Other sugar free syrups I've tried were watery...this is nice and thick and the taste is as good as any regular syrup out there. Thank goodness I have not had any stomach trouble with the sugar alcohol used in this product. Excellent sugar free product!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 06, 2013
    Reviewer: Chris in Minnesota
    * Very tasty! I'm always leery of sugar-free, but this didn't have the gross aftertaste most sugar-free products have. It was just like the full-sugar syrup, though thicker in consistency.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 11, 2012
    Reviewer: susan in South Carolina
    * This has quickly become one of my favorite things to order from Netrition!!! All the maple flavor and aroma and none of the gooey sugary guilt!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 07, 2012
    Reviewer: Bonita in Florida
    * Very Very Good! A special treat on a low carb diet!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 27, 2011
    Reviewer: Kathleen in New Jersey
    * I use the syrup almost every day for french toast, pancakes, etc. Don't feel deprived without sugar. Very tasty.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 30, 2011
    Reviewer: Casey in Montana
    * Tastes just like syrup, my husband and kids love it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 24, 2011
    Reviewer: Debbie in Rhode Island
    * I love Joseph's Maple Syrup, the best sugar-free syrup I have ever used. After trying, had to buy my Mom some, she is a Diabetic and always complained about watery syrups. This product is so thick with no aftertaste. Low-Carb Pancakes anyone?
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 15, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in South Carolina
    * Amazing product! So versatile and contains no artificial junk! I use this in hot cereal and in baking all the time.....great way to cut down on the sugar without sacrificing flavor!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 02, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in Minnesota
    * Very good. No aftertaste and sweet.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 15, 2011
    Reviewer: Petra in New York
    * This syrup is THE BEST sugar free syrup I have EVER tasted!!!! It is thick and has no weird taste or after taste. It is comparable to all the other name brand syrups out there and my husband even liked it!! Get this syrup!! You wont regret it!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 04, 2011
    Reviewer: Paul in Florida
    * YUUUUUUMMY is all I can say! I had found a great pancake mix in Big Train. Now I was hoping to find a delicious sugar free syrup to go with them. Mission accomplished in Joseph's sugar free syrup! It's thick, pours slowly and tastes as if you were buying sugar, carb and calorie laden syrup from the store. If you want a perfect pancake breakfast, get Big Train's pancake mix and definitely get this syrup to go with it! You won't be disappointed. I'll certainly be buying more!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 26, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * Thick, sweet, and rich with maple flavor - and works well for baking, such as pumpkin pie and peanut butter cookies.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 14, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Virginia
    * This is the best sugar free syrup on the market!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 09, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Virginia
    * You can not tell this is low carb at all.. nice, thick PERFECT syrup.. I am pretty picky, but you can NOT tell the difference!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 16, 2016
    Reviewer: christie in Texas
    * This is by far the best tasting sugar free syrup there is. It tastes thick and rich and perfect... Except for one thing. It does cause gastric distress. Not odorous, thankfully, but noisy. I have found if I take a couple of gas-x tablets beforehand, I can avoid the discomfort. I've been told though that malitol will still cause blood sugar spikes. I can't verify that one way or the other.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 23, 2013
    Reviewer: Wendy in New York
    * I have found this to be the best of the no-sugar "maple" syrups I have tried. It has a thicker texture more like the regular product rather than the watery texture of the other brands. The taste works well, too, but it is the texture that I really like.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 09, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in New Jersey
    * Very thick and syrupy. Delicious flavor.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 01, 2010
    Reviewer: Donna in Michigan
    * Tried several different kinds, most were watery-like. This was very thick with lots of flavor. Not 100% of the original, but the closest thing we've found and no after taste.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 April 08, 2016
    Reviewer: Robin in Michigan
    * This stuff is the bomb, best low carb syrup I've tried so far. Thick and flavorful, as maple syrup should be. HOWEVER, because it's sweetened with MALITOL, it spikes my dad's blood sugar and give my mom terrible diarrhea. A real bummer because it doesn't seem to affect me negatively at all.

    The search continues. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.