Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 December 21, 2007
    Reviewer: Betsy in North Carolina
    * Delicious. ALMOST as good as the discontinued Atkins line of boxed cereals, which had a lower carb count. In absence of that, Hi-Lo is our brand of choice for low-carb cereal. Our 2 equal faves are the Maple Pecan and the Vanilla Almond. HINT: I'm buying the 12oz Original for 1st time. If it's not fab as a cereal, I'll crush it and use with butter and Splenda as a pie crust (pre-baked or not) such as for cheesecake, or as a eggwash coating for chicken strips, etc, much like I'd have used flour years ago. Slightly crush as topper for Dannon Light & Fit Carb & SugarControl yogurt. Or use as a base to make your own granola.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 26, 2015
    Reviewer: ELIZABETH in North Carolina
    * I am a big cereal eater but since eating healthy I've obviously had to cut back on my sugary favorites. This definitely keeps the cravings at bay (even though I do occasionally miss my Frosted Mini Wheats and Lucky Charms). I love the Maple Pecan, it has a nice hint of sweetness to it. The only downside to the cereal is that it cereal gets soggy fairly quickly, so if you're a slow eater like I am, I'd recommend using less milk or just pouring less cereal in at one time. Other than that, the sweetness and initial crunch factor is there.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 26, 2014
    Reviewer: dora in Michigan
    * Best I've found so far.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 09, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in Virginia
    * Pretty good for a low carb cereal.. a slight sweety aftertase, but otherwise not bad.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 01, 2010
    Reviewer: Alicia in Ohio
    * This cereal is great! I did not give it 5 stars only because it does have a slight after taste. I tried both the Vanilla and the Maple and even though I have a big sweet tooth, the Maple was way too sweet even for me! But the Vanilla is just right. I will order it frequently. The other reason for the 4 stars is the price. I know low carb products are expensive but I do feel the price is a bit high for such a small box. Otherwise, I love this stuff and as a type 2 diabetic that tries to keep my carbs low, I am so grateful to be able to eat something other than eggs and bacon for breakfast!
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 03, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * The flavor and texture are kind of rough, so I like to mix the Hi-Lo with a sweeter/crispier cereal, and add some nuts. I need a protein boost in the morning, and this is a better way than powder. You get the soy protein, high fiber, low sodium and low sugar. It keeps me going until lunch.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 01, 2009
    Reviewer: Megan in Idaho
    * The only part of low-carb living that I have trouble with is breakfast. I really don't like eating breakfast at all, and if I have to eat, then I want something bready and sweet. Cereal has always been my favorite breakfast, and when Atkins Nutritionals stopped making their cereal, I thought all was lost. Not so - these cereals, the Maple Pecan and the Vanilla Almond, are so yummy! The texture is crunchy and satisfying, they are sweet but not overpoweringly so, and they really do satisfy. The maple flavor is just a little strong in the Maple Pecan for my taste, and I would love to see a Cinnamon flavor of some kind, but, other than that - they are great. I now can have my cereal and lose weight too!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 09, 2009
    Reviewer: Janice in Massachusetts
    * Sometimes you just have to have a bowl of real cereal and milk... this is it. The portion is small, but is enough to satisfy the need. The texture is a bit different from regular cereals but is still pretty good, and the flavor is actually quite nice.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 25, 2007
    Reviewer: Kelly in Ohio
    * This is by far THE best low carb cereal I have had. I actually enjoyed eating it!
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Deanna in Connecticut
    * I really like the Hi-Lo Vanilla Almond cereal. I suggest not letting it sit before eating, after adding cream or milk so that it keeps the nice crunch. My only complaint is that I cannot eat just one serving.... OK, and the box is a bit smaller than I would like for the price, however the convenience of having something simple at hand to have as a meal or snack is great. Cereal is not just for breakfast and having a box or 2 on hand comes in handy to keep me from grabbing something that is not so healthy when something simple is needed.
    This review is specific to Hi-Lo Cereal, Vanilla Almond
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.