Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 March 05, 2007
    Reviewer: Alana in Nevada
    * Tried the chicken cheese enchilada mix. The flavor isn't bad - very much a mexican tasting soup, nice subtle bite to it. Also easy to prepare. The problem is in the texture - it's basically like a thick broth - no chunks of chicken or bits of cheese or anything, so it can be a little unsatisfying on its own. However, I add leftover chicken chunks and some scallions and it turns into a pretty tasty meal.

    It's a nice option as a meal starter, but not the best on its own.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Cheese Enchilada
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 11, 2015
    Reviewer: Tiffany in New York
    * I was skeptical when I purchased the Broccoli Cheese Soup Mix. I saw that it only had 3 stars but a large majority of people gave it a decent review, so I took a chance and let me be the 1st to say, I am SOOOO glad that I did. While I did make a couple of adjustments to my soup preparation, it is seriously the best Broccoli & Cheese soup that I have EVER had! To start, I put the contents of two pouches in a cup, then I added about 4-6 ounces of hot water from our water cooler (this was hot enough, it did not require microwaving) and finally, I added about an 1/8th of a cup of shredded cheese (I used Mexican Blend, but any kind would do really). This soup was phenomenal. While I will say, if you prepared this soup based on package instructions I think it would have a flavor similar to broccoli cheese water which is why I can understand the previous bad reviews. However, with a little bit of doctoring it really could be a great staple in your pantry!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Broccoli & Cheese
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 June 13, 2013
    Reviewer: Julie in Minnesota
    * I did like the soup but it needs a little more umph....added a cup of frozen broccoli and cheese and pureed and that did the trick.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Broccoli & Cheese
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 August 30, 2013
    Reviewer: Marcy in Texas
    * I really wanted to love this product but it just didn't happen. The soup is watery with hard little flakes of floating mushrooms, and the overall flavor profile is unpleasantly pukey, quite honestly. I just couldn't get past that slightly sour taste. Considering the price of these soup mixes I probably won't bother trying the others. I'm disappointed.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Cream of Mushroom
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 June 20, 2008
    Reviewer: Jennifer in North Carolina
    * AWFUL! I tried the Chicken Noodle soup this morning, and it smelled so horrible that other folks in my office were complaining. Not edible at all. The dried chicken looked pathetic and gray, and the broth mix was gross. Don't waste your money on this product. Instead, make a homemade chicken broth by boiling a whole chicken, add veggies and Dreamfields pasta, and voila! A REAL chicken noodle soup worth ingesting. It's worth the effort.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Noodle
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Margaret in New York
    * I love the idea of this soup. I have only tried the Broccoli and Cheese, and it is LOADED with salt. The flavor- except for the excess saltiness- was good. This soup has almost twice as much sodium as the other soups, so I'm anxious to try the different flavors.

    I did buy the others, so I'll try them, but can't figure out how to make this palatable.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Broccoli & Cheese
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 26, 2015
    Reviewer: Kathy in Virginia
    * This is wonderful! I take it to work for a quick, warm meal. It is great also if I add a little extra Mexican cheese. Also you can eat it with pork rinds as crackers for more body.Very good and filling, and easy.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Cheese Enchilada
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 22, 2015
    Reviewer: Dennis in Ohio
    * The chicken cheese enchilada soup is good. I generally kick it up a notch by adding one or all of the following: Aardvark Secret Jalapeno Sauce, chunky salsa, low carb/low fat cheese and some small chunks of chicken. I follow the stove-top directions. Good enough that I have ordered two more bags. And I am willing to stick my neck out and try the Broccoli & Cheese version.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Cheese Enchilada
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 16, 2014
    Reviewer: Derry in Nevada
    * Not bad, but the cooking directions overflowed in my microwave and I had to try again cooking less.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 11, 2014
    Reviewer: Betty in Utah
    * Last night for dinner I had the Broccoli and Cheese soup with some frozen Broccoli and shredded cheese on top... On a cold night it hit the spot perfectly! I will buy again and I can't wait to try the next flavor!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Broccoli & Cheese
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 30, 2012
    Reviewer: Dawn in California
    * Soup's good on it's own for a snack (it's a smooth consistency, so not chunky-unless you don't stir well ...ha!) but if you want something more substantial, cook as instructed and add a splash of heavy cream or half & half and add a little shredded chicken and cheese, then top with avocado and green onion.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Cheese Enchilada
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 31, 2010
    Reviewer: Stan in New York
    * Very impressive. It feels great to lose weight and still enjoy the flavors of the foods you are eating. Yummy!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Noodle
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 11, 2008
    Reviewer: Alana in California
    * WOW! This soup is truly amazing....I mean really good! Finally, a low carb soup that I actually want to eat. My only complaint is that it is not as thick as I may like, but really that is not important considering how fulfilling the soup is. I highly recommend the Broccoli & Cheese and the Chicken Cheese Enchilada! Those two are the very best! Give 'em a try.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Broccoli & Cheese
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 07, 2007
    Reviewer: Gay B. in Pennsylvania
    * The Broccoli & Cheese soup is very good, but comes in second to the Chicken Cheese Enchilada - which is GRAND! It really hits the spot for a hot lunch packed with favor. For only 2 carbs, it is a wonderful treat for a meal! To add a "sandwich", melt a slice of American cheese inside a Dixie Diner Classic Carrot (1 carb) Muffin! This is a CLASS ACT for a low carb meal with lots of flavor to satisfy the palate! I highly recommend!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Cheese Enchilada
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 26, 2007
    Reviewer: Rachel in Washington
    * This was a really good instant soup mix (chicken noodle). I just used the hot water out of our water cooler and it was plenty hot. No need to microwave if you do that. Add some shredded Parmesan and it is out of this world!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Noodle
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 27, 2007
    Reviewer: Penny in New Mexico
    * I used the mushroom flavored soup with cream and a can of mushrooms just as you would use a can of soup and the recipe turned out delicious. I like that there are individual packets rather than one or two large ones.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 11, 2007
    Reviewer: Grace in Wisconsin
    * The Cream of Mushroom is fabulous.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Cream of Mushroom
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 12, 2007
    Reviewer: Cheryl in Indiana
    * I tried the chicken cheese enchilada and it is great! I love it! I'll be trying other flavors.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Cheese Enchilada
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 06, 2009
    Reviewer: Amy in Georgia
    * I tried the Chicken Cheese Enchilada and it was quite good once I doctored it up a bit. I added some leftover chopped chicken chunks and spiced it up a bit with some chili powder and a dash of cayenne. (I enjoy spicy foods so this may not be to everyone elses tastes) I don't think it would be quite as satisfying without the added chicken though.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Cheese Enchilada
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 04, 2008
    Reviewer: Meadow in Illinois
    * The Chicken Cheese Enchilada soup was pretty good...I had my doubts after reading other reviews. I added cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream (I'll put it in anything, really) and it was good. It needed a little kick so maybe next time I'll add some chili powder or something to make it a little spicy. Next time I will also back off the recommended water and/or substitute some with cream. Thicker, I could see this over low-carb pasta or chicken...mmmmmm.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Cheese Enchilada
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 20, 2008
    Reviewer: Courtney in South Carolina
    * I just received the Broc&cheese and it was good. With a little extra cheese and broccoli; it was just like real HC soup. I think i will add chicken or some meat next time. Also may be a little creamier with a little heavy cream sub'd for part of the water. I highly recommend this soup, it was good on a cold night for dinner.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Broccoli & Cheese
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 February 09, 2015
    Reviewer: Elizabeth in Georgia
    * I expected cream of mushroom it was very thin. I wanted to use it in a recipe that called for cream of mushroom and it was awful. I am thinking of asking for a refund. I shouldn't have to pay this much for what I got.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Cream of Mushroom
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 May 29, 2010
    Reviewer: Keith in California
    * yuck
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Chicken Noodle
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 September 12, 2008
    Reviewer: Barbara in Florida
    * Three of the women I work with tried this with me and the general comment was - It tastes like liquid salt!! Great if you like salt, but we thought it was terrible!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Broccoli & Cheese
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 May 18, 2008
    Reviewer: Sandra in Pennsylvania
    * The chicken noodle and the creme of broccoli are terrible and so is the creme of mushroom. The chicken cheese enchilada is eatable.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 January 26, 2008
    Reviewer: Valerie in Kansas
    * I usually like Dixie Diner products and use them all the time, but the soups are AWFUL! I bought all four flavors because I was so excited about FINALLY getting to eat instant soup on a low-carb diet but could hardly choke any of them down. Just threw all that I had left in the trash to make room for food that I can actually stand to eat.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 January 17, 2008
    Reviewer: Tracy in Oregon
    * Tried both the Chicken Noodle and Broccoli & Cheese soups. Both are not good! Chicken Noodle had a weird flavor, didn't really taste like chicken. Not a lot of substance to either, so they were not filling at all. I liked the convenience of the single serving packages, especially for taking to work. Too bad the flavor was so bad.

    Other Dixie Diner products are good though. I have tried the mashed potatoes and the pancake mix. Both are very good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 December 19, 2007
    Reviewer: Nancy in California
    * I tried this for the first time today, it was so awful I threw out the whole package. I bought this to keep at my desk at work for a quick snack or light lunch. I can not believe anyone could eat this, the smell, flavor and texture were all terrible.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Soup Mix, Broccoli & Cheese
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.