• 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 13, 2008
    Reviewer: Betsy in North Carolina
    I ordered, first time, a few months back -apple cinnamon and sweet maple flavors- and let them sit in the pantry for a long time. When I finally "got up for trying it", I wanted it every day! Delicious as is!!! But for extra nutrition or flavor variety, I add only ~1/3 cup water max, and supplement with cream, half&half, &/or one of about 10 DiVinci sugar-free syrups (ie banana, pancake syrup) I keep on hand. EXTRA YUM! ...Or I add a few crushed, fresh berries (great use for fruit at the "past prime" stage), &/or extra cinnamon, or broken pecans. ...But, again, these two flavors at least, are delicious as is!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 01, 2010
    Reviewer: Christina in New York
    OK, so it's not oatmeal but you know what.. it's pretty darn good for low carb. Face it, if your a low carber, your choices are limited, but if you're in the mood for a hot cereal, this really hits the spot. I like to mix in the Oat fiber 500 for an extra smooth texture and additional volume with no additional added carbs. Also the cereal is already sweetened so all you need is some hot water. I also suggest giving it 1 minute in the microwave to make the texture even smoother, but keep an eye out or it will poof up and overflow.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Cinnamon Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 03, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
    Love this hot with sugar free maple syrup on it. But I daily have it mixed in a high protein yogurt with a few chopped walnuts tossed in. Let it set 10 minutes to absorb the yogurt and it tastes great and is high on the satiety list.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 27, 2012
    Reviewer: Brandi in Colorado
    I ordered sweet maple and apple cinnamon and I could not finish either of them. They were not very good at all and did not remind me of oatmeal or even malt o meal. I had to throw the rest away, I couldn't get anyone to eat it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 28, 2007
    Reviewer: Ginny in Illinois
    I LOVE the apple and cinnamon spice - very good. Wish the amount was a bit more per serving.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 July 25, 2008
    Reviewer: Michelle in Ohio
    I couldn't stand the taste nor the texture. I love oatmeal and thought that this product would be a hit for me. Not to my liking, at all.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 April 11, 2008
    Reviewer: Sherrell in Maryland
    I wish they had -0 as a rating on this product. I bought the Peaches and Cream and it was horrible! I normally can tolerate foods that aren't that good in taste, but this product here was just to hard to try and eat; I had to throw it away after trying to force down the 2nd spoonful. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT!!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 29, 2008
    Reviewer: dave in Iowa
    Geez, who wrote they love this stuff? Most Dixie Diner products (especially the brownies) are quite good. But the apple cinnamon hot cereal is by far the worst. Bland, with a soy-papery consistency.

    I love oatmeal, maltomeal, and the rest. but if this is the substitute, then I'll continue to eat eggs, bacon, and low-carb waffles....

    try again Dixie...

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 February 22, 2008
    Reviewer: Kimberly in Illinois
    I bought this because I miss oatmeal. I still do. The reviews were great, so I'm not sure if we got the same product. I dumped mine down the drain and I'll eat anything! I wouldn't have even described it as oatmeal. The consistency was much like muddy water with so little flavor it was shocking. Stick with the stuff in the store with high fiber and no added sugar. You'll be much happier!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 May 02, 2007
    Reviewer: Jon in Ohio
    I bought this because I love oatmeal and cream of wheat and as I am on a low carb diet I cannot have either. I tried the sweet maple flavor and it has a very strong soy flavor that is to me inedible. I will throw out the remaining packets and try something else.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 12, 2015
    Reviewer: Tara in California
    Very nice flavor and texture. You can't get any closer to oatmeal with so few carbs! Because of these fine products, you can have a low carb lifestyle, and you still do NOT have to give up hot cereal. It's wonderful! Dixie USA, if you read this review, please start developing a low carb Malt-o-meal like product next.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 15, 2015
    Reviewer: JOANNE in Maryland
    I was so surprised at how good this was.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 18, 2014
    Reviewer: kim in North Carolina
    Being diabetic this is a great substitute for the normal high carb cereals. I always add a dash of cinnamon, 2 drops of sweetener, and 2 tbsp. of fresh berries. This is a very filling meal and tastes good. It's close enough to oatmeal for me. I will be buying this again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 01, 2014
    Reviewer: Bruce in Illinois
    As others, I am so tired of eggs for breakfast and don't want to fuss with making something time consuming. I missed my oatmeal and cereal for breakfast everyday and this fits the bill! This is not your regular Quaker Maple and Brown Sugar Oatmeal but a great substitute if you want to watch your carbs. I add a little butter to enhance the flavor and just a tablespoon or so of milk. Exactly the low carb breakfast satisfying food I was hungering for. Previously ordered only one to try, just ordered four more sweet maple flavor.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 17, 2014
    Reviewer: Carla in Florida
    Great taste! It tastes like oatmeal.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 03, 2014
    Reviewer: Laura in Missouri
    So glad I tried this cerea1. I really missed oatmeal and cream of wheat type hot cereals. I've tried the apple cinnamon, peaches & cream and cinnamon spice. The peach isn't very "peachy", so I've ordered some sugar free syrup to add to it! The apple flavor is ok, and the cinnamon spice is nice and neutral so I will try adding other syrups to that one. Its nice and filling too!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 25, 2013
    Reviewer: Sara in Arkansas
    Having to do low carb since I am a diabetic I miss my oatmeal. I love oatmeal. This is a great alternative and it does not raise my blood sugar. TASTES GREAT!( Crying with happiness!!) AND there is no funny after taste. I always order the apple cinnamon. Does not disappoint! I will order more!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 23, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
    I love this product! One thing I really missed on Atkins was a bowl of hot oatmeal as breakfast or an evening snack. No, this is not exactly like the sugar sweetened packets you get in the store, but I actually like it better. To me,it is a cross between oatmeal and cream of wheat. I don't feel the peaches and cream had much flavor, but I add some frozen berries to it when I add the hot water anyway, so no biggie. So happy to have this and am reordering in the larger size in the apple cinnamon!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 15, 2013
    Reviewer: Pam in Oklahoma
    So excited to find this low carb hot cereal. I love the taste and prefer the plain over any of the flavors. It thickens as you stir and has great consistency.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 23, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Oklahoma
    I love oatmeal and cream of wheat but living a LC lifestyle I miss not having hot cereal. This is a perfect substitute! I order the natural flavor and add a little sprinkle of cinnamon and tsp of splenda. With only 3 net carbs per pkg can't beat it I highly recommend!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 14, 2013
    Reviewer: Vicki in Michigan
    Delicious! I have this every morning for breakfast. As good as any regular hot oatmeal I've ever had. Makes a great low-calorie, low-carb snack in the winter too. So good...tastes like a warm, yummy oatmeal cookie! Highly recommend. You won't be disappointed.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 15, 2012
    Reviewer: Connie in Ohio
    On low carb, I really miss oatmeal - esp. on chilly mornings or if I'm sick. This tastes great!! And the peach flavor helps my fruit cravings.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 06, 2012
    Reviewer: Brenda` in Virginia
    At first I didn't care for the texture. I was so used to other kinds of oatmeal. But I have grown to love it and have a bowl almost every morning. The peach and cream to me didn't have much flavor, but I love the apple cinnamon.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 11, 2012
    Reviewer: Lori in California
    Thick and hearty with good flavor. Very filling..
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 20, 2012
    Reviewer: janice in Florida
    Love this and could eat it every day..a bit too pricy for me though.. I tried the apple Cin and sweet maple.. I love the maple the best.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 12, 2011
    Reviewer: Tamara in California
    Excellent! It smells a wee bit pea-like but didn't taste like it. It actually tastes quite good and I didn't feel hungry for at least 5 hours after 2 packets of the cereal with some light soy milk. I sweeten it a bit more with splenda or a small amount of sugar free maple syrup. Glad I tried it despite my skepticism.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 22, 2011
    Reviewer: Mark in Florida
    This is an excellent substitution for regular oatmeal when you are on a low carb diet. Highly recommend. We buy the Sweet Maple and Cinnamon Spice and both are very good. My wife adds a splenda sometimes to the bowl to give it a little more sweetness.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 12, 2011
    Reviewer: Lisa in Texas
    I was glad to find a good low carb hot cereal. I love the maple and the cinnamon spice. I now eat it with a little splenda and cream every morning for breakfast. The regular is pretty good too. But I was not impressed with the apple cinnamon or the peaches and cream and would never order these 2 again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 02, 2010
    Reviewer: Susan in Texas
    I keep this cereal at my office and have it most mornings for breakfast. I really like the natural flavor, and I add my own spices and flavorings. I like to add cinnamon and a few raisins, or apples or bananas. It has replaced oatmeal for me. I add a little splenda, some margarine, and cream for a satisfying breakfast.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 28, 2010
    Reviewer: Karen in Nebraska
    Very good flavor, I really enjoy this product and I can not say that about too many other low carb foods. If you like oatmeal, you will like this.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 04, 2009
    Reviewer: RICHARD in Tennessee
    I just had some Dixie diner hot sweet maple cereal this morning. I added stevia and a little sugar free maple syrup and fat free promise margarine. It was excellent. My first time to eat it and I loved it.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 30, 2009
    Reviewer: Susan in Texas
    I really like this cereal. I have tried the natural flavor, and I use different spices and flavored syrups to make whatever flavor I am craving at the time. My current favorite combination is SF vanilla syrup, cinnamon, and half of a mashed ripe banana. I add a little butter spray and cream, and I love it! I am going to try some other flavors as well.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 10, 2009
    Reviewer: Greta in Wisconsin
    I bought this item to try and I have to say I love it! I ordered Sweet maple and apple cinnamon. I like them both, but maple is my favorite. I just ordered more. I add a little butter and one packet of splenda. I would recommend this to oatmeal lovers.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 20, 2009
    Reviewer: Kristine in Florida
    Excellent cereal with great flavor. I've just reordered. Does not taste "fake" or like cardboard. I'm doing Atkins and this is a fabulous addition to my limited diet. If it's not sweet enough for you, just add half a packet of Splenda.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 09, 2009
    Reviewer: Janice in Massachusetts
    I love this hot cereal. Flavor (Sweet Maple) is quite tasty, and I usually only add a little bit of half-n-half and it's all set. Keeps my hunger at bay until lunchtime!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 19, 2009
    Reviewer: Jerry in Minnesota
    I add a TBS of butter,Splenda,heavy whipping cream and tsp (little less than) of cinnamon to original directions and come up with a hot cereal that I can't seem to get enough of. Keep in mind total carbs in how often you enjoy it and your total carb intake. So far I have only done this to the sweet maple
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 16, 2009
    Reviewer: John in Michigan
    Great alternative to standard oatmeal you find at the grocery store. The consistency is different but plausible, and nonetheless this is a great Low carb alternative for a healthy Type 2 Diabetic lifestyle. I use water in place of milk and often add crushed walnuts as a topping (~1/4 cup).
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 28, 2009
    Reviewer: Vicki in Illinois
    I was pleasantly surprised that this hot cereal tasted so good and not to mention it's also full of good nutrients... It's the best tasting I have tried. Great aroma and texture...I added a little butter, Splenda and Almond Breeze Milk...I will definitely order again and try more flavors...
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Cinnamon Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2009
    Reviewer: Eileen in North Carolina
    I've been low-carb for several years and one thing I really missed was a good warm cereal, along the lines of Cream of Wheat. I wish I had ordered this AGES ago! I ordered the Cinnamon Spice and Sweet Maple and could not be happier with them! They are warm and delicious without being too sweet and if you want it sweeter, a touch of sf maple syrup or sugar substitute is all you need. I like mixing a bit of the flax'n'snax cereal into this as well for a touch more flax, too, but not too much, or you lose the creamy texture. Since Atkins changed my regular breakfast cereal bars to a sweeter version, I may well switch over to having hot cereal every morning at work. :) Oh, I like making it with a bit of cream and butter in the water.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 07, 2009
    Reviewer: Yaira in Virginia
    It is very filling and has a great flavor, you would never know that is not all oatmeal in that mix! The texture is very similar to oatmeal as well. Would recommend in a heartbeat, it's a great breakfast on a cold morning!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 14, 2009
    Reviewer: Traci in Ohio
    We love this cereal! My husband likes to add a little cinnamon to the Sweet Maple cereal and just a little sugar free maple syrup. We tried the other flavors but just keep coming back to the sweet maple flavor. I buy 10 boxes at a time!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 21, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    INCREDIBLE TASTE. Easy to make -- very low carbs -- best hot cereal I have found. Just bought enough for the next few months.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 09, 2008
    Reviewer: Kathleen in Connecticut
    SO YUMMY! I feel like I am 5yrd when I am eating Dixie Hot Cereal. Seriously, it is so good. It is a quick fix to a late night or early morning meal when I am super busy and do not have time to prepare anything. I usually double up and it keeps me really full.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Barbara in Ohio
    This oatmeal tastes the same as the high carb stuff. Just wonderful.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 27, 2007
    Reviewer: evlyn in Ohio
    This is the best tasting low carb product I have found yet. It is very filling, and has no aftertaste! I have mixed in the Jok n' Al Fruit toppings too for an extra treat!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 20, 2007
    Reviewer: TODD in New York
    This cereal is a real treat to a person like myself who is on a low carb diet. Maybe it doesn't taste just like Cream of Wheat or Maypo but, to be as low carb and low calorie as it is, I say Great Job Dixie Diner! Add a little butter, Splenda and Nut Meal for an even bigger treat.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 28, 2007
    Reviewer: amanda in Illinois
    I really like oatmeal. This tastes like oatmeal. I love the convenience too! I have tried many hot cereals. This is the best so far! I didn't have to add anything to it!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 12, 2015
    Reviewer: YeVetta in Illinois
    The cereal reminded me of the discontinued version by Atkins. It was not a great taste but it was not a bad one either. Let us say that it was "do-able". The texture was not bad, there was a bit of "nuttiness" in the taste and above all it was filling. I added a pad of butter, some splenda, lots of cinnamon then followed up with a cup of milk and a fruit and I was good for a solid three hours. Meaning I had no cravings of any kind. And this cereal kept me on the "regular", if you know what I mean. So that is my review.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 06, 2015
    Reviewer: Elliott in Tennessee
    Needs a little dressing up for flavor, but very good and filling.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 09, 2014
    Reviewer: Michelle in Maine
    Just wanted to say that this hot cereal is like others have described - a mix between oatmeal (chewy little bits) and cream of wheat (creamy and smooth textures) I got the apple cinnamon based on the reviews and at one packet as is and one packet with a little SF maple syurp.. both very good..
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 17, 2012
    Reviewer: Mellisa in Vermont
    I added a little bit of Splenda to the Sweet Maple and it was really good. It is filling too. I like this flavor the best. The Cinnamon Spice is also another favorite.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 19, 2009
    Reviewer: Denise in Pennsylvania
    I really enjoyed the cereal. I recommend adding a lot less water than the directions call for (unless you prefer VERY watery/thin oatmeal)
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 06, 2009
    Reviewer: Angela in Tennessee
    This is a good break from turkey bacon and egg white low-carb/low-fat breakfasts, but the taste isn't the best. To be fair, I was really looking for something more like oatmeal, which is probably not realistic. That said, adding some cinnamon and stevia, this is a good breakfast that will keep you full.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Cinnamon Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Kim in France
    Nice product if you don't mind the soy bits texture, which could seem a bit weird to some, I don't mind. I add freshly ground cinnamon and some stevia to mine. Small servings, but filling and low carb whilst being low cal, too (many LC products tend to be a bit high in cals), which is a big plus to me.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 01, 2007
    Reviewer: Charlotte in North Carolina
    I was very surprised that this hot cereal was so good. I did, however, add a little Splenda and butter to enhance the flavor, but I will continue to buy it.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 November 06, 2013
    Reviewer: Chelsea in California
    I have definitely had worse! I added a little almond milk and splenda. I will be ordering this regularly, its very filling.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 November 21, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in Virginia
    I tried the Apple-Cinnamon Dixie Diner hot cereal this weekend and it was passable, but not actually tasty. It is okay for a low-carb food, but not something I would recommend as regular hot-cereal substitute.

    On the up side, the packets are very convenient as they require no measurement. When prepared according to the directions, this cereal was thin and runny. The oats in the mix did provide a nice bit of chewy texture, but the apple-cinnamon flavor was a bit chemical and had a strong soy note. I liked the flavor better after I added cinnamon to the mix. The serving was a bit small, and although the cereal was high in protein, I was hungry again less than two hours later.

    I plan to finish the pack I bought but not buy more of it.

    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 January 03, 2011
    Reviewer: Rebecca in Oregon
    This product is ok. Of course regular hot cereal is preferred but when you are low carbing it, this does the trick.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 October 05, 2008
    Reviewer: Louis J in New Mexico
    The "Sweet Maple" cereal is the best of the low-carb hot cereals I've tried. I've tried Peaches & Cream, Apple & Cinnamon, and Flax-Z-Snax.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 June 11, 2008
    Reviewer: Amber in Texas
    If you add extra cinnamon and sweetener, the flavor is Great! I just can't get past the odd texture. I love oatmeal/hot cereal, but this product just doesn't feel like oatmeal/hot cereal on the tongue. If texture isn't important to you, try it. If texture rules your taste preferences like mine, you probably won't like this.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 June 16, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
    I tried the peaches and cream, but didn't really notice the flavor of peach too much. The cereal itself was tasty but not quite what I was looking for.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 March 19, 2015
    Reviewer: Krystal in California
    I tried the apples and cinnamon flavor, and I don't get all of these glowing reviews. The flavor was bland, the texture was watery with really hard bits mixed in, and I was hungry again soon after I ate it. I bought a 5-pack and tried varying the amount of water, but consistency never seemed quite right. Some people seem to have found ways to doctor theirs and get better results. I'll try that with my last 2 packets.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 February 27, 2012
    Reviewer: Brandi in Colorado
    I ordered sweet maple and apple cinnamon and I could not finish either of them. They were not very good at all and did not remind me of oatmeal or even malt o meal. I had to throw the rest away, I couldn't get anyone to eat it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 February 15, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in Oklahoma
    I tried the Apple Cinnamon and it was just barely edible. Prepared according to direction left it a little too chewy, so I put it in the microwave and nuked it a little and then added some Truvia and was able to eat it. I just don't enjoy the texture though. Once I had nuked it a little more it reminded me of instant oatmeal and I've never liked instant oatmeal. So I'll probably finish the rest of the packets and won't order anymore.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 January 03, 2012
    Reviewer: Marian in Tennessee
    I like most Dixie Diner products but couldn't finish this one. The consistency was no where close to an oatmeal, a cream of wheat, grits, or any hot cereal. The taste wasn't bad but I couldn't get passed the consistency.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 September 01, 2015
    Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
    Sadly this stuff is disgusting!!! I re-read the ingredients because it has such a horrible taste! I thought it may have a ton of aspartame in it of something.... I bought several flavors and assume I will be throwing them all out..
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 May 19, 2015
    Reviewer: Jacqueline in Florida
    I only am rating this product a 1 because zero is not an option. COMPLETE waste of money. There was little to no flavor and the flavor that was there was seriously bitter. I even added a few packets of stevia in order to get it down....that didn't work. Aside from the lack of flavor the texture was terrible to boot. It was a little like cream of wheat but not even that good. Unless you like these characteristics in your hot cereal keep your money
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 May 16, 2015
    Reviewer: Debra in New York
    OMG Yuk, the soy flavor almost made gag! I threw every one of them away, what a waste of money!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 17, 2015
    Reviewer: Holly in Missouri
    THE nastiest stuff I have EVER put in my mouth. My first Dixie disappointment.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 December 01, 2011
    Reviewer: Cathy in Tennessee
    Oatmeal it's not. Gloppy and yucky. It wasn't thick at all, but there were just a few grains of oats in the "soup." It didn't taste good to me, I threw it away. Maybe if you liked products made with soy protein you might like this more than I did. It came in a sample pack of a bunch of low carb foods.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 August 20, 2011
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    This oatmeal had a very unpleasant taste and texture. After one spoonful, I threw the rest away. Don't waste your money on it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 January 10, 2011
    Reviewer: Barbara in Michigan
    I have been eating low carb hot cereal for a long time (Flax n Snax which is no longer available at netrition.com) and thought I'd try the Dixie Diner apple cinnamon cereal for a change. Dixie Diner makes great muffin mixes so I was looking forward to trying the cereal. It was terrible both in consistency and taste! I couldn't finish eating it and now that my coworkers saw my face while eating it, I can't try to pass it along to them.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 17, 2010
    Reviewer: Gregory in California
    This stuff is awful. Nasty after taste and it looks like mud. Lot of good low carb products out there, but this is not one of them.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 March 10, 2010
    Reviewer: Mary in New Jersey
    I have been trying out many low carb items from Netrition and this is the absolute worst thing I have ever eaten. I am not even sure how to explain it! It tastes NOTHING like oatmeal. I DO NOT recommend this at all!!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 March 01, 2010
    Reviewer: kathy in Illinois
    Get some sand mix with water, cinnamon. There you have it. Seriously how can they say this is a edible product?
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Cinnamon Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 January 11, 2010
    Reviewer: Myrna in Virginia
    Whew, for a minute I thought I just got a bad batch when I saw all the positive reviews. Now I see there are others who had the same experience as I did, I bought the cinnamon apple and maple. I tried the cinnamon apple and practically gagged the stuff was so nasty! I don't even want to try the maple. Like others I can usually stomach semi-cardboard tasting low carb items, but this was beyond nasty to me. Not like oatmeal at all more like a cream of wheat with the taste of YUCK!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 January 06, 2009
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    I wish I could give this stuff 0 stars - it is NASTY. I read the positive reviews and I really wonder about them. Gross, watery, looks like sludge, tastes artificial and the consistency is nauseating. I have eaten McCann's in the past and it is fabulous. I know the nutritionals may not be as ideal as there but you couldn't pay me to eat another packet of this stuff. BEWARE!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.