Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 13, 2008
    Reviewer: Betsy in North Carolina
    * I ordered, first time, a few months back -apple cinnamon and sweet maple flavors- and let them sit in the pantry for a long time. When I finally "got up for trying it", I wanted it every day! Delicious as is!!! But for extra nutrition or flavor variety, I add only ~1/3 cup water max, and supplement with cream, half&half, &/or one of about 10 DiVinci sugar-free syrups (ie banana, pancake syrup) I keep on hand. EXTRA YUM! ...Or I add a few crushed, fresh berries (great use for fruit at the "past prime" stage), &/or extra cinnamon, or broken pecans. ...But, again, these two flavors at least, are delicious as is!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 01, 2010
    Reviewer: Christina in New York
    * OK, so it's not oatmeal but you know what.. it's pretty darn good for low carb. Face it, if your a low carber, your choices are limited, but if you're in the mood for a hot cereal, this really hits the spot. I like to mix in the Oat fiber 500 for an extra smooth texture and additional volume with no additional added carbs. Also the cereal is already sweetened so all you need is some hot water. I also suggest giving it 1 minute in the microwave to make the texture even smoother, but keep an eye out or it will poof up and overflow.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Cinnamon Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 03, 2012
    Reviewer: A customer in Michigan
    * Love this hot with sugar free maple syrup on it. But I daily have it mixed in a high protein yogurt with a few chopped walnuts tossed in. Let it set 10 minutes to absorb the yogurt and it tastes great and is high on the satiety list.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 27, 2012
    Reviewer: Brandi in Colorado
    * I ordered sweet maple and apple cinnamon and I could not finish either of them. They were not very good at all and did not remind me of oatmeal or even malt o meal. I had to throw the rest away, I couldn't get anyone to eat it.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 November 28, 2007
    Reviewer: Ginny in Illinois
    * I LOVE the apple and cinnamon spice - very good. Wish the amount was a bit more per serving.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 16, 2016
    Reviewer: Stacie in Pennsylvania
    * Best oatmeal I have ever had!! My fiancÚ doesn't even like oatmeal's texture, but he loves Dixie USA's Hot Cereal. We get the Natural Flavor. Our favorite meal of the day is now breakfast, which is when we eat this cereal. I really don't understand any of the bad reviews on here. This stuff is phenomenal!!! If you are thinking about ordering, please do. You will not be sorry.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 12, 2016
    Reviewer: Sandra in Massachusetts
    * I have tried all of the flavors of this hot cereal, and I would recommend all of them. It is reminiscent of oatmeal or cream of wheat with low calories and low carbs. Tastes great, good texture, and no artificial sweeteners.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 12, 2015
    Reviewer: Tara in California
    * Very nice flavor and texture. You can't get any closer to oatmeal with so few carbs! Because of these fine products, you can have a low carb lifestyle, and you still do NOT have to give up hot cereal. It's wonderful! Dixie USA, if you read this review, please start developing a low carb Malt-o-meal like product next.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 15, 2015
    Reviewer: JOANNE in Maryland
    * I was so surprised at how good this was.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 18, 2014
    Reviewer: kim in North Carolina
    * Being diabetic this is a great substitute for the normal high carb cereals. I always add a dash of cinnamon, 2 drops of sweetener, and 2 tbsp. of fresh berries. This is a very filling meal and tastes good. It's close enough to oatmeal for me. I will be buying this again.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 01, 2014
    Reviewer: Bruce in Illinois
    * As others, I am so tired of eggs for breakfast and don't want to fuss with making something time consuming. I missed my oatmeal and cereal for breakfast everyday and this fits the bill! This is not your regular Quaker Maple and Brown Sugar Oatmeal but a great substitute if you want to watch your carbs. I add a little butter to enhance the flavor and just a tablespoon or so of milk. Exactly the low carb breakfast satisfying food I was hungering for. Previously ordered only one to try, just ordered four more sweet maple flavor.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 17, 2014
    Reviewer: Carla in Florida
    * Great taste! It tastes like oatmeal.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 03, 2014
    Reviewer: Laura in Missouri
    * So glad I tried this cerea1. I really missed oatmeal and cream of wheat type hot cereals. I've tried the apple cinnamon, peaches & cream and cinnamon spice. The peach isn't very "peachy", so I've ordered some sugar free syrup to add to it! The apple flavor is ok, and the cinnamon spice is nice and neutral so I will try adding other syrups to that one. Its nice and filling too!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 25, 2013
    Reviewer: Sara in Arkansas
    * Having to do low carb since I am a diabetic I miss my oatmeal. I love oatmeal. This is a great alternative and it does not raise my blood sugar. TASTES GREAT!( Crying with happiness!!) AND there is no funny after taste. I always order the apple cinnamon. Does not disappoint! I will order more!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 23, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
    * I love this product! One thing I really missed on Atkins was a bowl of hot oatmeal as breakfast or an evening snack. No, this is not exactly like the sugar sweetened packets you get in the store, but I actually like it better. To me,it is a cross between oatmeal and cream of wheat. I don't feel the peaches and cream had much flavor, but I add some frozen berries to it when I add the hot water anyway, so no biggie. So happy to have this and am reordering in the larger size in the apple cinnamon!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 15, 2013
    Reviewer: Pam in Oklahoma
    * So excited to find this low carb hot cereal. I love the taste and prefer the plain over any of the flavors. It thickens as you stir and has great consistency.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 23, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in Oklahoma
    * I love oatmeal and cream of wheat but living a LC lifestyle I miss not having hot cereal. This is a perfect substitute! I order the natural flavor and add a little sprinkle of cinnamon and tsp of splenda. With only 3 net carbs per pkg can't beat it I highly recommend!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 14, 2013
    Reviewer: Vicki in Michigan
    * Delicious! I have this every morning for breakfast. As good as any regular hot oatmeal I've ever had. Makes a great low-calorie, low-carb snack in the winter too. So good...tastes like a warm, yummy oatmeal cookie! Highly recommend. You won't be disappointed.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 15, 2012
    Reviewer: Connie in Ohio
    * On low carb, I really miss oatmeal - esp. on chilly mornings or if I'm sick. This tastes great!! And the peach flavor helps my fruit cravings.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Peaches & Cream
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 06, 2012
    Reviewer: Brenda` in Virginia
    * At first I didn't care for the texture. I was so used to other kinds of oatmeal. But I have grown to love it and have a bowl almost every morning. The peach and cream to me didn't have much flavor, but I love the apple cinnamon.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 11, 2012
    Reviewer: Lori in California
    * Thick and hearty with good flavor. Very filling..
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 20, 2012
    Reviewer: Janice in Florida
    * Love this and could eat it every day..a bit too pricy for me though.. I tried the apple Cin and sweet maple.. I love the maple the best.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 12, 2011
    Reviewer: Tamara in California
    * Excellent! It smells a wee bit pea-like but didn't taste like it. It actually tastes quite good and I didn't feel hungry for at least 5 hours after 2 packets of the cereal with some light soy milk. I sweeten it a bit more with splenda or a small amount of sugar free maple syrup. Glad I tried it despite my skepticism.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 22, 2011
    Reviewer: Mark in Florida
    * This is an excellent substitution for regular oatmeal when you are on a low carb diet. Highly recommend. We buy the Sweet Maple and Cinnamon Spice and both are very good. My wife adds a splenda sometimes to the bowl to give it a little more sweetness.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 12, 2011
    Reviewer: Lisa in Texas
    * I was glad to find a good low carb hot cereal. I love the maple and the cinnamon spice. I now eat it with a little splenda and cream every morning for breakfast. The regular is pretty good too. But I was not impressed with the apple cinnamon or the peaches and cream and would never order these 2 again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 02, 2010
    Reviewer: Susan in Texas
    * I keep this cereal at my office and have it most mornings for breakfast. I really like the natural flavor, and I add my own spices and flavorings. I like to add cinnamon and a few raisins, or apples or bananas. It has replaced oatmeal for me. I add a little splenda, some margarine, and cream for a satisfying breakfast.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 28, 2010
    Reviewer: Karen in Nebraska
    * Very good flavor, I really enjoy this product and I can not say that about too many other low carb foods. If you like oatmeal, you will like this.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 04, 2009
    Reviewer: RICHARD in Tennessee
    * I just had some Dixie diner hot sweet maple cereal this morning. I added stevia and a little sugar free maple syrup and fat free promise margarine. It was excellent. My first time to eat it and I loved it.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 30, 2009
    Reviewer: Susan in Texas
    * I really like this cereal. I have tried the natural flavor, and I use different spices and flavored syrups to make whatever flavor I am craving at the time. My current favorite combination is SF vanilla syrup, cinnamon, and half of a mashed ripe banana. I add a little butter spray and cream, and I love it! I am going to try some other flavors as well.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 10, 2009
    Reviewer: Greta in Wisconsin
    * I bought this item to try and I have to say I love it! I ordered Sweet maple and apple cinnamon. I like them both, but maple is my favorite. I just ordered more. I add a little butter and one packet of splenda. I would recommend this to oatmeal lovers.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 20, 2009
    Reviewer: Kristine in Florida
    * Excellent cereal with great flavor. I've just reordered. Does not taste "fake" or like cardboard. I'm doing Atkins and this is a fabulous addition to my limited diet. If it's not sweet enough for you, just add half a packet of Splenda.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 09, 2009
    Reviewer: Janice in Massachusetts
    * I love this hot cereal. Flavor (Sweet Maple) is quite tasty, and I usually only add a little bit of half-n-half and it's all set. Keeps my hunger at bay until lunchtime!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 19, 2009
    Reviewer: Jerry in Minnesota
    * I add a TBS of butter,Splenda,heavy whipping cream and tsp (little less than) of cinnamon to original directions and come up with a hot cereal that I can't seem to get enough of. Keep in mind total carbs in how often you enjoy it and your total carb intake. So far I have only done this to the sweet maple
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 16, 2009
    Reviewer: John in Michigan
    * Great alternative to standard oatmeal you find at the grocery store. The consistency is different but plausible, and nonetheless this is a great Low carb alternative for a healthy Type 2 Diabetic lifestyle. I use water in place of milk and often add crushed walnuts as a topping (~1/4 cup).
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 28, 2009
    Reviewer: Vicki in Illinois
    * I was pleasantly surprised that this hot cereal tasted so good and not to mention it's also full of good nutrients... It's the best tasting I have tried. Great aroma and texture...I added a little butter, Splenda and Almond Breeze Milk...I will definitely order again and try more flavors...
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Cinnamon Spice
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2009
    Reviewer: Eileen in North Carolina
    * I've been low-carb for several years and one thing I really missed was a good warm cereal, along the lines of Cream of Wheat. I wish I had ordered this AGES ago! I ordered the Cinnamon Spice and Sweet Maple and could not be happier with them! They are warm and delicious without being too sweet and if you want it sweeter, a touch of sf maple syrup or sugar substitute is all you need. I like mixing a bit of the flax'n'snax cereal into this as well for a touch more flax, too, but not too much, or you lose the creamy texture. Since Atkins changed my regular breakfast cereal bars to a sweeter version, I may well switch over to having hot cereal every morning at work. :) Oh, I like making it with a bit of cream and butter in the water.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 07, 2009
    Reviewer: Yaira in Virginia
    * It is very filling and has a great flavor, you would never know that is not all oatmeal in that mix! The texture is very similar to oatmeal as well. Would recommend in a heartbeat, it's a great breakfast on a cold morning!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Apple Cinnamon
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 14, 2009
    Reviewer: Traci in Ohio
    * We love this cereal! My husband likes to add a little cinnamon to the Sweet Maple cereal and just a little sugar free maple syrup. We tried the other flavors but just keep coming back to the sweet maple flavor. I buy 10 boxes at a time!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 21, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * INCREDIBLE TASTE. Easy to make -- very low carbs -- best hot cereal I have found. Just bought enough for the next few months.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 09, 2008
    Reviewer: Kathleen in Connecticut
    * SO YUMMY! I feel like I am 5yrd when I am eating Dixie Hot Cereal. Seriously, it is so good. It is a quick fix to a late night or early morning meal when I am super busy and do not have time to prepare anything. I usually double up and it keeps me really full.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 14, 2007
    Reviewer: Barbara in Ohio
    * This oatmeal tastes the same as the high carb stuff. Just wonderful.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Natural Flavor
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 27, 2007
    Reviewer: evlyn in Ohio
    * This is the best tasting low carb product I have found yet. It is very filling, and has no aftertaste! I have mixed in the Jok n' Al Fruit toppings too for an extra treat!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 20, 2007
    Reviewer: TODD in New York
    * This cereal is a real treat to a person like myself who is on a low carb diet. Maybe it doesn't taste just like Cream of Wheat or Maypo but, to be as low carb and low calorie as it is, I say Great Job Dixie Diner! Add a little butter, Splenda and Nut Meal for an even bigger treat.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 28, 2007
    Reviewer: amanda in Illinois
    * I really like oatmeal. This tastes like oatmeal. I love the convenience too! I have tried many hot cereals. This is the best so far! I didn't have to add anything to it!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Hot Cereal, Sweet Maple
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.