Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 January 07, 2008
    Reviewer: Leslie in Illinois
    * Dixie Diner has released a number of different products which fit into the category which includes chips, crackers, flatbreads, etc. One thing they all seem to have in common is their texture/consistency. I predict that for most of them, if you dislike them this will be the primary reason. The problem is they are tough when you bite into them and as you chew them they essentially crumble slowly into a dry powder in your mouth. This is an odd sensation and for many, I suspect, it will put them off. I do not have a major problem with it, however, so at most I am only going to dock the product one star for the strange nature of the texture. Of the Dixie Diners products which fit into this description, the Texas Toasters are probably the least objectionable from a texture standpoint -- the reason being that they appear to have had some type of mild leavening, like baking powder, added to batter so they are not as tough as say, the ovenbaked "pita" chips. The flavor of the plain is pretty plain so some kind of dip, cheese, etc. seems pretty much essential. The pizza variety I found slightly appealing on their own but they worked out well for me by creating something on the order of pizza nachos by covering them with pizza sauce, cheese, and other pizza style toppings then heating them in the microwave until the cheese melted.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 August 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Sharon in Pennsylvania
    * Gross...I bought these because of the rave reviews--looking for a CRUNCHY snack. Well, crunchy they were not. I looked for an expiration date, but there was none that I could find. $3 in the trash!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 06, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in Louisiana
    * These are really good with pizza sauce and a little mozzarella cheese melted on top. They are also wonderful used to dip with Pimento and Cheese!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Pizza
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 03, 2007
    Reviewer: Rebecca in California
    * The plain ones I use with breakfast and the onion n dill ones I use when I have steak and cauli-tatos. Yummy! The pizza ones are a good snack.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 08, 2007
    Reviewer: Regina in Kansas
    * These are the best. Great to have in the pantry for all kinds of low carb dips. Great with cream cheese and favorite low carb fruit spreads.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 23, 2007
    Reviewer: marcia in Massachusetts
    * Great taste with absolutely no aftertaste. I found these satisfied me when I wanted to snack on something crunchy. These really taste like pizza.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Pizza
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 26, 2007
    Reviewer: Holly in Missouri
    * plain ones are great!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 24, 2007
    Reviewer: Cj in California
    * WOW is all I can say. These have great taste and great crunch. I love being able to have these with artichoke dip, spinach dip, or rotel cheese dip ... FANTASTIC!!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 15, 2008
    Reviewer: Colleen in Arkansas
    * This is a great alternative to chips/crackers. It fulfills my craving for something to eat with dips or spreads. It certainly is not like the real deal, but it's close and it's low-carb, which you can't get better than that!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 28, 2008
    Reviewer: Garry in Michigan
    * Tasty and crunchy. Pizza flavor was reasonably OK to satisfy the crunchy craving. Will try the onion & dill flavor next.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Pizza
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 12, 2007
    Reviewer: Vennie in Michigan
    * great for a snack
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 November 09, 2007
    Reviewer: Allison in Washington
    * Good flavor, but they're not crisp. Instead, they're more like a dry sponge. So dry they're a little difficult to swallow.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 July 24, 2007
    Reviewer: Donna in Kentucky
    * If you just need something crunchy, this might fit the bill. It is not exactly overly tasty but grows on you. I just like to munch all the time. This satisfies me.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Pizza
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 July 19, 2007
    Reviewer: Stephanie in Maryland
    * They have a superior taste to some other low carb "crackers" but the texture is slightly on the stale side. Not their best product, but the serving size is quite generous, and if you need something to get you through a party with dip, you might want to keep these on hand. The nutritional profile on these crackers is very good. They're generously sized and portioned. They make great conveyors of dip. They are not, however, tasty on their own. In fact, they give the impression of being stale. This may be a problem with Dixie Diners' club packaging, as another product of theirs (the commuting popcorn clusters) also tasted damp and stale.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 April 30, 2008
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    * Ordered their onion dill and did not like it at all. Not crunchy and mediocre taste.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Onion & Dill
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 September 10, 2007
    Reviewer: Harry in New York
    * Unimpressive. I tried the plain ones. Not crunchy. Typical dry sawdust texture of Soy powder. I needed a big glass of water quick to get this dry cracker down.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 February 26, 2007
    Reviewer: Holly in Missouri
    * Not their best product.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Onion & Dill
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 February 25, 2010
    Reviewer: A customer in South Carolina
    * Had high hopes for a crunchy snack. This did not work at all. Not crunchy, tasted stale and was extremely dry. Very disgusting and a big disappointment.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 July 14, 2009
    Reviewer: Kristina in Arkansas
    * GROSS!!!!!!!!
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 August 21, 2008
    Reviewer: Karen in Texas
    * OK, I have been very pleased with most products from Dixie Diner...but this smelled like a dog biscuit and tasted even worse (yes, I have to admit, I have indeed eaten a dog biscuit...) Don't waste your money.
    This review is specific to Carb Counters Texas Toasters, Good n' Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 July 15, 2007
    Reviewer: Anne in New Jersey
    * I adore all the other Carb Counters products, but we did not like the Texas Toasters. I'm sticking with all the muffin mixes, which are a daily staple for me, especially the carrot muffin, corn muffin and the cranberry orange (and I add toasted pecans - yum).
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.