• 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 16, 2011
    Reviewer: Sally in Ohio
    I love love love this product. It works so well and thickens sauce so fast. The nice thing about it is you just add it to the gravy or what you need to thicken and just whisk it around. No adding to water and mixing up first. I always start out with a small about 1/2 t then add just to make sure I don't add too much. I will buy this product again and again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 January 05, 2012
    Reviewer: Maura in Washington
    I was looking for a replacement for ThickenThin not/Starch which is no longer available.

    This certainly does the trick and thickens food very well. Be aware, however, that this product will seize up instantly if you attempt to mix it with a small amount of water before adding it to your final liquid. The result is some thickening of the final liquid but LOT of gelatinous lumps.

    What I've found works best is to put a small amount of Thick It Up in a metal strainer and tap it into your final liquid as if you were lightly dusting something with powdered sugar. Stir that in and check the thickness. Repeat until you get the final liquid as thick as desired. It takes a while but it really avoids the lumps or the library paste issues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 21, 2012
    Reviewer: Kathleen in Colorado
    We love this product, this is the perhaps the 10th time we've ordered it, the third from Netrition. This is a product that you have to learn how to use or it will get gloppy and slimy, you absolutely use no more than 1/2 teaspoon or less for each 2 cups of liquid for gravy, less for soups. We use this all the time, it makes great gravy, sauces and soups. I haven't tried puddings. You have to use a whisk, I use a spoon held over the boiling pot and tap a bit in with the whisk and whisk like crazy each addition. It gets thicker as it cooks for awhile, after 5 or 10 minutes it becomes a nice consistency, as it would if you used a traditional slurry. Give it a try but be sure not to use too much.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 21, 2013
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    Use this successfully as the thickener in my sugar free peach pie; sugar free canned peaches (Del Monte and Libby has a line of them), a little stevia, cinnamon, nutmeg, lemon juice, a little butter, put the whole into pie dough (still working on a reduced carb pie dough I like), and out comes a dessert I actually enjoy and prefer more than the sugar sweetened/cornstarch thickened peach pies I ate in the past. It is expensive, but I only use 1/2 teaspoon for the whole pie. Recommend.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 September 07, 2011
    Reviewer: Kimberly in Georgia
    I made Chocolate pudding using "thick it up". The pudding was awful! It had a slimey feel in my mouth. It's that slimey texture that ruined the pudding for me. I might find something else to use it in; but now I'm "gun shy" about trying it in anything else.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 27, 2014
    Reviewer: Gerard in New York
    I used straight xanthan gum in the past, but this is a great mix of different gums that work well together. I use 1/2 tsp of this when making ice cream as a stabilizer.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 28, 2016
    Reviewer: Karen in Nebraska
    I love this stuff. A tiny amount goes a long way. One package keeps well and lasts forever in the fridge. It thickens everything. I suggest pre-mixing with water before adding to eliminate lumping.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 19, 2014
    Reviewer: Rosalyn in Arizona
    This stuff is great, much better than guar gum. It doesn't clump up or have a slimy mouth-feel. I used half the amount called for in the directions.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 19, 2014
    Reviewer: GAIL in Texas
    Yes I recommend this product, it does thicken up soups, sauces, juice for cobbler, etc. Use as directed...some might tend to use too much, 2 teaspoons dissolved in water for a whole pot of chili or stew, then cook a while longer it will thicken up.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 16, 2011
    Reviewer: todd in Missouri
    Very good thickener for cereals and mixes I make.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 July 13, 2012
    Reviewer: Sylvia in Washington
    I will recommend it because we need something to thicken with but beware, it is slimy. I really really really miss the thicken not thin product. This stuff in my opinion is not a very good substitue. I'd love to find something else that did not lump and was not slimy.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 July 03, 2012
    Reviewer: Danielle in Arizona
    I made gravy for a roasted chicken with this. First, I followed an Atkins gravy recipe and it called for way too much of this product and it got extremely thick and gelatinous. After I thinned it out with more chicken broth to a more normal gravy consistency, the taste was very SLIMY. I could barely eat it. The flavor wasn't bad because I seasoned it well, but the feel of it in my mouth was slimy. Yuck.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.