Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 May 06, 2014
    Reviewer: James in Texas
    * Pretty good fill-in for pasta. Be sure to cook it for the full time on the package or it's a little chewy. For 7 carbs net there was not much of a glucose bump --- here's my results: (Start) 118 (15 min) 132 (30 min) 133 (45 min) 136 (60 min) 134 (90 min) 116 (2 hours) 111. I'll be having this often. Good work Ciao Carb.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 August 26, 2014
    Reviewer: James in Massachusetts
    * Overall, it tastes a little more al dente than regular pasta, but considering the carb content, it's really a wonderful product and I love the single serve pouches. When you're cooking it, I would recommend leaving it in for 20 min instead of 15, or as long as you can before it gets brittle. That makes it a little more palatable. Great low carb pasta replacement!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 August 26, 2014
    Reviewer: Melissa in Michigan
    * I have tried a lot of pasta alternatives. For what this is, it's not horrible. Sadly, it's not that great, either.

    I made sure to cook this pasta according to the directions. However, it still had a very chewy, fiber-y / rubbery texture. However, to be fair, toppings make a huge difference.

    All in all, it is sufficient and does not spike one's blood sugar. It is also incredibly filling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 August 10, 2015
    Reviewer: Alberto in Florida
    * Definitely not horrible... Chewy maybe a bit... taste is quite neutral... the sauce basically dictates the show. 50g portion and a serving of chicken or beef should satisfy most. The portion alone probably wont. I got 3 boxes, and foresee getting some more when these run out. In all fairness it is a substitute for pasta...not another brand of pasta... want the true pasta taste and texture... then deal with the carbs. Want a low carb compromise...i think this is a good one. Also Atkins which I felt had a better texture (if not taste) has been discontinued.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 01, 2014
    Reviewer: A customer in Maryland
    * The taste of this product is similar to whole wheat pasta but the texture is much rougher. In general, I do NOT recommend this pasta in a plain sauce. It was pretty awful for mac and cheese. However, when used in a dish along with chicken or sausage, you forget all about the texture, and it becomes a real low carb treat! I find that one 50 g "single portion" package can serve two people as addition to a chicken or sausage dish, and it adds just 3.5 net carbs per serving.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 December 31, 2015
    Reviewer: donna in New Jersey
    * I am a pasta lover but this pasta has a good taste but the texture is not good it is extremely rubbery once cooked n there r no instructions on the box or packets in english as to how to cook it. I will not purchase again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 August 08, 2014
    Reviewer: Leslie in Colorado
    * I cooked up one serving (one bag) of the Ciao Carb penne pasta last night. The directions said to boil it in water for 15 minutes. I live near Denver, at an attitude of 6,800 feet, so I expected it would take longer to cook than the directions stated. After tasting it several time, and cooking it for 30 minutes, I finally pulled the pasta out, as the rest of dinner was getting cold. I served it with some low carb alfredo sauce on it. The texture was just ok. Very aldente still, but we were able to eat the pasta. I'm wondering if I cook it for 30 minutes next time, add in the sauce, and let it sit overnight. Maybe that will help the pasta soften up a bit more. Will try again and let you know how it goes.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 September 12, 2014
    Reviewer: Ingrid in Norway
    * I tried this in a salad, and bolognese. The taste wasn't bad, but the consistency was what made me not want to finish my meal. It has the consistency of rubber, just awful in my opinion. I guess pasta is just one of those things i have to give up on a low carb diet.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 August 25, 2014
    Reviewer: A customer in Georgia
    * Awful! The texture was so rubbery and the taste was certainly not like any pasta I have ever had before. Perhaps if the texture were more like true pasta I could get accustomed to the flavor.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 28, 2016
    Reviewer: A customer in New York
    * I say without any hesitation that this is the worst food product I have ever tasted and I am 66 years old. In fact, I cannot think of a less satisfactory product of any kind that I have ever bought or heard about. It's not like I'm picky. I'm perfectly okay with Atkins or Fiber Gourmet penne, although neither tastes like real pasta. On the other hand, I believe a starving man would hesitate a good long while before taking a second bite of this revolting slop.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 04, 2016
    Reviewer: JoAnne in New York
    * This is the worst pasta I have ever eaten!!!!! Horrible taste and the texture was like eating cardboard mixed with rubber!!!! I am throwing the rest of the box out!!!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2016 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.