Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    3/5 July 29, 2018
    Reviewer: Tabitha in Delaware
    * These were in no way bad but I don't think they really have any closer texture to pasta than zoodles (zucchini noodles). I soaked them in almond milk to try to get rid of some of the natural acid flavor of the hearts of palm but it was still there. I used them the first time in a lemon cream sauce and sort of ladled that sauce and palmini over some roasted chicken. It was good but for the price I probably won't buy them again. The texture is softer than a zoodle so they are sort of mushy and I tend to cook my zoodles on the light side so that they have some bite because I miss al dente pasta which is not mushy at all.

    Overall, not a bad product. If it was under $2/can I'd probably buy again so my review takes in to consideration the price.

    This review is specific to Hearts of Palm Pasta, Linguine, 400g (14 oz)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 12, 2018
    Reviewer: A guest
    * This was our first time trying it and we just warmed it in water for a couple minutes and had it with spaghetti sauce. Overall it's a good substitute for pasta and I look forward to trying it with more recipes.
    This review is specific to Hearts of Palm Pasta, Linguine
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 May 22, 2018
    Reviewer: dorothea in Rhode Island
    * This is no more than Hearts of Palm put through a French Fry cutter! It is a lie to call these linguine when not one piece is longer than the height of the can. Problem is they are not as good as a regular can of Heart of Palm, they are subpar quality heart of palm...the kind they can't sell. These are made of the remnants from canning heart of palm, so the consistency is poor. One piece can be crunchy and the next mushy and disgusting. Even within the same piece, you can get mush on one end and crunchy on the other. I like heart of palm so I salvaged the crunchy or firm pieces. I had to feel each strand and cut off the mush. I'd say 75% was edible the other 25% that was mushy could serve no purpose other than compost pile . If you like heart of palm, buy that and cut it up in pieces like this... very easy to do. Do not buy this product, a waste of money!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 10, 2018
    Reviewer: A guest
    * Taste is just like really good pasta.
    This review is specific to Hearts of Palm Pasta, Linguine, 400g (14 oz)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 14, 2018
    Reviewer: Stacy in California
    * Does not have the taste or texture of pasta. Has a slight crunch, no taste of its own that I can tell, after it's rinsed. Pretty decent pasta replacement, wish it was cheaper, wish it was two dollars per can, instead of four dollars. I like it well enough though and would buy again. Nice fiber count, very filling so very helpful to a dieter or carb counter.
    This review is specific to Hearts of Palm Pasta, Linguine, 400g (14 oz)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 12, 2018
    Reviewer: A guest
    * We prepared it like it suggested. It was a different texture and the taste was different. We personally didnt like it, however, we did pass a second can (we bought 5 hoping wed like it) to a friend and she loved it.
    This review is specific to Hearts of Palm Pasta, Linguine
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 11, 2018
    Reviewer: David in Florida
    * Excellent substitute for spaghetti noodles.
    This review is specific to Hearts of Palm Pasta, Linguine, 400g (14 oz)
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 10, 2018
    Reviewer: Paul in New York
    * Awesome low carb food.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 09, 2018
    Reviewer: A guest
    * First time we have tried this product , and we love it! Going to order more asap!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 09, 2018
    Reviewer: A guest
    * I really like the consistency and the taste but it first needs to be rinsed well in water. Its a good substitute for pasta without the calories and carbs
    This review is specific to Hearts of Palm Pasta, Linguine
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2018
    Reviewer: Heather in California
    * You'll like Palmini even if you've never had hearts of palm before. These thick strands are slightly vegetal and are a really nice way to mix up the alternative pasta routine. I already like zucchini pasta, and I have hearts of palm in the fridge, but I'd still keep this in my pantry. The can does recommend that you avoid acidic sauces. I added some half and half to mine to make it creamier. The palm strands have some tooth and just a little flavor of their own. Very easy to use. Drain, rinse, sauce. You can enjoy them hot or cold. I'd be interested in trying these in a peanut sauce dish or with butter and garlic next time. I also expect that they'll sit well in the fridge for a few days, they aren't going to break down.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2018
    Reviewer: Deborah L in Oregon
    * For anyone looking for a low carb replacement for pasta that tastes like pasta, keep looking. The only thing that will taste like wheat-based pasta is wheat-based pasta! This is vegetable based-pasta. Even though it doesn't taste like the real thing, it tastes GOOD (to me, at least). I just made a bowl of this linguine with chunks of chicken and smothered with Alfredo sauce. It tasted GOOD. Not exactly like what it's replacing but it was tasty and perfect for a low carb meal - I count about 4 grams of carbs in what I made. Next time, I'm using meatballs and marinara sauce. For anyone contemplating changing to a low carb way of eating, this is suitable for all phases, including induction.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 14, 2018
    Reviewer: Kathy in New York
    * I liked it. Rinsed it thoroughly with water. Then poured hot tomato sauce over it and topped with meatballs and parmesan cheese. It was really good. It's not pasta but it looked like linguine and had similar texture. I didn't cook the Palmini so I'm thinking this helped keep its firmness. Palmini says it can be eaten straight out of the can so I tried some plain. To me, it tasted a bit like bamboo shoots that I've had with Chinese dishes. I'll buy it again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2018 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.