Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 2/5 January 15, 2019
    Reviewer: Alyce in Arizona
    * I agree with others, this is offered as the same product as the previous Hi Lo cereal by the same company and it definitely is not the same. Some new ingredients are added and other ingredients in Hi Lo were taken out. It is not sweet by any stretch of my imagination and it has virtually no taste. The pecan PIECES were minimal at best in the boxes I purchased. I have ordered Hi Lo for many years from Netrition and I am sorry to see them tout this product as the SAME as Hi Lo. I won't be buying Stay Steady again, the numbers are great but I want taste in any product I buy and eat and this has none.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 January 15, 2019
    Reviewer: Brenda in Ohio
    * I want to give this a NEGATIVE 5. This is NOTHING like the HiLo cereal that we loved.

    The new formula is The WORST. I switched to Kays and am loving it.

    I returned all six boxes of this. They have ruined this.

    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 28, 2018
    Reviewer: Barbara in Michigan
    * This cereal tastes pretty good and keeps me satisfied for several hours, due to the high protein, low carbohydrate content.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 December 19, 2018
    Reviewer: Michael in Missouri
    * Not nearly as good as Hi-Lo. Both the Vanilla and Maple Pecan taste like cardboard. Bring back Hi-Lo.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 15, 2018
    Reviewer: Howard in New Jersey
    * A great cereal! Lower in carbs and much higher in protein than normal store products.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 14, 2018
    Reviewer: A guest
    * Wanted Hi=lo cereal which I love but it seems to be no longer available. This seems like a similar replacement and I will be delighted if it is the same when I finally try it. I am finishing my last box of Hi-lo right now.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Original
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 December 12, 2018
    Reviewer: A customer in North Carolina
    * If I could give this product 0 stars, I would.

    We have been buying about 50 boxes per year for years of the previous version - both Maple Pecan and Vanilla Almond HiLo cereals. Tt's been breakfast almost every day at our house. We bought one box of each flavor (including Original unflavored) of the new Stay Steady version just to try them, but will not be buying more. Luckily there are many other low carb cereals out there to try.

    Both the maple pecan and vanilla flavors are a perfect example of why people say healthy food tastes like twigs - though in this case it tastes like cardboard and with a little bitter aftertaste.

    I have to wonder how much consumer testing was done. It's hard to see how anyone could prefer the Stay Steady versions.

    NOTE: the Stay Steady box shows a 1 cup serving size, while the old HiLo serving was 1/2 cup. Take this into account when comparing carb count and other nutritional values.

    The net carb count of Stay Steady is a little lower, which is good. But there is less fiber, not good. There's more soy in the Stay Steady version, which does nothing to improve the flavor. And there is now 2 grams of added sugars in the form of maple syrup.

    The only plus is that it's now sweetened with stevia (though not enough) instead of Splenda.

    We would not recommend this brand, sorry to say.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 09, 2018
    Reviewer: A guest
    * The maple pecan flavor is great and it keeps you full for a very long time. I cant comment on the other flavors as I have not tried them.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 08, 2018
    Reviewer: Cathy in North Carolina
    * I rarely eat cereal, but it's my husband's usual breakfast. I bought this cereal on clearance. It arrived still fresh (inside expiry) and my husband liked it. I will be buying it again to let him try the other flavors.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 03, 2018
    Reviewer: Arthur in Texas
    * Like several others, I found the new StaySteady cereal not as tasty as the original Hi-Lo version. Not bad, just not as good. The bits of pecan were tasty but overall it just wasn't what I remembered the Hi-Lo as tasting. Would buy again very occasionally, as something different, but not as a regular item. As far as recommending to others, I would go with trying a box first to see if you or anyone in your family likes it.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 30, 2018
    Reviewer: Anne in Western Australia
    * Great taste, satisfying. I enjoy it so much.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 November 28, 2018
    Reviewer: ronald in Maryland
    * Not as good as old version.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 November 09, 2018
    Reviewer: Brenda in Ohio
    * This cereal used to be Hi-Lo and delicious. NOW, under this new brand, it is absolutely DREADFUL. I am returning mine.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 01, 2018
    Reviewer: Judy in Virginia
    * Cereal! It's been ages. So great to find a lowish - carb cereal we can enjoy once in a while. The carb count with whole milk will be over 20g, however that IS for an entire cup of the cereal. This is for the maple pecan flavor - delicious maple flavor with pecan slices in it. The cereal shape is like small flakes, similar to Special K.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 November 01, 2018
    Reviewer: Valerie in Illinois
    * At first I was upset that Nutritious Living did away with their Hi Lo cereal. I am a carb counting diabetic and that cereal was good for my style of eating. When they came out with the StaySteady cereal I was distressed to read that it had double the carbs but I decided to try it.

    What I found on closer examination was that the reason the carb count had doubled was because they had also doubled the serving size. The 60 grams of cereal recommended on the panel is totally ridiculous.

    If you are trying this cereal stick with the recommended 30 grams from the old Hi Lo panel and you'll be fine with your blood sugar. The texture and taste are similar enough to the old product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 October 25, 2018
    Reviewer: Sandy in Michigan
    * This cereal is very disappointing ,nothing like Nutritious Living Hi Lo products. I tried this after the manufacturer stopped making Hi Lo and it is just awful. Gets soggy very quickly and there's an odd after taste too, not to mention the pecans were quite scarce.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 October 21, 2018
    Reviewer: Steffani in Texas
    * The new version of the Hi-Lo cereal basically is the same except they took out the sweetener. I miss the Splenda in it! However the macros are great so Iíll still eat it and add my own Splenda
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 30, 2018
    Reviewer: A customer in Texas
    * Love the maple pecan. I haven't tried the other flavors though.
    This review is specific to StaySteady Cereal, Maple Pecan
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2019 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.