Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 5/5 May 29, 2019
    * I bought these after I saw them used on a FB group. They are great! Tastes just like kidney beans and now I can enjoy real chili again!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 05, 2019
    * The beans are delicious and filling, great addition to low carb diet.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 19, 2019
    * Great in chili and soup. I am going to try to make refried beans with them and will post how they turn out. Overall, the quality and taste are great. I'm not big on consuming soy, but these are wonderful for those few times I really need beans in a dish.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 06, 2019
    * I used to live near a Whole Foods that carried these, but when I moved away I didn't really want to pay $5 a can on Amazon. I am so happy that Netrition carries these! I've never had them just by themselves, but they taste amazing in all the recipes. If you have no issues with soy. These are the best alternative! Basically a black bean.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 20, 2019
    * These are great for low carb diets, they make really good ham and bean soup, chili, and taco filling. I may try the drain and freeze trick another reviewer mentioned. Considering the low carb count, I can't find anything negative to say about these beans. Low carb is a life style, and I'm grateful for products that expand the ability to cook my favorite foods.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 17, 2019
    * Actually very good, I use them in salads and smash for refried beans
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 25, 2019
    * Great bean substitute for the low carb/keto diet. Great taste and texture for use in chili, salads, etc.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 21, 2019
    * Great substitute for pinto, navy, etc. which are not Keto friendly beans. We purchased these for use in my husband's delicious chili recipe. We will purchase them again.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 11, 2019
    * I've missed having beans in my homemade keto chili--no more! Only one net carb per serving? Yes please! Thank you, Netrition, for having such a great selection of low carb products. You make my life easier!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 29, 2018
    * These are a low carb game changer. They are a very mild tasting bean that I use in chili, soups, I make my hummus and refried beans with them and I make the magical chocolate hummus with them. They work well in the "black bean brownie" recipes too. Netrition's price is much better than my local Whole Foods and delivery is pretty quick.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 01, 2018
    * Great for keto, LCHF diet etc. definitely takes the place of regular black beans. We use it in tacos, chili, a side etc.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 27, 2018
    * I love to use these in a lower carb chili. They're just like black beans.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 27, 2018
    * I love black beans in my chili but they’re high in carbs, these are the same great taste and low carb.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 16, 2018
    * I like them out of the can but I usually buy them in bulk, dry from Eden Foods. Very filling because of the high fiber content. I soak them overnight in salted water and the next day cook them in fresh, unsalted water. Soaking them in salted water gives them flavor. My favorite bean because they are so filling. High fiber, high protein. Well worth experimenting with, worth trying to increase your bean recipe repertoire.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 09, 2018
    * My go to bean for low carb dishes. They are great in chili and as re-fried beans. Just rinse well before cooking.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 03, 2018
    * Love beans but not the carbs so I tried these and they are good. Only 1g of net carbs. I can make my Mexican bean salad or put these on taco salad and it's all good. You can tell they aren't as starchy as regular black beans. Can't get these in the store so I get them here.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 02, 2018
    * These are about the only beans you can eat any real quantity of on a low carb diet. That is, if the nutritional information is correct...its a little hard to believe the net carb count on them. But there is absolutely nothing to compare them to. Apparently these are the only canned black soybeans on the market...I haven't found any other brand.

    They are unsalted, so they are almost flavorless out of the can. You have to step on them with significant salt and spices, etc.. Great for someone on a super low sodium diet though...but thats not me.

    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 27, 2018
    * If you drain and rinse them and put them in the freezer overnight before you use them, it softens them to the texture of high carb beans. I use these to make New England Baked Beans in the Instant Pot, and for chili. They have become a staple in our low carb diet.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 24, 2018
    * SO GOOD! HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Tastes like regular beans.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 12, 2018
    * I really love this product
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 31, 2018
    * These are a great substitute for chilis and Mexican dishes. The price is a little steep though.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 13, 2018
    * Good in chili
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 26, 2018
    * Following a low-carb program for over 20 years, I had given up beans due to their high carbohydrate content. Since discovering low-carb Black Soy Beans at Netrition, beans are now back in my salads, soups and casseroles. I love these beans.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 May 02, 2018
    * A good bean replacement for low carb. Not as tender as regular bean.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 25, 2018
    * I was not sure about Soy black beans, but tried them, Now these have become a staple in my Kitchen, they are unsalted, and I make a lot of Low carb soups, and chili, and slow simmer, and the beans taste like regular beans in any recipe....
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 23, 2017
    * Use this quite often in low carb recipes, great quality and decent price. Very happy with Netrition.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 16, 2017
    * These are pricey, not just here but anywhere, but they're worth it. I use them to make chili and it saves me a ton of carbs.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 01, 2017
    * These black soy beans are hard to find where I live, so I’m thankful to be able to find them at Netrition. They are the lowest carb bean I’ve found that I like, so will be using them for chili, taco salad etc.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 20, 2017
    * These beans are a Mexican low carber's dream! I love my beans, but living a low carb lifestyle, beans don't necessarily fit my macros, up until now! You can literally use them in every single recipe you're used to that involves beans. I boil then for about 15 min to get them super tender and then use them in all Hispanic dishes. Get them!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 05, 2017
    * Very tasty indeed. These beans are quite similar in taste to regular black beans, I wouldn't have known they are low carb. They are rather small, but a welcome addition in chili and Mexican dishes!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 30, 2017
    * If you are low carb, these are great. I make baked beans, use them in summer salads.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 13, 2017
    * I use these to make refried beans for my mexican recipes and for chili and they are great!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 20, 2017
    * I bought these beans to make refried beans. They were amazing.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 05, 2017
    * I am very impressed with these beans. They are a little bit hard, so I cooked them for a little while and made Chili with them. Much better than having no beans at all.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 17, 2017
    * If possible, I would rate this product as a 10. These beans are the foundation for so many wonderful meals that would otherwise not be possible on low-carb diets -- chili, refried beans, bean and cheese burritos (with low-carb tortillas), and just plain beans and cornbread (with low-carb corn muffin mix), and many more. The secret to using these beans is to simmer them on the stove for at least a couple of hours before using them in a recipe. Your family or friends will never guess that these aren't just the same old regular beans. I served my chili using these beans to a group of 16 friends, and the raves never stopped -- "easily the best chili I ever ate," they said. My family's favorite dish is barbecued beans made with Guy's low-carb BBQ sauce and barbecued ribs.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 19, 2017
    * Low carb Chili w/beans on a frigid winter day...amazing! By them self as a side is ok with seasoning, but I buy these regularly specifically for chili.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 04, 2017
    * These are good. I made chili and used a whole can, couldn't tell they were not regular black beans.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 14, 2016
    * I'm doing Low Carb and I'm using them the same way I use other beans, Refried, Chili,Soups and salads. Very good and they keep me on LC Track.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 25, 2016
    * Normally when following the low carb lifestyle, I just make my chilli's with meat. Eden Foods black soy beans, allows me to get the full chilli beans and meat comfort I've been missing. They're good in any mexican dish or soup. Great lower carb option when you want beans.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 16, 2016
    * I was so happy to find these beans on Netrition. I can't find them locally. The really are quite versatile and tasty.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 04, 2016
    * I read about these in a low-carb cookbook, and still felt a bit skeptical when I tried them, but I'm truly thrilled to have found these. The texture is better than black beans, blends well with other foods, and takes on spices and flavorings quite well. I've used these black soybeans as a base for a lowered carb chili, and added them to other dishes. I'd love to find more recipes for them! BTW, even my regular-diet friends have enjoyed them whenever I've been willing to share...
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 25, 2016
    * These fantastic beans are a must-buy if you are trying to manage your weight on a low-carb diet. Not only do they taste great, they have only 3.5g of Carbs per can. We use them to make Chili and refried beans. We don't look back on buying the high-carb beans anymore as we noticed no taste difference at all between the two.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 21, 2016
    * These are EXCELLENT if you are cooking low-carb. They are not the same as other beans, but a great substitution. I buy them all the time and will continue to.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 April 07, 2016
    * This is a great black bean substitute! They are more hard than the regular grocery store canned beans but the 'secret' to using them is to always have a can that has been opened, rinsed and stored in your freezer. Freezing the soy beans turns them into the softer version you already are familiar with. I always have a 'can' ready to go. Try it! You'll be amazed. Good for refried, dips, soups or chilis.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 21, 2016
    * I cautiously used these black beans in my low carb chili, afraid that mere soybeans might ruin the taste. My worries were unfounded as they had the taste and mouthfeel of other beans. Next time, I will be using 2 cans!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 09, 2016
    * Delicious. I used them in a chicken dish and they added great flavor and texture.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 31, 2016
    * I love these on a taco style salad, or in place of refried beans for a low carb burrito.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 07, 2015
    * I absolutely love this product! They taste just like black beans and they are delicious in chili. These are definitely a staple in my pantry because they have only 1 net carb per serving.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 21, 2015
    * I enjoyed these beans much more than a regular black bean. I can now enjoy chili and soups with these low carb beans. In addition, they are an excellent source of fiber which is something most of us are lacking in our daily diet.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 22, 2015
    * I love these! I use a can in my low carb chili con carne recipe and no one can tell the difference!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 15, 2014
    * I use these in my strawberry green smoothies for added protein and fiber. I also use these in a bean soup. I blend them up, along with oven roasted onion,celery,carrots,garlic and a bit of salt with water to get the consistency I want. They are a quick, filling and hearty meal. I also combine them with refried beans on my low carb burritos. Highly recommend.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 05, 2014
    * My favorite bean because of high protein and fiber. I use them in my green smoothies (when sweetened with stevia, liquid splenda as well as whatever fruits going in, can't even taste them); I make a filling bean soup with them by grinding them up in the blender with whatever flavorings I put in; I use them in baked beans by adding two cans to one can of regular store-bought baked beans and adding low sugar catsup, garlic, etc. to jazz them up; add them to traditional refried beans to augment fiber/protein, just a great bean. Really wish I could find them locally but glad I can find them here.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 15, 2013
    * I use these beans a lot. They are great for baked beans as well as in chili.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 02, 2013
    * Been using Eden black soy beans for years and really like them, but can't get them locally. Try them in chili, re-fried beans, baked beans (the best), sub for kidney beans in lettuce salads (good), and in navy bean or bean soup (with ham, smoked turkey, etc.). You may want to cook them longer but I also use them right out of the can.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 14, 2013
    * Beautiful! These beans are awesome and taste better than black beans. We loved the texture too. Will be buying these regularly as they aren't available locally. Boy I hope the carb count is accurate because these are great.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 07, 2013
    * Perfect for those who choose low carb. I use these in place of other beans in chili and have made baked beans with them for a bbq (they would be best cooked in a slow cooker all day). Just reordered so I could try making a recipe for black bean burgers that I just came across.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 26, 2013
    * Very impressed with these soy beans! They are not black, which I found interesting. They look like a basic pinto bean and to me they taste about the same. Made a big batch of chili, it was fantastic. Now I plan to make "baked beans" and other favorite recipes without using up my carb count for the day. Very good, would recommend it to any bean lover. I have read some bad reviews on the internet, but we all have different tastes. Maybe they agree with me because I was eating soy products when soy wasn't cool. :~}
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 01, 2012
    * We live a low carb lifestyle and LOVE these beans!!!

    We make chili with them and can hardly tell the difference between them and ordinary black beans. We've even mashed them to make refried beans that are wonderful!

    We heartily recommend Eden Foods Black Soy Beans to anyone looking to reduce their net carb intake!

    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 21, 2012
    * I like Eden Black Soy Beans because they are low in sodium and low in carbs. They also have no sugar which is good for diabetics. I use them in my Mexican recipes with brown rice or Quinoa (keen wah). I also use them in my 3-bean salad.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 28, 2012
    * I ordered one can and I used it to make my Texas chili and it was delicious! This time I am ordering more cans!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 11, 2011
    * Eden Black Soy Beans are delicious! If you're on a high protein, lo carb diet, these are a must. They're high in fiber and you won't worry about the carb count in regular beans. I love the taste.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 22, 2011
    * These are a terrific low-carb substitute for regular beans. I use them to make chili and soup.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 18, 2011
    * Highly recommend!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 02, 2011
    * One of the things I missed about a low carb diet was chili, these Eden Black Soy Beans are just as good as kidney or black beans for making chili! Cooking time is a little longer but really worth the wait!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 21, 2011
    * These beans are wonderful as long as you cook them long enough to soften them. They take much longer than regular canned beans. I use them in chili, barbecue beans, and even re-fried beans.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 08, 2011
    * Most excellent in low carb chili!!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 15, 2011
    * Since low-carbing, we have really missed beans - be they pinto, kidney, black, whatever. I am so glad I decided to try the Eden soy beans. I have used them (so far) in a pot of chili and they worked very well. Was it just like using pinto beans? of course not; but eating cauli mash is not nearly the same as eating mashed potatoes either!

    I have just ordered some more and will be making some into refried beans for our chalupas, and I'll also be using them again in chili.

    My one criticism is that they are rather pricey.

    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 14, 2011
    * We love these beans! They are versatile and I have used them in many recipes. Great cold in a salad with corn, peppers, cilantro, onion, garlic and lime juice. Also I make a Mexican style pureed soup with them. Put drained beans in a blender and add chicken stock, cumin, chile powder and salsa and blend it all and then heat it up. Serve with a dollop of sour cream and chopped cilantro - yummo! Loaded with fiber and very healthy.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 11, 2011
    * I use these as substitutes for pinto beans for making cowboy ranch style beans in a cast iron skillet on my Texas wood-fired smoker BBQ. With the addition of garlic, chili powder, jalapenos and a little german mustards, these beans came out great. The best Pintos I can find are Bush brand at 18 carb & 7 fiber = 11 net carbs. These black soys are net 1 carb; nothing else comes close & the taste was great. I just ordered several more cans & I have not seen these in the local stores.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 December 08, 2010
    * Most of the time I buy Eden Foods black soy beans in the dry form and cook them myself, but I do like to keep a can or two of this product in the pantry for times when I don't have time to cook the dry ones. For anyone who has ever cooked dry black soy beans, you will know that the real challenge is to get them to be soft. With the dry ones, I add a bit of baking soda and that does the trick. (Yes, I know it destroys some of the nutrients, but it's a trade-off). I have found with the canned ones, the manufacturer apparently has the same issue in getting the beans soft as I do at home. I have purchased cans in which the beans were perfect and other cans where the beans were alright, but not great. Still, I am satisfied with the overall quality of the product but I do think the price is a little high, given that I can make them myself from the dried ones for $.16 a serving (not counting stove energy cost), but we do pay a bit extra for convenience, right?
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 28, 2010
    * My folks came from Kansas, and I was raised with a big pot of "ham and beans" (made with white navy beans) on the menu Now, I make them "my way", and it really satisfies one of my missed "comfort" foods. Still miss the cornbread though ! I also use them in other soups, salads, and make a Low Carb version of "Baked Beans", bacon, onions and all. Yummmy Lov'em
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 11, 2010
    * Finally a really good low carb chili with these beans. No "side-effects" from these beans.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 01, 2010
    * I am so pleased with these beans -- I used them in chili and my DH couldn't tell (he's a VERY picky eater, too!). They do need to be cooked for a while before eating, or they taste a little "mealy". Great for use in taco salads or anywhere else you would use beans.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 19, 2010
    * I buy these to use in my low carb chili but they are so delicious I could eat them right out of the can!! I love texture in my food and they have a slight "bite" to them which I love. However, I will tell you that my husband and teenage daughter who are a bit "bland" in the food dept. didn't care much for the slight crunch. I love, love, love these and highly recommend them!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 03, 2010
    * When I'm in the mood for mexican food, these black beans and some chicken or beef wrapped in a low carb tortilla hit the spot. They taste good with lots of spices. Haven't tried them plain - heck, I'd probably never eat any beans, refried or otherwise just plain. That gives me the idea to try making a bean salad with some olive oil and vinegar dressing.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 16, 2009
    * These are a godsend to those on low-carb diets who crave beans for chili, soups, and the like. They have a great taste and are so easy to use, just open the can. And with Netrition's $4.95 flat shipping rate it doesn't cost an arm and a leg to get them sent to you. I always order several cans of these with my other items to take advantage of the low cost shipping.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 19, 2009
    * These do not add an overtly soy flavor to the foods that I have used them in. I have baked them blended into a cake batter and what can I say, but yummmo! But mostly use them in my exceptional chili, have added them to soup, enchiladas & tostada salads too. They are not full of sodium and I appreciate that! Very versatile since they are not flavored and they are packed with protein. Give them a try! The possibilities with these are endless.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 23, 2009
    * I like to mix these with taco meat for low/no carb taco salad! Yummy!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 13, 2009
    * These are really great in a low carb chili. I have also made a sugar free baked bean dish with them and was very satisfied. The calories are not great, but the protein you get and the negligible amount of carbs makes these beans really worthwhile.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 29, 2009
    * I love these! They taste like black eyed peas. I melt butter, add some salt and eat them alone, or mix in some eggs and cheese and put them in a low carb tortilla for a breakfast burrito.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 15, 2009
    * I use this a lot in chili. I like beans in my chili, but the usual beans I find are too carby for my needs. These are very low in carbs and take well to the chili flavor. There is no funky soy flavor. One of the products I always order more of just to keep my stock up.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 13, 2009
    * These are great beans! I have used in dips, soups, chili and low carb "mexican" dishes. I wish that they were available in the stores, as I only order about twice a year...
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 10, 2009
    * I recently ordered these to make low-carb chili... Well, I just tried them on their own, poured them right into a saucepan, added some chili powder and a pinch of salt, boiled them for a few minutes to remove some liquid and to concentrate the flavor. Then sprinkled some grated cheddar cheese over them, and they were FABULOUS!!!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 05, 2009
    * These are so good I use them in chili all the time and they are superb. Perfect for a Type 2 Diabetic or even a dieter.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 28, 2009
    * Sort of tasteless in themselves, but they are really good when you use them in recipes like chili or "baked beans." (I like to make a bean dish with sugar-free ketchup, bacon, a little onion, a drop of liquid sweetener, and the soy beans.)
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 24, 2009
    * These are a great option for low-carb dieters and diabetics who miss eating beans. However, they do have a harder, almost crumbly texture compared to other canned beans, so they take more cooking to become tender. This is why I gave them a 4 rather than a 5.

    Their texture is not a big deal for chili or soups, especially if you add them early so they have plenty of time to cook. Also, since they are not starchy, you can't rely on them to help thicken your sauce. You'll have to cook it down more or use some Thick'n'Thin.

    But if you want to make re fried beans or a dip, plan on cooking them a long time before trying to mash them. If you don't cook them long enough, they won't mash well by hand. (Maybe you could use a blender or food processor for this...I haven't tried that, since I usually want a semi-chunky texture.)

    As others have noted, they also are a little bland straight out of the can, and take more seasoning than other canned beans. But so far I've been able to get them to taste good in every recipe I've tried.

    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 18, 2009
    * These were wonderful in a chili recipe I made. I had been missing beans and these hit the spot nicely. I have since ordered 4 cans so I have some on hand for future recipes for things such as tacos and chili and omlettes.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 05, 2009
    * These are so good. I make a bbq bean recipe with bacon and sugar free bbq sauce and onions, even my kids ate this when I wasn't looking! ( I make this for myself, not them!) :) They taste like firm black beans to me. It smells funky when you open the can, just rinse them. They are firm and very tasty. Without seasoning they almost have no flavor. So you can really create whatever flavor you would like by adding seasoning and other things.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 11, 2008
    * Very good in recipes for a low carb diet. Try them!.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 20, 2008
    * This is a great product. I use it in chili and to make "black bean salsa and salad". It's great for low carb food plans. I highly recommend it.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 24, 2008
    * The Eden Foods Black soy beans are great for bean dip, and a life-saver for low carb chili!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 11, 2008
    * Black soybeans have been a significant part of my weight-loss/low carb lifestyle for 4 years now. They are an excellent substitute for regular beans (pinto, kidney, etc.) in any recipe requiring beans. I most enjoy them in chili and 3-bean salad, but have also made bean dip from them and ham-and-bean soup. When I serve recipes containing black soybeans to others, they have no idea they've gotten anything different or healthier - I just get rave reviews! High protein, low carb, great taste! Highly recommended.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 06, 2008
    * Love these with sugar free salsa, a dollop of sour cream and jalapenos! Regular beans have too many carbs for my personal needs... these do trick! They are fantastic in Chili, too!!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 04, 2008
    * These were excellent in chili and the carb count is very low. A keeper, will be reordering!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 14, 2008
    * I make my traditional Texas Cowboy Beans using these beans and they are scrumptious! I took them to a cookout and they were eaten and loved and nobody knew they were low carb. Several people asked me for my recipe! This is a great product.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 30, 2008
    * I love these beans in my low carb chili recipe! Taste and texture are good. Just don't overcook them.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 22, 2008
    * I use these beans for low carb chili and they are great!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 11, 2008
    * These beans are great tasting and go well with any meal. I added 1 Tlb. of diced tomatoes and a little bit of jalapeños.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 23, 2008
    * I really like these. I have used them in a baked bean recipe I have and a low carb chili recipe and both were great. They are very healthy and taste really good. You cant beat that. I highly recommend them.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 20, 2008
    * I enjoyed these very much in a low carb CHILI that I made. I really love beans and these are a very close substitute and so healthy too!!! I would recommend to others.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 20, 2008
    * I use the soy beans to make a low carb chili. My husband and I think they taste great. I have also used them to make a mexican bean and chicken soup. The beans are hearty and do not break down. I highly recommend this product.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 19, 2008
    * Used them in chili, great substitute for beans. They are really tasty. Give them a try.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 16, 2008
    * I have never liked "soy" taste in foods so didn't try these for the longest time, but now I have and I'm so glad I did!

    As you would guess this is a good substitute for beans in a chili recipe, but I was thrilled to find out how well they work in my lentil recipes too.

    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 29, 2008
    * Very good. I eat them along with my low carb diet.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 22, 2008
    * These beans are wonderful - taste good. I made a dip and chili from them. Would definitely recommend.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 22, 2008
    * I am a bean FANATIC and have been missing them since going low carb 5 years ago. These are super low carb, and make the best chili's and casseroles ever. If you love beans, this product is a high-quality MUST TRY item.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 05, 2008
    * I made chili with these and it turned out great. I'm going to try burritos next. Finally a low-carb alternative to pinto beans!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 04, 2008
    * Wow, if you are craving good homemade chili and are avoiding the high carbs, then you should try this product. It's healthy, very tasty, and you will not notice the difference using the soybeans vs the kidney beans. I substituted low carb tomato sauce in my chili along with the soy beans, and it was a thick delicious meal. You can't go wrong!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 23, 2008
    * These soy beans are great tasting and great for you. I put them on taco salads and in chili.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 06, 2008
    * Amazing! I just got these and made chili last night and now 3-bean salad tonight using the black soy beans, and wow!! Both turned out great!! This product adds a new dimension to low carb, and I would highly recommend to anyone who is skeptical.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 03, 2008
    * Great tasting bean for a low carb chili.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 31, 2007
    * These are the very best black soy beans on the market.(and I have tried several) I am a veteran of low carbing and make a killer low carb chili using these beans. My entire family loves chili made with Eden Soy beans. I have also used them to make low carb refried beans by adding a can of Hatches chilis to them with some Mexican seasonings. YUM. Low-carbing just doesn't get any better when you have great products to work with.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 06, 2007
    * Great addition for chili, very filling and taste great.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 23, 2007
    * What a wonderful product! Not being much of a soy fan, I was skeptical, but my mind has been changed. When my family began a low-carb eating plan, other canned beans were too high in carbs to work for us... which meant my recipes for chili and soups were pretty much out. Now, with the Eden soy beans, we're back up and running. The beans taste great, and friends and family who join us for dinner have no idea they are even eating soy. Thanks for a great product!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 08, 2007
    * I use Eden Black Soy Beans in Chili, and soup. It's great in both of them, and the family enjoys the meals as well.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 07, 2007
    * Fantastic! I finally found a way to make LC chili this fall without all the carbs of kidney beans! Hooooray! These worked so well for me and I'll be getting them again and again. They will be very versatile staples in my cupboard. Highly recommend if you miss legumes but don't miss the high-carb butt! Ha ha ha ........
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 28, 2007
    * I've been using Eden's Black Soy Beans for several years. After moving to Florida, from New Jersey, I was having trouble finding them in the supermarket. Thanks to Netrition, they are once again a staple in my pantry. I use them in all my bean recipes, chili, burritos, soups, ect... They taste great, are low carb/high protein. A netritional bombshell. A definite MUST for diabetics & vegetarians. What more could you ask of a food? My friends & family love them. If you mix Black Soy Beans & Dreamfield's pasta with vegetables in a minestrone soup...WOW!!!!!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 26, 2007
    * These beans are great! While most beans are loaded with complex carbs, these have high fiber content and VERY LOW carbs -- less than I have found in any other bean product. Great in Mexican dishes and chili. Highly recommend! Excellent quality as well (as with all other Eden Foods products).
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 06, 2007
    * Really quite tasty, you wouldn't know they are soy. Picks up flavors such as spices, so you can put them in chili, salads, even mashed for a burrito. They will be a staple in my pantry.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 02, 2007
    * My Cuban husband and his family love pulled pork, black beans, and rice but I had not cooked it since I had been low-carbing. Then I found these great black (soy) bean. They are wonderful. A little less tender than regular black beans, but I cook them a little longer and add my own favorite spices and flavor enhancers. The family loved them and so did I (and I just skipped the rice).
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 28, 2007
    * As long as you use these in a flavorful recipe, these are great. They do not have as much flavor as regular beans, so I would never eat them plain, but they add variety to a low carb diet.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 19, 2007
    * They really add to the texture of my chili.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 21, 2007
    * After rinsing, these are wonderful in any dish that calls for beans, especially chili and baked beans. They are high in protein, and low in carbs.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 15, 2007
    * A tasty way to get your soy fiber! I add a little cumin and chili powder to make "chili" beans and garnish with a little fresh cilantro. Also add to my low-carb homemade chili recipe for more fiber.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 09, 2007
    * These are fantastic! They are great to use in any soup or chili recipe you have, and go great with any Mexican dish, too. A great low carb way to still have beans and TONS of protein to boot!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 18, 2007
    * My hubby and I are both diabetic, so a low-carb diet helps us control our blood sugars. Using these beans allows us to have chili, and make other dishes that require beans without upping the carbs so much. They're very tasty.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 13, 2007
    * These taste great and are totally low carb. Finally, I can have beans in my chili, again ... Yeah!!!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 06, 2007
    * The health benefits of black soy beans are phenomenal, but they can be hard to find. My local grocery store does have this same can, but it is $1 more each, so the price on Netrition is great. These are good tossed in salads or heated up and served as a side dish with butter and parmesan cheese. I also serve them Mexican style with shredded cheese, salsa, and sour cream.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 29, 2007
    * These are a great substitute for the usual kidney or pink beans we miss! The plus is that they are almost all protein & fiber! I use these in chili; I also drain and rinse them and add them to pasta salad (using Dreamfields pasta); and I add them to many casseroles too.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 16, 2007
    * I used these beans in my favorite low carb chili recipe and they added just the right touch. My husband and I love chili, but the usual kidney beans or regular black beans that we previously added to our chili became a big no-no when we started our low-carb diets. These black soy beans supply the beans we like, and a lot of nutritional value, without adding very many carbohydrates. Since they are also a no-salt added product, we can also control the amount of salt we consume (very little). I am looking forward to preparing a batch of my homemade bean soup in the future! I have not found any canned soy beans in my local supermarkets, and am happy I can order them on line through Netrition.com.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 01, 2007
    * I made chili with these beans and it was great. They are a little "crisper" than most canned beans, and I did have to add more spices than normal because they are very plain tasting, but they are a great low-carb alternative and did not raise my blood sugar levels. I would definitely order this product again.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 29, 2007
    * I made baked beans with these. I added sweet and low brown sugar (1 teaspoon), onion flakes, a slice of bacon on top and low carb ketchup on the bacon. Baked it for 45 minutes and was thoroughly pleased with the results. Did not thicken up but was tasty and very low carb. This is a buy again product.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 May 23, 2007
    * Awesome! I use them with ground pork and Taco seasoning and put it over a salad! Delicious!!!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 April 25, 2007
    * These are OK. But in chili... Wonderful! Great in dips, mashed.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 16, 2007
    * I agree that these beans were hard to mash to make refried beans, but I believe that if you simmered them with spices for long enough they would mash better. I simmered them for approximately 20 minutes and it helped, but I was in a hurry. They still made fabulous nachos. I am ordering them again and will try again. I am also looking forward to trying them in chili. This is a wonderful low carb substitute for beans.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 03, 2007
    * I just made chili with these and no one could tell that these were soy beans. There is no smell that it typically associated with wet soy products. These are a great source of dietary fiber and protein (1/2 cup provides about 25% of the daily requirement of both)!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 27, 2007
    * A great option for low carbers. I came close to giving it a 5, but, in truth, it's not quite as good as kidney beans on my tostada, but it's close. Good enough I've made the switch & would recommend it to others!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 23, 2007
    * I love this product. It is high in fiber which makes it low carb. I had been missing beans since starting the low carb way of life but since finding these I do not miss having beans anymore. I do add some seasoning but that is it. I use then in any recipe that calls for beans. I even mash them and make refried beans with them.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 08, 2007
    * Outstanding product. I ordered my first can based on the nutritional info (very important info which some on-line companies do not show). I was very surprised at how good the product is and placed another order. The beans mix well with other beans, but are also good alone. I find that I have to add a little seasoning when I use them alone.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 February 02, 2007
    * If you want something that just looks like beans, this is the ticket. But they do not have the flavor or texture of normal beans. I tried making refried beans with them, they wouldn't mash right, and even with all the fat and salt they were inedible. I also tried them whole and they were equally bad.
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 15, 2006
    * Make chili all the time. This soy bean has been perfect for it. We make a huge pot once a week - and I'd be lost without my low carb bean! Enjoy the flavor and texture of these beans. My family has no idea it's a soybean - and they eat every last one in their bowl. That's a good sign!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 December 07, 2006
    * I use these in about all my "bean" recipes. No one even notices!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 29, 2006
    * My husband and son are VERY picky. I just knew they would hate the chili I made using the black soy beans. WELL I was wrong. They ask me to make it now!! These beans are EXCELLENT!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 October 27, 2006
    * We use these in absolutely everything! They have very little flavor on their own and really take on the flavors of what you're cooking, so they're good in many different kinds of dishes. Try them crushed with some spices in a low-carb bean burrito!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 October 02, 2006
    * These are delicious and they make a wonderful low-carb chili! Even my picky teenager eats them!
    Eden Foods Black Soy Beans
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2019 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.