Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 5/5 July 13, 2019
    * The best low carb hot chocolate.. I have tried many and this is my favorite. Great taste and creamy texture. I put it in coffee every morning. Wonderful 50 calorie treat.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 11, 2019
    * We love this as an ice cream/frosty substitute for keto. I take 2 scoops of the powder, 1 heaping T cocoa powder, 1 cp of unsweetened almond milk, 1/4 heavy cream, 1-2 cups of crushed ice and use the vitamix to make a cool dessert that has the consistency of a frozen Wendy's frosty. (stevia if needed). It makes 2.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 January 30, 2019
    * While this is flavorful, and will probably be fine for a majority of the people living a low carb lifestyle its not for me. I should've checked the ingredients list, because I'm not a fan of sucralose or any chemical sweeteners. If this was sweetened with monk fruit, stevia, or the like I'd give it a higher rating. For flavor, it gets 5 stars but for the chemical sweeteners it gets 2..
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 16, 2019
    * Worth every penny- I add it to my coffee with a dash of heavy cream- top with whip cream- so yummy. I will be re-ordering.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 30, 2018
    * Love, love, love this hot cocoa. I have been using it for years now and I'm always delighted with the taste. Nothing unpleasant at all, no bitter after taste, or lack of chocolate flavor. It does take a moment for two to to get it fully dissolved. I can throw in a bit of peppermint schnapps, and watch the snow falling down on the weekends. :)
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 18, 2018
    * Really like this cocoa. I donít add milk or cream, just hot water, and I find it very yummy with no weird aftertaste. Aftertaste has always been my struggle with finding a good low carb hot cocoa. This gets an A+ and I will definitely order again!
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 21, 2018
    * This is very good and I will definitely be ordering more.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 16, 2018
    * Absolutely delicious. I add a dollop of HWC that I whip with sugar free cheesecake pudding mix and a little Swerve.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 25, 2018
    * This is ok/good, but once I add some extra ingredients and sweetener it will be pretty good. The mocha is much better from this company, but Iím sure this will not go to waste.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 12, 2018
    * Can't tell the difference between this low carb cocoa and the regular cocoa
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 01, 2018
    * Taste is really good!!
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 December 17, 2017
    * Very good prepared as directed. Detected the artificial sweetener taste a bit but overall creamy and delicious!
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 12, 2017
    * Delicious! Add heavy whipping cream to make it richer, a couple of drops of peppermint flavoring and top with whipping cream and it's even better and still low carb.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 11, 2017
    * Love this stuff in coffee.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 28, 2017
    * Simply yummy and worth every penny. I like to add a little organic coconut oil to it. A two pound canister lasts us quite a long time now that we are empty nesters.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 18, 2015
    * Great taste, very low carb, this is a great choice for hot chocolate. You get the real taste of chocolate without added sugar.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 23, 2015
    * I have searched for a long time and this is one of the best low carb hot chocolates I have found--as long as you follow the directions. I actually use my coffee creamer for the 1 oz. cream and it gives it a richer flavor. The creamer I use is CoffeeMate Italian Sweet Cream.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 02, 2014
    * Oh my...it is better than I thought it was going to be!

    I added 1 creamer, and it was the bomb!

    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 26, 2013
    * This is really, really good. I am particularly happy that Big Train uses erythritol and no maltitol (evil stuff I think is the primary cause behind failed low carb diets).

    It tastes great and is quite low in carbs. I use heavy cream instead of half & half as it is lower in carbs and you don't need to use as much. I recommend adding the cream directly to the hot chocolate mix and mixing it into a consistent slurry before adding the hot water. This really helps eliminate floating clumps.

    The only negative I can mention is that it does settle out more quickly than regular hot chocolate mix, so just get in the habit of giving it a stir every few sips.

    I also really love this added to coffee for a very nice mocha treat.

    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 16, 2012
    * When added to hot coffee, this product makes incredibly delicious CAFE MOCHA. I am totally addicted to this wonderful flavor addition to my coffee. Beats the competition at ST*******! Product used by Clyde's wife, Wendy.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 05, 2012
    * I've been enjoying this hot cocoa for several years now and have never had a better tasting cocoa. Occasionally I will add a package to a large cup of coffee and have a wonderful hot mocha drink that's lightly sweet and rich with flavor. None of the Big Trane products spike my blood sugar so I'm hoping they hang around for a very long time. It's nice to have genuine comfort foods without the negative impacts on my health. Thanks for carrying these products.
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 September 19, 2011
    * Wow, this stuff is so good, I'm really glad I took other reviewers advise and bought the 2 lb can! I made it with almond milk and I can't believe how good it is. Do not hesitate to buy this product!
    This review is specific to Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 15, 2011
    * This mix is delicious, low-carb, low calorie and has no soy like a lot of low-carb products. You can make it with milk instead of water and it's even more delicious!
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 12, 2011
    * I really wish that I had listened to the review that said go ahead and order the big can the first time. I love this product, it tastes great. I mix a half a scoop with coffee for a low carb mocha. Great stuff!
    This review is specific to Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 07, 2011
    * This is delicious Hot Chocolate and being low carb is does not mess up my blood sugar.

    It can be a bit difficult to dissolve. Just let it sit for a little bit then stir again.

    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 02, 2010
    * This is the best hot chocolate around, I like it better than all sugar-sweetened hot chocolate also, now that is saying something :) It makes a delicious iced mocha too!
    This review is specific to Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 25, 2010
    * Big Train has the BEST low carb products I have tried so far. I have been enjoying the hot cocoa mix since Feb. 2004 and I highly recommend it! The cocoa is not too sweet, no funny after taste and does not at all taste "diet" like. It has a fantastic flavor and I drink it even when I fall off the low carb wagon.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 16, 2009
    * Love the taste but have found it necessary to heat it a little more than the directions indicate. I also add a splash of half n half just to get a little more richness in the taste. Keep it on hand throughout the winter. It's great for a quick warm up. I like the convenience of the individual packs also.
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 July 27, 2009
    * I was shocked at how good the hot chocolate mix was.. I just re-ordered and opted for the 2 lb can. I took the mix to work with me for an afternoon treat :) I didn't even add the half-n-half but I'm sure that a dash of cream would make it even better. I did add one splenda to it because I like my drinks sweeter than it was originally. I would recommend this to everyone who is watching carbs or sugar. I've been on Atkins for about 2 1/2 years now and have discovered a lot of "keepers" here at Netrition. The Big Train hot cocoa was one of them!
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 03, 2009
    * I was surprised how much like real hot chocolate this tastes like. It tastes EXACTLY like real hot chocolate. Very, very good product!
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 30, 2009
    * The best low carb hot chocolate out there!! It is creamy and doesn't clump up. It is creamy and rich tasting even with just water. I mix with water or soy milk with a little creamer or sugar free hazelnut flavor. This is an awesome product. It sells more than any other product I sell in my health club nutrition store!
    This review is specific to Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 February 27, 2009
    * BETTER THAN REGULAR HOT COCOA!!!
    This review is specific to Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 22, 2009
    * Loved it, and it had next to no impact on my ketone level.
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 07, 2009
    * This is sweet chocolate goodness, as good or better than the high carb kind! I've been craving hot chocolate and finally found this low carb version. It will now be a regular purchase in my Netrition orders.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 18, 2008
    * This tastes better than regular hot chocolate from the grocery store!
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 06, 2008
    * This stuff is GREAT! What a great treat on a cold night! Curl up with a mug of hot chocolate and enjoy! No funky after-taste and lots of creamy chocolaty goodness! Love it!
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 October 25, 2008
    * This cocoa has a weird sickly-sweet aftertaste like a lot of the low-carb products. It is very chocolaty and much better than the other low-carb cocoa I tried in the past but I don't really like it very well. I am really kicking myself for buying it now, because I compared the nutrition label on the back of the box of cheap, store-brand cocoa my roommate has and I found out that it really wasn't necessary to order this for my low-carb diet. She buys the low-fat kind and it has 4 carbs, 3 grams of sugar, and no sugar alcohols per serving. The Big Train cocoa has 4 net carbs, 2 grams of sugar, and 10 grams of sugar alcohol per serving and costs 4 times as much for a smaller box. The store brand also makes a sugar-free version so I am going to check that out the next time I go to the store. Not being able to have cocoa when it's chilly is one of my downfalls on this diet so I'm really glad I found that out.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 24, 2008
    * This is a great low carb cocoa. I like it better than any brand of regular cocoa. It is rich and chocolaty even when made with water.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 01, 2008
    * ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! My picky 14 year old boy loves it, (he's on meds that make you gain weight). We both enjoy it. It's so rich and creamy. For a special treat we add extracts like almond and then top with the LA NOUBA brand no carb marshmallows (from netrition.com). Wonderful!
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 01, 2008
    * ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! My picky 14 year old boy loves it, (he's on meds that make you gain weight). We both enjoy it. It's so rich and creamy. For a special treat we add extracts like almond and then top with the LA NOUBA brand no carb marshmallows (from netrition.com). Wonderful!
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 10, 2008
    * For a low carb product, this is incredibly delicious. It is creamy and rich. I highly recommend.
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 25, 2008
    * I love this stuff! It is a perfect late night treat. I mix it with sugar free hazelnut creamer and yummmmmmmm
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 21, 2008
    * Very satisfying and chocolaty, I just add a little milk.
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 10, 2008
    * This is probably the best hot chocolate, low carb or otherwise, I have ever had. I buy the individual packets to take with me when I travel.
    This review is specific to Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 07, 2008
    * Great Product!! Get the big canister!! You'll need it!!
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 February 03, 2008
    * Love this stuff, thick, creamy chocolate flavor. Dissolves easily.
    This review is specific to Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 27, 2008
    * Fantastic Hot Cocoa. You would never know it was low carb. I gifted a friend with this product and he was very happy with it, also.
    This review is specific to Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 23, 2007
    * Great product. Tastes just like regular hot chocolate when you add some coffee creamer and whip cream! There's no reason to drink carb filled hot chocolate anymore.
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 22, 2007
    * I like this low-carb hot chocolate- I love cocoa in the winter, so this is definitely a keeper. Just a little whip cream on top- tastes like the sugared ones!!!
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 11, 2007
    * Sweet, chocolatey and warm on a cold winters day...add great tasting, and you have a great hot cocoa mix. I add a scoop to my coffee for a mocha treat too. My kids love the taste. It has a mild coconut flavor to it, so try the 5pk box first to make sure you like it.
    This review is specific to Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 23, 2007
    * This is a wonderful substitute for any kind of hot chocolate. My wife and I especially love to add flavor substitutes that are also low in carb counts. You can hardly taste the difference.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 20, 2007
    * Tastes like regular Hot Chocolate to me. I haven't tried a lot of the other low carb hot chocolate mixes and I likely won't - since I didn't notice the difference between this and sweetened brands. Of course I've been doing the low carb diet for a while - so I'm sure I've gotten used to sugar free products.

    Buy it - I don't think you'll have any complaints!

    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 September 18, 2007
    * Mmmmmmm. I have been eating low carb since 2003 so it had been a long time since I had hot chocolate. We got this for Christmas last year and everyone agreed that Big Train's hot chocolate tasted just like regular hot chocolate -- even people who do not eat low carb! I thought it was especially good with a low carb marshmallow on top (also available on Netrition!).
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 August 24, 2007
    * This hot chocolate mix is better than any type of mix I've ever tried! No need to add sweetener, it's already perfect as it is. For extra richness, add 1/4 cup of cream, and you'll think you've gone to heaven!
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 July 02, 2007
    * Being diabetic, I have tried many varieties of sugar-free and low-carb hot chocolate. This is by far the tastiest and most satisfying. It's great by itself, or add a little Davinci syrup for a real treat!
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 26, 2007
    * A nice chocolaty treat. I think it tastes great.
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 April 15, 2007
    * This is the best stuff I had in a long time. Great for Diabetics. The taste is wonderful.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 April 04, 2007
    * I really like Big Train Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix. It has a great taste and is just the right amount of carbs. I mix mine with low carb milk instead of water to increase my protein intake. It does take some work to mix this product as it does not dissolve the way most hot chocolate mixes do. I have tried different methods and short of putting it in a blender, can not find an efficient way to make it mix together without the clumping. Over all, it is still the best low carb hot chocolate I have discovered.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 20, 2007
    * I find this to be a really good low carb hot chocolate. I think it is better than any I have found in the store, even though some may be lower in carbs than this product. To me taste is much more important. This has a nice chocolate taste and no horrible aftertaste like some do. I also like the fact that it does have a little bit of fiber and store brands do not. I am buying more of this product.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 19, 2007
    * Very good. This is the best sugar free cocoa mix that I have tried.
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 16, 2007
    * Very, very good stuff. Big, rich, chocolate flavor without any unpleasant aftertaste.
    This review is specific to Low Carb Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 October 14, 2006
    * After I spent a year losing 110 pounds, some things I knew I could never have again...one of them was hot chocolate, well, along comes this Big Train company, and WOW!, I can have hot chocolate again, in the big scheme of life is it big? no, but it's nice to have on those cold winter nights.
    Big Train Carb Conscious Hot Chocolate Mix
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2019 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.