Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 5/5 July 08, 2019
    * This brown sugar is superb. It is made with chicory root and a molasses flavor. No processed sugar. It tastes a little stronger than the normal brown sugar, but I think the flavor is better. I mix it with other spices and put it on chicken and vegetables and even any kind of meat. Can't go wrong. You don't need a lot so a package lasts quite a while.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 13, 2019
    * Love this product. Measures 1:1 as brown sugar. Really gives food the Ďbrown sugarí taste.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 18, 2018
    * This is the best sugar replacement Iíve ever used! Its the only one I use for baking. Itís just like sugar!
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 04, 2018
    * Love this stuff. Of all the sugar alternatives this is by far my favorite but due to price I really only use it in coffee. If it were cheaper I would use it for baking and stuff. I like that itís mostly fiber so itís like my morning helping of fiber. I tend to use it half and half with the white variant. I couldnít get the brown for a bit and was using just the white and really missed the brown one. I hope it continues to be available it looks like the company was having issues getting orders out. If they stopped making it I would be bummed and would be on the hunt for another good sugar alternative.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 June 08, 2018
    * Bit pricey but really cuts down the carbohydrates on foodstuffs requiring brown sugar.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 November 06, 2017
    * I used this in my cream of rice yesterday morning and was blown away at how good it tasted. Definitely plan to use it in cooking this holiday season.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 December 04, 2016
    * I was given a sample from a friend to try and I really like it so decided to buy my own supply. I use it when I make apple sauce and in chocolate keto candies. I would recommend this product.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 27, 2014
    * This is the best brown sugar substitute I have found. I use this and the white sugar substitute as well. Both do an excellent job in baked goods!
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 March 13, 2014
    * I have diabetes and keep it completely controlled by staying very low carb. I'm on my 2nd bag of this sweetener. I agree it's expensive but I only use small amounts, never measure for measure when a recipe calls for brown sugar. It has a strong molasses smell and imparts a good bit of flavor just from a couple of tablespoons added to an equivalent 1 cup of other sweeteners. I don't like not knowing the source of that "Molasses flavor". I like to mix various sweeteners and this one works great with my chocolate chip cookies. Finding a way to minimize any aftertaste is very difficult. I like to mix two or three sweeteners together. Seems to help and I don't like to use a lot of splenda but it does seem to keep the other more natural sweeteners tasting really good in baked products. For a 1 cup equivalent I might use 1/4 c. splenda, 1/2 c. erythritol and an equiv. 1/4 c. stevia. And if it needs a brown sugar taste I add a tablespoon or two of Just Like Sugar Brown. I like it a lot. I also use it in my pumpkin breads and muffins. I also mix it in a butter/nut crumble for a low carb coffee cake topping. This bag will last me 6 mos. at least so I'm trying not to think about the costs. I've used the other brand (LG I think) and it was okay but didn't seem to add significant flavor to the finished goods; maybe because I didn't use measure for measure in converting the recipe. Either product, the expense will still be there.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    2/5 December 29, 2013
    * First, I gave 2 stars because it does kind of taste like brown sugar, if you can get past the smell. Second is the smell. It's got a strong chemical smell, which is very off putting. Third, it's way too expensive! Seriously, way too expensive. There is another brown sugar substitute on this site that is better and lots less expensive. Fourth, the texture is very fine and kind of like powder, which makes it hard to judge measuring when a recipe calls for packed brown sugar. Please reconsider buying this product and try the much less expensive brand instead. Save yourself a lot of money...and considering the chemical smells, maybe your health.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 24, 2013
    * Love this product. Expensive, but has a unique flavor and no calories in larger quantities.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 January 18, 2013
    * Terrible chemical smell and taste.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 16, 2013
    * This is by far the best brown sugar substitute around. It has a good molasses-y flavor, which is perfect when I make pumpkin pie or gingerbread. It's not cheap, but none of the high quality sweeteners are.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 September 07, 2012
    * I use many different kinds of fake sugar, all have their merits and deficits. This product does not taste like brown sugar and leaves a pervasive and bad aftertaste. It is also not very sweet; but IS expensive.
    Just Like Sugar Brown
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2019 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.